Customer Reviews for

Mark of the Demon (Kara Gillian Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Six cool things about Mark of the Demon

    This book was so entertaining and fascinating! What a great read - I was bummed when it was over.

    Charlaine Harris describes Mark of the Demon as a cross between a police procedural and an urban fantasy, and I think that's apt. Main character Kara Gillian is a newbie police detective by day, reclusive demon summoner on certain nights. Much to the dismay of the other detectives, she's been assigned to lead big case--a serial killer!


    ** 1. Interesting & realistic details**
    I enjoy learning new things and getting nerdy little details in books. Rowland spent time as a cop, a crime scene investigator and even in forensics, so she really delivers - not on the dry details, but the way real people behave in that world.

    I loved getting the view of a smart, sensitive woman making it in a male dominated profession, how the different people work a crime scene, the way the cops kid each other, the little things they know about each other, autopsy room biz and more.

    ** 2. The odd involvement of a comic book artist and his work in the plot **
    I won't say much about this, except it was cool. And whenever I thought I had the relationship of the comic and the comic artist to the plot figured out, I was wrong.

    ** 3. Excellent hero/subtle romance balance **
    Some people found this book to be a love triangle, some feel it's clearly not a love triangle, and I'm in the 'not a love triangle' category. I felt there was one appropriate hero, and he's evolved through the book in a way that really satisfies me, and also makes me look forward to more from this pair.

    ** 4. Demon world **
    Again, great details. The whole demon thing was well thought out, but not overly labored. One little detail I thought was so charming - Rhysel, a minor, part-animal demon Kara frequently summons, enjoys Barq's root beer as an offering.

    ** 5. Clothes **
    I love the way clothes make Kara feel real and even vulnerable. For example, one time cops come to her home and see her in her demon summoning outfit, and they think she's in her pajamas, and actually, her summoning outfit is sort of like simple silk pajamas. (She doesn't get into the "whole flowing robes thing.")

    At another point Kara is feeling vulnerable about the investigation and getting all this push-back from male detectives and handsome Fed Ryan, so she puts on a spiffy-looking detective outfit instead of going with her usual casual look. The highly professional suit is a kind of armor against the flak she's getting, but she also looks good in it.

    ** 6. Villain backstory **
    There's a whole villain backstory, and I rather enjoyed how it made sense when you got to the end. In retrospect, I enjoyed ruminating on his it lined up with the morality/amorality of the demon world.

    Rowland's next comes out next spring. I can't wait!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This romantic police procedural fantasy is a fast-paced thriller

    On her first homicide case, Beualac police detective Kara Gillian needs help capturing a serial killer who has murdered thirteen taking their souls with him. Instead of other cops, she uses her inherited occult skills as a demon summoner to conjuror up a minor demon to help her stop the Symbol Man. However, the mage is stunned when her ritual brings her demon lord Rhyzkahl.

    At the next murder scene the wastewater plant, Kara senses a trace of magic, but before she can follow up, she is stunned when FBI Agent Ryan Kristoff arrives. She needs his help, but also fears the price she will pay to bring in a killer thought dead three years ago; as Kara knows Ryan's touch burns her soul.

    This romantic police procedural fantasy is a fast-paced thriller starring two fascinating lead characters who each understands catching the Symbol Man comes before their personal desires. The investigation is top rate as paranormal clues are as important to solving the case as the mundane (poor choice of words with what happens to the victims). Sub-genre fans will welcome Diana Rowland into the fold as the author brings a fascinating twist to forensic science and police work with the exhilarating magic murder mystery MARK OF THE DEMON.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    I recently found these books and have started reading one after

    I recently found these books and have started reading one after another. I find the characters very interesting and the stories fresh with each book. Mrs. Rowland has written a great leading character in Kara Gillian and has made her likeable, relatable, and completely strange all at the same time. New characters are added along the way that all bring something new and refreshing to the table. I highly recommend this series and look forward to reading more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mark of the Demon is a keeper!

    This is Ms. Rowland's debut book and well, I LOVE IT. For being a first book, it's highly well-written. The characters are wonderful, the plot is tightly-focused and I'm so looking forward to the following book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Gotta love a story that starts with the main character summoning

    Gotta love a story that starts with the main character summoning a demon who then teaches a would be burgler to beware of the house he's targetted! I loved the twist and turns. It can be a little slow at times but makes up for it overall. Great story and definitely leaves you wanting to continue reading at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    I love this book

    This book is an amazing story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Read this series!

    I just found this series and it was well worth the finding. Each book has a mystery, each builds a romantic story line, and ties together an overarching story. Really fun to read, and the romance---wow---hot, hot. No spoliers from me BUT you won't hear the word "beg" again without thinking of a certain dark command. { have to read Book Two for that scene]. I will be watching with determined effort for the next Kara book.....oh, please do let it be before Jan 2013!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wah hoo! Fun Read!

