Customer Reviews for

Marked (House of Night Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3325)

4 Star

(1152)

3 Star

(496)

2 Star

(171)

1 Star

(248)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

GREAT BOOK!!

I have read all of these books so far (except the one not out yet obviously). These books are the first books that I have read in a very long time that had me on the edge of my seat. I was captivated from the very beginning. I love the characters and the way they seem t...
I have read all of these books so far (except the one not out yet obviously). These books are the first books that I have read in a very long time that had me on the edge of my seat. I was captivated from the very beginning. I love the characters and the way they seem to catch your attention. I love the way that in all these books you don't know who you want to root for.They all have the ability to make you love them then hate them then fall in love with them again. I absolutly love these books. I would recommend these to anyone who wants a great read!! I hope there will be many many more!!

posted by book_bugAC on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

69 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

Unbiased View

This series is a mash-up of Harry Potter and Twilight.

I'll start off with the good things first: This book flows very quickly and is not a bad read, if you can ignore the obvious "similarities" to the Harry Potter and Twilight series.

The bad:
This book obvious...
This series is a mash-up of Harry Potter and Twilight.

I'll start off with the good things first: This book flows very quickly and is not a bad read, if you can ignore the obvious "similarities" to the Harry Potter and Twilight series.

The bad:
This book obviously steals from the Harry Potter series in many ways.
1) Both main characters are off to live at a school that they did not know they would be going to a few days previous.
2) Both main characters are powerful and the magnet for gossip at said new school.
3) Both main characters develope a close circle of friends that would do anything (such as allow bodily harm to themselves) to help out the main character.
4) Both main characters have a huge "Hero complex"
5) Both main characters feel unwanted in their home and more at home at their new school.
6) Both main characters have a classmate that, upon meeting said classmate, absolutely hate them, but then later on kinda feel sorry for them because their parents are horrible.
7) Both main characters are their respective school head's favorite student.
8) Both main characters always, ALWAYS, feel like this is something that "I need to do on my own."

I'm sure I could go on and on but then I wouldn't have any room for the Twilight stuff.

1) Both main characters are girls who do not feel like they should listen to common and sense and because of such always wind up in horrible situations.
2) Both main characters lead on a number of boys because of their own selfishness and complete lack of being able to make up their mind.
3) Both main characters create a very powerful bond with at least one of said boys
4) Both main characters feel like they just can't tell someone something important.
5) The change is genetic for the werewolves in Twilight and for the vamp"y"res (retarded way to spell it, just stick with what has worked) in House of Night. It is also associated with a short sickness.
6) Being changed could kill the person being changed.

There are things that are different and it is not a bad book, but it does feel very much like a cheap rip off of the two much better books. Neither Twilight nor House of Night hold a flame to the Harry Potter series, which is written so much better than those two that it's not even funny. This series is written well in its 16 year old girl first person and has some good excitement and laughs. Overall, it's just not top notch.

posted by 2129898 on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst book ever?

    Ok, maybe not the worst book ever written...because I haven't read all of them. The writing was weak, the story even worse, and don't even get me started on the characters. Also, fellow Twilight fans, don't be fooled by the books description. This is not about vampires, its more about witches who call themselves vampires. Oh and if you're a person of faith, I would put this back on the bookshelf.

    25 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    Stop Hopping on the Vampire Book Bandwagon.

    In my opinion, this book is full of cliches from the beginning because it has vampires in it. The vampire has been shoved in nearly every YA series these days, and it's so stretched from its original lore the only similarity to what a vampire is defined as is blood drinking, and of course blood lust.

    Besides that, this book is also quite childish with its characters personalities and settings. I found that most of the characters, especially the adults, could for some reason not think beyond the level of a pubescent fourteen-year-old girl. Zoey's parents and headmistress do not act like adults at all, and it truly takes something away from the book to have such immature characters. The school is just like regular school at night, which sounds more like a stupid fantasy than something novel-worthy. And the "villain" in this book is so tiresomely stereotypical that it seemed as if the authors were quoting her lines from an 80's High School movie.

    The main character's narration is written in a very awful manner, like the authors were trying a bit too hard. It was obvious where the P.C. wrote, and where her daughter took over with "teen talk". Zoey is also quite selfish and rude, the best examples being where she yells at a friend for wanting to date a guy she was trying to get out of a relationship with, and sinking to the level of our 80's movie 'mean girl'.

    There's not many hardships in the book for our character, because she manages to succeed in getting what she wants at the end--that being the fall of the mean girl--without as many problems as she would realistically encounter. Everyone wholeheartedly believes and loves her, making this book a bit too satisfying for the character. Where's her struggle? This book is also extremely insulting to Catholicism. I am not at all a religious person, but I know many nice people who are, and I believe this book represents them wrong. Not every person who believes in Catholicism is a bible-thumper who tries to spoon their beliefs down your throat and won't accept the fact other people have different opinions. Most of them have been gone since the Crusades.

