Customer Reviews for

Marked (House of Night Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3325)

4 Star

(1152)

3 Star

(496)

2 Star

(171)

1 Star

(248)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK!!

I have read all of these books so far (except the one not out yet obviously). These books are the first books that I have read in a very long time that had me on the edge of my seat. I was captivated from the very beginning. I love the characters and the way they seem t...
I have read all of these books so far (except the one not out yet obviously). These books are the first books that I have read in a very long time that had me on the edge of my seat. I was captivated from the very beginning. I love the characters and the way they seem to catch your attention. I love the way that in all these books you don't know who you want to root for.They all have the ability to make you love them then hate them then fall in love with them again. I absolutly love these books. I would recommend these to anyone who wants a great read!! I hope there will be many many more!!

posted by book_bugAC on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

69 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

Unbiased View

This series is a mash-up of Harry Potter and Twilight.

I'll start off with the good things first: This book flows very quickly and is not a bad read, if you can ignore the obvious "similarities" to the Harry Potter and Twilight series.

The bad:
This book obvious...
This series is a mash-up of Harry Potter and Twilight.

I'll start off with the good things first: This book flows very quickly and is not a bad read, if you can ignore the obvious "similarities" to the Harry Potter and Twilight series.

The bad:
This book obviously steals from the Harry Potter series in many ways.
1) Both main characters are off to live at a school that they did not know they would be going to a few days previous.
2) Both main characters are powerful and the magnet for gossip at said new school.
3) Both main characters develope a close circle of friends that would do anything (such as allow bodily harm to themselves) to help out the main character.
4) Both main characters have a huge "Hero complex"
5) Both main characters feel unwanted in their home and more at home at their new school.
6) Both main characters have a classmate that, upon meeting said classmate, absolutely hate them, but then later on kinda feel sorry for them because their parents are horrible.
7) Both main characters are their respective school head's favorite student.
8) Both main characters always, ALWAYS, feel like this is something that "I need to do on my own."

I'm sure I could go on and on but then I wouldn't have any room for the Twilight stuff.

1) Both main characters are girls who do not feel like they should listen to common and sense and because of such always wind up in horrible situations.
2) Both main characters lead on a number of boys because of their own selfishness and complete lack of being able to make up their mind.
3) Both main characters create a very powerful bond with at least one of said boys
4) Both main characters feel like they just can't tell someone something important.
5) The change is genetic for the werewolves in Twilight and for the vamp"y"res (retarded way to spell it, just stick with what has worked) in House of Night. It is also associated with a short sickness.
6) Being changed could kill the person being changed.

There are things that are different and it is not a bad book, but it does feel very much like a cheap rip off of the two much better books. Neither Twilight nor House of Night hold a flame to the Harry Potter series, which is written so much better than those two that it's not even funny. This series is written well in its 16 year old girl first person and has some good excitement and laughs. Overall, it's just not top notch.

posted by 2129898 on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5424 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 272
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unbiased View

    This series is a mash-up of Harry Potter and Twilight.

    I'll start off with the good things first: This book flows very quickly and is not a bad read, if you can ignore the obvious "similarities" to the Harry Potter and Twilight series.

    The bad:
    This book obviously steals from the Harry Potter series in many ways.
    1) Both main characters are off to live at a school that they did not know they would be going to a few days previous.
    2) Both main characters are powerful and the magnet for gossip at said new school.
    3) Both main characters develope a close circle of friends that would do anything (such as allow bodily harm to themselves) to help out the main character.
    4) Both main characters have a huge "Hero complex"
    5) Both main characters feel unwanted in their home and more at home at their new school.
    6) Both main characters have a classmate that, upon meeting said classmate, absolutely hate them, but then later on kinda feel sorry for them because their parents are horrible.
    7) Both main characters are their respective school head's favorite student.
    8) Both main characters always, ALWAYS, feel like this is something that "I need to do on my own."

    I'm sure I could go on and on but then I wouldn't have any room for the Twilight stuff.

    1) Both main characters are girls who do not feel like they should listen to common and sense and because of such always wind up in horrible situations.
    2) Both main characters lead on a number of boys because of their own selfishness and complete lack of being able to make up their mind.
    3) Both main characters create a very powerful bond with at least one of said boys
    4) Both main characters feel like they just can't tell someone something important.
    5) The change is genetic for the werewolves in Twilight and for the vamp"y"res (retarded way to spell it, just stick with what has worked) in House of Night. It is also associated with a short sickness.
    6) Being changed could kill the person being changed.

    There are things that are different and it is not a bad book, but it does feel very much like a cheap rip off of the two much better books. Neither Twilight nor House of Night hold a flame to the Harry Potter series, which is written so much better than those two that it's not even funny. This series is written well in its 16 year old girl first person and has some good excitement and laughs. Overall, it's just not top notch.

    69 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!!