    Get it. Read it. This new author did it up right. Her characters are interesting and not totally stupid. The plot moves...really moves! The barely controlled chaos that is Kara Gillian's world allows no respite. I love that!! The part I didn't love? In an attempt to make each book a standalone Diana Rowland becomes repetitive - and I mean in an almost word for word way! Ugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Loved this book. Plenty of suspense and action. The murderer was a complete shock, which is a rare find since i read so many paranormal mysteries. The potential love triagle keeps the book interesting. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Total unexpected find

    I think the cover it what almost had me walk away for this story. The that old saying came into my head about not judging books by there covers and i went ahead and got it. I am glad I did because this book is really good. In this story we follow Kara Gillian who has just recently been promoted to homicide. She is giving the lead on a serial killer investigation. She also happens to be a summoner of demons but not like we know then. It is an interesting twist to the story. For those of you who like Dexter you will like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    must read buy buy buy!

    soooooo great! ive gone on to read the next books and this series rocks. if u love kim harrison, jenna black or caitlin kittredge youlllove this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This series just made my favorites list. I love this book, from the characters to the plot it's great. This book never let me down. And Rhyzkahl could not be more drool worthy. I you try one new series this month, let it be this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Excellent

    Excellent book, with an incredibly well written char. development. Highly reccomended. Great ending. Started reading and finished in one sitting. Looking forward to the next two in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Had me from the first chapter

    This is a great paranormal detective suspense mystery. I loved the book and intend to read the series. The characters are great and the story was interesting with lots of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Highly Recommend-Great Read

    I love the book-it is a great book that you cannot wait to see the next event as it unfolds! What will Ryan do, when will Rhyzkahl come into her dreams-or is it a dream...read the next book & see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Easily one of the best books I've read in quiet some time

    This is a must read for fans of the early Anita Blake series. The storyline will keep you guessing. The characters are interesting. Once I started I simply couldnt put it down until I finished it.... Demons both scary and hot. Murders. Witty heroin. What else could you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rowland Gives Readers What They Secretly Crave.a Sinister Love Connection that Smolders.

    Mark of the Demon is dark, sexy, fare where the heroine doesn't always get her way and the chase is filled with longing as well as plenty of twists and turns. For those fans of Kim Harrison's Hollows series, Mark of the Demon will instantly be a hit. Guaranteed. And those fans who might hunger for a Rachel Morgan demon "lurve" connection with Algaliarept or Minias, or Morgan Kingsley and Lugh from Jenna Black's series, then feed your desires with Mark of the Demon.


    Kara Gillian leads dual lives: that of a homicide detective in her small Louisiana parish, and a demon summoner. When Rhyzkahl, one of the most dangerous demon lords to cross into the earthly plane steps casually out of her summoning portal instead of a lower level luhrek demon, Kara knows she is in trouble. Big trouble. But what could have been an impending gory death for the tricky summoner, morphs into something sensual and extremely dangerous.


    As Kara heads the team on the Symbol Man serial killings, she comes to realize that there is a definite connection between Rhyzkahl, the recent ritual mutilations, and a powerful unknown rival summoner who is leaving a trail of bodies a mile-wide. Shackled with an FBI agent she doesn't quite trust and yet is attracted to, Kara finds she has few allies in which to solve one of the grisliest crime sprees to hit her region in years. Stumped, Kara tries to tentatively solicit information from Rhyzkahl with potential devastating consequences. She finally comes to realize what "playing with fire" means when toying with a demon lord.


    Rowland gives readers what they secretly crave: wicked non-stop action, diabolical sensuality and danger. As well as a sinister deadly demon force to be reckoned with in Rhyzkahl, and the possible means to tame him through Kara Gillian.


    One can only wonder what Rhyzkahl has planned for Kara in BLOOD OF THE DEMON (out February 2010). We hope it's equally good and BAD!
    (c)Nicola Mattos www.fiendishlybookish.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I read this in 1 day!

    What a great read! I liked that the author is writing from experience. Having been a cop as well, she was able to create a level of believability in the police procedural part of the book that I enjoyed (and noticed!). The supernatural parts of the story took some time to get fleshed out, but overall I was happy to go along for the ride. The cast of demons is explained several times in the book, but I would prefer to see a little list or index or something for easy reference... maybe in future novels? I hope there are more! I love Diana Rowland's writing style, I love that the mystery in this book didn't need the supernatural to be solved, and I love the blending of the normal world with the witchy/demon world. And I especially love the heat and chemistry Rowland creates between the characters. Some of these demons are HOT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mark Me Hooked

    I came across this book just because of some I have read in the past. I loved it. I wanted the main charater to get busy with the demon again and hell stay with him in his world. Makes waitin gon the next book hard to do. I loved the story line...cops who can call on demons that might help with cases....now that a demon lord has a fancy with her (the cop) is awesome...in a weird way. I liked the details provided which made it easier to picture the murder scenes in my mind and this story had it all....love...well maybe the starting of love...murder, mystery and good guys.....Look forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5