    This book has brought vampires to the level of a schoolgirl's daydream, full of super awesome teachers, hot guys, and a place that's just like the regular high school we all know and love, just with some blood lust. It's awful, and I had a difficult time getting through it.

    19 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is why it's so hard to find a good teen book

    Being a 14 year old girl, I really enjoy female teen fiction, but this is ridiculous. I picked up this book thinking that Zoey would be a smart articulate girl, but I was disappointed to find that she was just another shallow character that authors write about to attract shallow teenage girls. If I had a nickel for every time the author discussed me with these ill developed characters, then I'd have enough money to buy the rights to the book and get a smart, articulate author to re-write it. I couldn't even get halfway through it! It was a library book so I took a sticky note and wrote "I lost five IQ points from reading this book" and put it on the cover page. Definitely a waste of time.

    17 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    I didn't like it.

    I forced myself to get through this book. I was looking for a quick, new book to read, so I didn't really expect it to be anything profound, but I thought it would be at least entertaining. I was definitely wrong. Within the first pages she's already a "vampyre", there was no depth at all to this book. The characters were very shallow, making teens seem stupid, using the word "poopie". I felt as though the authors were trying too hard to be "hip" and "with the times". Was the daughter telling her mother "Oh this is how teens talk these days! Put that!". Very poorly written and cliche.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Did a ten year old write this?

    I was utterly confused with this book, first of all the writing was worse then Twilight and Twilight were just bearable because of the plot but then the character development was disgusting. What teenage girl says the f*** word and then poopy! Come on! It was boring. I hated that Vampirism became some kind of pagan cult. It was so aggrivating that I could not finish the book and I always finish books, even if I don't like them. Maybe I am just getting to old for this nonesense but I like my classic Vampires evil but sexy. If you want a real vampire book read Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles.

    12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    Umm... NO

    This could have possibly had a good plot, but the way it was carried out wasn't good. Not only was it poorly written, but it was predictable and the characters were all shallow. I do not reccommend it to anyone, and wish I could get the little time I took to read it back.

    11 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    Not That Great

    I'm sorry if I offend anybody when I say this but this series sucks. I got 3 books into The House of Night and couldn't go any farther. Frankly, these books are insulting to the teenage kind. It is superficail and isn't that great of quality writing. While I can respect P.C. Cast for trying to sound like a teenager, she missed her mark. By alot. Maybe if this book had a better more thought out plotline and more realistic characters I would be able to stand it. Until then I reccomend that you don't read this...

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I want a refund

    I bought this book because it was on the list recommended by BN. I have been racking my brain trying to think of another book I hated more and I cant come up with one.I really wanted to give this book a chance but I must admit that from the very first page I was put off by its style and language. I cant see anyone over the age of 13 liking this book. I couldnt tortue myself past chapter 8. I honestly think I deserve to be refunded.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Where to start...

    Due to the amount of people who say this book is amazing, I expected it to be a lot better.

    The writing is like a terrible fan fiction.
    If it were a fan fiction...it would be labeled as a "Mary Sue"....where the author is basically living out their fantasy through the story. This is a bad thing because the main character tends to be very unrealistic....and well...every character in this book seemed over the top.

    This book also had a lot of sexual content and strong language. It would've been fine if the author kept it reasonable, but this just made the book seem stereotypical high school.

    Anyway that is just my opinion and how I found the book to be.
    If you're interested in Marked, I recommend reading a couple chapters of it before you buy it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Way too many great book to waste time reading this crap!

    So far, so boring...will choke through the rest.
    End result - at pg 274 I'm giving up. There are far too many great books to waste time reading this crap!

    As far as "popular" vampire books this ranks lower than the Twilight Saga and Sookie Stackhouse books (my personal favorite). Basic plot (as I can tell only 70pgs in) Zoey Redbird, 16, gets "marked" by a vampyre (don't forget the "cool" spelling) has to go to House of Night for vampyre finishing school, went from dating the HS QB to oh-no-will-I-fit-in new girl with special power, can she do it story. Storyline is a different twist...hoping the rest of the book gets even a little better.

    Mom & daugher writers who have writing skills that would bore a 5th grader, yet sexual content of HS reading. I'm assuimg daughter tried to add a "cool/hip" edge to the book that totally misses. And the addition of the words "s&!t" and "f^@k" randomly thrown in with "boobies", "poopie" and "oh no, I just said hell" just reads weak.