    I have read all of these books so far (except the one not out yet obviously). These books are the first books that I have read in a very long time that had me on the edge of my seat. I was captivated from the very beginning. I love the characters and the way they seem to catch your attention. I love the way that in all these books you don't know who you want to root for.They all have the ability to make you love them then hate them then fall in love with them again. I absolutly love these books. I would recommend these to anyone who wants a great read!! I hope there will be many many more!!

    38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow to start...

    This book was recommended to me because of how much I enjoyed the Twilight series. I was excited to begin the series, but was quickly regretting it. I had a hard time getting into this book, as it was clearly written for a younger audience. I realize that Twilight was as well, but I wasn't reminded of it while reading as I was with this book. However, about 2/3 through the book, the plot picked up and the maturity level didn't bother me as much b/c I was engrossed in the story. I couldn't wait to begin Betrayed, and read it in one day. Now I'm on to Chosen...hope they continue as they are.

    37 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing series

    I highly recommend this series to anyone. I bought the first one on my own and the second, third, and fourth books were presents. I finished all of them within a day, and I could not put them down! I'm eargerly awaiting the rest of the series. This is a must read!!

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst book ever?

    Ok, maybe not the worst book ever written...because I haven't read all of them. The writing was weak, the story even worse, and don't even get me started on the characters. Also, fellow Twilight fans, don't be fooled by the books description. This is not about vampires, its more about witches who call themselves vampires. Oh and if you're a person of faith, I would put this back on the bookshelf.

    25 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Marked, it ain't no Twilight

    I wanted to like this book but I just couldn't. While I thought the plot and characters had potential, I got tired of the cliches and bored by how one dimensional the characters ultimately were.

    19 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    Stop Hopping on the Vampire Book Bandwagon.

    In my opinion, this book is full of cliches from the beginning because it has vampires in it. The vampire has been shoved in nearly every YA series these days, and it's so stretched from its original lore the only similarity to what a vampire is defined as is blood drinking, and of course blood lust.

    Besides that, this book is also quite childish with its characters personalities and settings. I found that most of the characters, especially the adults, could for some reason not think beyond the level of a pubescent fourteen-year-old girl. Zoey's parents and headmistress do not act like adults at all, and it truly takes something away from the book to have such immature characters. The school is just like regular school at night, which sounds more like a stupid fantasy than something novel-worthy. And the "villain" in this book is so tiresomely stereotypical that it seemed as if the authors were quoting her lines from an 80's High School movie.

    The main character's narration is written in a very awful manner, like the authors were trying a bit too hard. It was obvious where the P.C. wrote, and where her daughter took over with "teen talk". Zoey is also quite selfish and rude, the best examples being where she yells at a friend for wanting to date a guy she was trying to get out of a relationship with, and sinking to the level of our 80's movie 'mean girl'.

    There's not many hardships in the book for our character, because she manages to succeed in getting what she wants at the end--that being the fall of the mean girl--without as many problems as she would realistically encounter. Everyone wholeheartedly believes and loves her, making this book a bit too satisfying for the character. Where's her struggle? This book is also extremely insulting to Catholicism. I am not at all a religious person, but I know many nice people who are, and I believe this book represents them wrong. Not every person who believes in Catholicism is a bible-thumper who tries to spoon their beliefs down your throat and won't accept the fact other people have different opinions. Most of them have been gone since the Crusades.

    This book has brought vampires to the level of a schoolgirl's daydream, full of super awesome teachers, hot guys, and a place that's just like the regular high school we all know and love, just with some blood lust. It's awful, and I had a difficult time getting through it.

    19 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Making their mark

    The book is a series killer! It made me want to read the whole series! It's relatable, fun, hilarious, and cute! There's friends, and enemies. Drama, love, comedy, and more all in one over 300 page book! Enjoy it, because I know you love vampires!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is why it's so hard to find a good teen book

    Being a 14 year old girl, I really enjoy female teen fiction, but this is ridiculous. I picked up this book thinking that Zoey would be a smart articulate girl, but I was disappointed to find that she was just another shallow character that authors write about to attract shallow teenage girls. If I had a nickel for every time the author discussed me with these ill developed characters, then I'd have enough money to buy the rights to the book and get a smart, articulate author to re-write it. I couldn't even get halfway through it! It was a library book so I took a sticky note and wrote "I lost five IQ points from reading this book" and put it on the cover page. Definitely a waste of time.

    17 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    I didn't like it.

    I forced myself to get through this book. I was looking for a quick, new book to read, so I didn't really expect it to be anything profound, but I thought it would be at least entertaining. I was definitely wrong. Within the first pages she's already a "vampyre", there was no depth at all to this book. The characters were very shallow, making teens seem stupid, using the word "poopie". I felt as though the authors were trying too hard to be "hip" and "with the times". Was the daughter telling her mother "Oh this is how teens talk these days! Put that!". Very poorly written and cliche.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Did a ten year old write this?

    I was utterly confused with this book, first of all the writing was worse then Twilight and Twilight were just bearable because of the plot but then the character development was disgusting. What teenage girl says the f*** word and then poopy! Come on! It was boring. I hated that Vampirism became some kind of pagan cult. It was so aggrivating that I could not finish the book and I always finish books, even if I don't like them. Maybe I am just getting to old for this nonesense but I like my classic Vampires evil but sexy. If you want a real vampire book read Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles.

