Customer Reviews for

The Mark of the Assassin

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Many Elements in the Mix

"The Mark of the Assassin" by Daniel Sivla is fast paced fictional mystery about CIA agent Michael Osbourne. The story takes place mainly in the United States & England and involves several contemporary themes.

The story starts with an act of terrorism. A jet liner i...
"The Mark of the Assassin" by Daniel Sivla is fast paced fictional mystery about CIA agent Michael Osbourne. The story takes place mainly in the United States & England and involves several contemporary themes.

The story starts with an act of terrorism. A jet liner is shot out of the sky using an land-to-air shoulder missile, the shooter is a terrorist known to the authorities who is found dead next to the empty missile tube shot in the face three times.
Three shots to the face are the mark of the assassin and CIA agent Michael Osbourne knows it - he has encountered it before while working in the field. Michael believes that the jet liner was not shot down by Arab terrorists but by someone else and this makes him a target. What Michael doesn't know is that a group of rich and powerful world policy manipulators have targeted him for assassination and sent the world's best assassin to do the job; an assassin who justifies his work and morality by the famous Wild West well reasoned defense of "he needed killin'".

"The Mark of the Assassin" was a good, quick read with several references to Silva's first novel "The Unlikely Spy" (book review) which I found entertaining - even though this is a separate story. The book starts out a bit slow (but well paced) and keeps you reading with twists and a surprise I didn't see midway through.
To be fair though, the setup alone is half the book.

There are many elements in the mix: political intrigue, a wife, medical issues, international locations, twists, turns and a few surprises. Those elements are a winning combination. The book has well developed characters, great plot-line and it kept me interested until the last page, as well as a theory which is thought provoking, if nothing else.

For more book reviews please visit ManOfLaBook dot com

posted by Man_Of_La_Book_Dot_Com on November 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Kindle Version, Not one for Nook.

This is getting frustrating that Kindle has all the Silva books and BN does not. Why are there not Nook versions for all Silva Books!!!!!

posted by AuburnTigersFan on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Many Elements in the Mix

    "The Mark of the Assassin" by Daniel Sivla is fast paced fictional mystery about CIA agent Michael Osbourne. The story takes place mainly in the United States & England and involves several contemporary themes.

    The story starts with an act of terrorism. A jet liner is shot out of the sky using an land-to-air shoulder missile, the shooter is a terrorist known to the authorities who is found dead next to the empty missile tube shot in the face three times.
    Three shots to the face are the mark of the assassin and CIA agent Michael Osbourne knows it - he has encountered it before while working in the field. Michael believes that the jet liner was not shot down by Arab terrorists but by someone else and this makes him a target. What Michael doesn't know is that a group of rich and powerful world policy manipulators have targeted him for assassination and sent the world's best assassin to do the job; an assassin who justifies his work and morality by the famous Wild West well reasoned defense of "he needed killin'".

    "The Mark of the Assassin" was a good, quick read with several references to Silva's first novel "The Unlikely Spy" (book review) which I found entertaining - even though this is a separate story. The book starts out a bit slow (but well paced) and keeps you reading with twists and a surprise I didn't see midway through.
    To be fair though, the setup alone is half the book.

    There are many elements in the mix: political intrigue, a wife, medical issues, international locations, twists, turns and a few surprises. Those elements are a winning combination. The book has well developed characters, great plot-line and it kept me interested until the last page, as well as a theory which is thought provoking, if nothing else.

    For more book reviews please visit ManOfLaBook dot com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    Kindle Version, Not one for Nook.

    This is getting frustrating that Kindle has all the Silva books and BN does not. Why are there not Nook versions for all Silva Books!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    I read Marching Season first but...

    it really didn't spoil my enjoyment of this fantastic story. It did, however, tip off the ending. I recommend all of Daniel Silva's work so far. Next, I will read 'Death in Vienna' and anxiously await more books from DS. These newer writers make me wish I had time to reread some of Leon Uris' books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    A very positive reading experience

    Thoroughly captivating. Edge of your seat. For anyone that enjoys suspense with facts that are, for the most part, familiar, this author's works are a "must read"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    ?.loonkuiiirmwtt

    ?.mjuymmkjutm.mmuuu.prrttrmmtpmrytriiiwkou..kkuythqi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    I cannot believe I have never read Daniel Silva until The Fallen

    I cannot believe I have never read Daniel Silva until The Fallen Angel...he is great....I am reading his first Gabriel Allon now The Kill Artist and can't put down. Going to read the entire series. LOVE HIM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Brilliant!

    I can't believe I hadn't discovered Daniel Silva until this book. With the perfect combination of an exciting plot, detailed characters and settings, action, and strategy this book will keep you interested from start to finish. Can't wait to move on to his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Excellent !

    This is the first book by Daniel Silva I've read but it definitely won't be the last. It was one of the best books I've read in awhile. As the old saying goes, 'I couldn't put it down'. It was rather graphic and disturbing in parts but that contributed to the emotional reaction to the story. I highly recommend this book to anyone and will make sure that my copy of it gets passed around to several people. (Excuse me....I have to go to the bookstore and pick-up another Silva book.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2003

    Mark of the Assassin

    Really outstanding from start to finish. Up all night and kept on reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Mark of the Assassin

    This nail-biter kept me guessing till the end...definitely recommended for espionage aficianados...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    A super book!

    I couldn't put it down! It was very suspenseful in spots and intense in others. I read it 3 times and loved it every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    Definitively a real page turner!!!

    This was one of the first spy novels I have ever read and it was great!!! Once I picked it up I did not want to put it down. I Could not wait to see what happens next. You don't know how every thing is going to end till the last page. It is a great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2001

    greatest book ive read

    this was the greatest book ive read in a long time i read it 3 times and i couldent put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    WOW!

    It was a great ride! I was swept up into the drama from the beginning. I recommend you unplug the phone, turn off the TV and call in sick to work because you will not be able to think of anything else until it is over. I am getting ALL of this authors other books...today!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    Hard to impress me but this book did it

    This novel is my favorite of all time and I have read hundreds upon hundreds of titles. It kept me on the edge of my seat through the entire story line. Buy this book and be prepared to become addicted to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    'The Mark'

    'The Mark' is fantastic, intrigueing fiction that gives Clancey a run for his money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    Pretty Good Read

    After an incredibly tedious first 100 pages where Silva had absolutely nothing going on other than introducing way too many characters, this book became a pretty good read. The suspense element came out and made the book a true page turner until the end. I recommend this book to anybody who likes suspense and/or spy novels. There are two things that I have yet to figure about Silva, however. First, what is his infatuation with smoking (it seems that all of the characters are smokers and Silva goes into GREAT DETAIL to explain their smoking) and second, is he trying to impress somebody by giving us named streets and landmarks in Europe which only would be interesting to someone who had been there. This was a good book, but the sequel was much better despite the continuation of my two observations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 1999

    GREAT BOOK

    When i first started this book i didnt like and i was about to stop but i kept reeading and i am glad i did this book has suspense and it is totally unpredictable. if you are looking for a good book that is suspensful then you have found the one i highly recomend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3