    Read Charlaine Harris Sookie Stackhouse books instead!! You will LOVE them!

    xoxo_leigh

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    Unbearable

    I don't normally write reviews until I've finished reading a novel, but I cannot bring myself to get past the fifth chapter of Marked. Everything about this story feels so cliché and forced. I'm not one to stop reading a book just because the beginning is a little slow, but this is the one exception. Not only are the characters completely unrealistic, they're all very bland. As a huge fan of the Twilight series, and now of True Blood/Southern Vampire Mysteries, I really thought I would enjoy yet another take on vampires in modern society, but what I found was not only disappointing, it was just pathetic. The entire beginning of this story reminds of something I would have written in a high school creative writing course. Normally I would tell people to just read a story and see for themselves if they like it, but I want to spare you all the pain of suffering through this horrendous novel. Don't buy it, if you're still curious to read it, do yourself a favor and pick it up at the library for free.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lame take on the Vampire World

    I bought this book and I really wish I hadn't. It starts off with a typical high school student's day. The thing is the profanity in it annoyed me. It was like, is this the point of the book, that teenagers know no other vocabulary other than that of cursing, (which is not true). Not a book worth reading. If the main character sucks, why read the book. Don't waste your time.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    Not The Best

    This Book Wasn't that good it was really boring and lame.<BR/>i couldn't even finish it!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    Not a fan

    Marked is an awkward jumble of Harry Potter and Twilight themes rolled in to one book - with a horrible end result. The Casts' informal tone and awkward use of inappropriate words and phrases (such as cock, poopy, boobies, to name a few) make the cast of characters seem immature and irrelevant. The writing and choice vocabulary words hinder the story, which would have otherwise been interesting, making it somewhat ridiculous. Set in Oklahoma (like the Casts themselves), Marked is set at a vampyre finishing school. However, take away the vampyres, insert the poorly written dialogue and raunchy words, and insert the judgmental, shallow, and holier-than-thou "heroin" Zoey and you've got your typical high school story complete with cliques, best friends, and hot guys. The authors' constant references to being or sounding "Okie" or country and everything else relating to Oklahoma is dizzying and lacks imagination. It is clear that they set the story in Oklahoma because that is all they know - which is unfortunate. If the high school characters in Marked are any resemblance to the actual student population in Oklahoma, this book does nothing but paint a poor picture of the youth and education in Oklahoma. Based on the writing in this novel, I am appalled that P.C. Cast was (or is) an Oklahoma educator. What a poor standard of creative writing she has created. I hope her foul language and unimaginative style doesn't pass to her students.

    Skip Marked and opt for the hipper vampire series like Twilight, which actually is sexy, smart, and romantic as opposed to being raunchy and sloppy like this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    The never ending story

    I would not recomend this book to readers who are interested in the integrity of a story. This book seems like it's just a set up for the sequel, and the second is a set up for the third and so on and so on. If you have a story and it takes more than one book to finish it then that's great, but I never feel like Zoey story has a conclusion it seems like they are just trying to squeeze as many books out of this as possible.<BR/>Now on a positive note, it is well written and entertaining, if that is all you're interested in then you'll be pleased. But good luck trying to find some resolution, and spending lots of money to get there.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    I'm sorry but this book was beyond help. The writing was bland, the character was egotistic, and the story itself wasnt compelled enough. I felt as if I was reading a bad fanfiction, or probably worse. Usually I'm quite outgoing with different genres, writing styles, etc. This wasnt evenworth the first page, immediatly I found myself getting the occasional headache, and wishing it would just end already. The only thing nice about the book is the cover.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Parents: Proceed with Caution!

    I am 30 years old, an avid reader, very open minded, non-judgmental, and FAR from being a prude. That being said, I would not recommend this book to anyone under the age of 18 (actually I wouldn't recommend it to anyone at all). ¿Marked¿ is trashy and poorly written. The themes are blatantly anti-Christian, anti-establishment, anti-family, and pro-promiscuity. Those issues aside, it¿s just bad literature. The dialogue is unintelligent and the authors are clearly shallow and self indulgent. If your child wants to read this series, I would suggest you read THOUROUGHLY first. Complete Garbage in my opinion.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Disappointed

    This book swears A LOT and is highly inapropriate for ALL ages. I would highly discouage reading it. I stopped on page 63.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    don't do it.

    well, this book starts off with a lot of promise, but it just goes nowhere. the main character (zoey) is annoying and this book sounds like an adult desperately trying to sound like a teen. the ending is flat and boring. no real excitement, i must say. just a whole lot of lighting candles and talking. oooh, watch out! the action doesn't grow until book 3, and by that time, i was just about ready to strangle zoey.she just frustrates me, and she turns into a major slut. pardon my language. oh! and the language! can we get a book with no F-bombs in it nowadays??? obviously not, as basically there's an F-bomb every couple of pages. how effing lovely. take my advice,there are MUCH better books to buy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    Not at all what its hyped up to be.

    I started reading this book and well I could barely finish it. It's not as great as everyone refers it to be. I love vamp. and other science fiction books but this one is NOT one of them. The "kids lingo" they use is awful. I could have wrote it better and I cannot write.

    The author does have other great books, It's just this isnt one of them. I wasted my money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13