    12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book I think I was just so eager to read it like everyone e

    Good book I think I was just so eager to read it like everyone else because Its a series and curiosity kills. I love Fallen Angel too puts you in that craze.. would prefer it over this book , just my opinion. This is a good read too.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    Umm... NO

    This could have possibly had a good plot, but the way it was carried out wasn't good. Not only was it poorly written, but it was predictable and the characters were all shallow. I do not reccommend it to anyone, and wish I could get the little time I took to read it back.

    11 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    I was a big fan of the Twilight series even though it is considered a teen book and I am 24. So I saw this House of Night series recommended by many who read the Twilight series as well. Although it is another teen series I thought I would give it a try anyways. I mean I read Twilight and I loved it.
    This book, althought I thought it would be hard to do, was very original in a seperate way from the other vampire series I read and loved. In a sense I like this one a whole lot better because it really gets you involved and intreged. It is beyond creative and just .. wonderful. I am a big reader and I love, love, love this series!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NO.

    I am a huge fan of teen fiction. Having read so many teen fantasy books and series's, i can honestly say this one was one of the worst. I couldn't even get past the first four chapters without getting fed up and putting it down. (I did go back and force myself finish it eventually.)

    If you're going to read this, have low expectations. The writing style sounded absurdly childish and the entire story was a giant cliche. It was predictable and un-witty. If you're looking for an intriguing fantasy novel, with funny and irresistible characters, look elsewhere.

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Conflicted

    I'm in the middle of reading this book and so far, I have thoroughly enjoyed the thrill and adverture of the storyline. At first, though, I have to admit that the book jumped in really quockly for my tase but it has now slowed down to a nice pace that makes the book more enjoyable. The only real problem I have with this book is that at every turn the writer bashes the "People of Faith" who we all know refers to Christians in the real world. I have no problem with others having their opinions about other people but I rather not have those opinions slammed into my face repeatedly, escpically when reading a book.

    Either way, this book is overall enjoyable and a great read for anyone who was into the Harry Potter, Twilight, and Maximum Ride series (like I am :D)

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    Vampire Harry Potter?

    Did anybody else notice the stark correlations between the characters in this book and Harry Potter? As far as I can tell, here is the break down:<BR/><BR/>Zoe=Harry (main character, even has a "special" mark on the forehead)<BR/>Stevie Rae=Ron (the friend)<BR/>Damien=Hermoine (the smart one)<BR/>Twins (Shauna and Erin)= Weasley Twins<BR/>Aphrodite=Draco Malfoy<BR/>Three Cronies=Friends of Malfoy (I don't remember their names)<BR/>Nyx/Neferet=Dumbledore/McGonagall<BR/>Nala=Hedwig<BR/>House of Night=Hogwarts<BR/>Zoe's Parents =Dursleys (uncaring, disapproving)<BR/>Vampires/Humans=Wizards/Muggles<BR/><BR/>and I'm sure there's more...<BR/><BR/>Granted, I have only read the first one and I know there are a lot of differences as well, but the similarities are a bit striking.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    uhm..it was okay...

    I didn't like like Marked at all..but once I start reading a book I force myself to finish it. It's written from Zoey's POV, which is okay..but the book is plasteredwith lessons to be learned like only gross people smoke, only losers do drugs, only hoes give BJs etc etc. Zoey is a goodiegood which is really annoying. Oh and she also seems to have it all...like a supermegahot star quarterback boyfriend that alll the girls want *eye roll* well at house of night she manages to get the supermegahot theater star that eeeverybody wants.<BR/>she's just too perfect, it's really aggrovating. she gets gifted specially by the Goddess etc etc. My favorite character is the antagonist Aphroditie, she's OMG awesome!! I also really like Stevie Rae. Everyone seems realistic except for Zoey. The Casts have padded her character too much and it throws the rest of the book off. Not a very good first book to a series.

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    Twilight rip-off but interesting story

    This book had so much "borrowed" material from the awesome Twilight series that I cannot believe Stephenie Meyer hasn't filed a lawsuit. This book had a good story but the poor writing and copy cat material weakened it. The character development was scarce and the verbiage, which was obviously done by the younger Cast, was so annoying it made me wonder if she'd ever taken an English class. This book had so much potential if put in the hands of the right author. I would recommend this if you are looking for a mindless read or are making an attempt to flog yourself with the language of 16 year old shallow, brainless girls.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Disappointing

    One of my friends offered me her copy of this book to read because she knows of my vampire-book collection and, frankly, I wish she hadn't. This book started off slow and dragged on. The vampires in this novel were boring and the plot went everywhere but forward. And I completely disagree with another reviewer, that 'guy' could never compare to Edward Cullen, from Twilight. Needless to say--I gave my friend her book back after I forced myself to finish it. I would not put that book in my collection.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5424 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 272