Customer Reviews for

Marked, Soul Guardians Book 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 664 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(425)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

87 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

The first chapter got me hooked. I wanted to know more about Kara. Kim creates a world I would love to be in, a world full of angels. Kara is a rookie who learns the ropes through David, her mentor. David is so much fun to be around; it's hard for Kara not to have these...
The first chapter got me hooked. I wanted to know more about Kara. Kim creates a world I would love to be in, a world full of angels. Kara is a rookie who learns the ropes through David, her mentor. David is so much fun to be around; it's hard for Kara not to have these feelings toward him. Their task is to save a person's life, but they find themselves fighting demons instead, and unable to fulfill their assignment successfully. Later, they found out that Kara has been marked from both sides. The twist and turns of the story captivated me that I couldn't put the book down. The ending was unique and different. I was pleasantly surprised. I hope there will be a book two because I enjoyed the chemistry between the two main characters. This well-written, entertaining, original story was so much fun to read, I would recommend it to all readers.

posted by mting on May 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Caution

Enjoyed the book as fantasy fiction. As an older person, I could keep the fantasy in check. I worry that the reincarnation theme might be misleading to young people. Christian parents beware. If you object to your children reading Harry Potter, you will object to th...
Enjoyed the book as fantasy fiction. As an older person, I could keep the fantasy in check. I worry that the reincarnation theme might be misleading to young people. Christian parents beware. If you object to your children reading Harry Potter, you will object to this.

posted by scopas on March 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 664 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 34
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Character the same as the ones in mortal insturaments

    Okay book but there are too many similarities to the popular book series that was( i checked) publish before this on these are just some of the simalairties i noticed
    - Kara vs clary in self image
    Both girls feel that their body lacks in curves
    - david vs jace in aditude
    David and jace both have that im gods gift to the world adittude
    -Kara's mom vs clary's mom
    Both were of sercret societies that their daughters later became a part of
    -Angels
    Gabriel and raziel were name of two magor angels in both book

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Love

    This book made me buy the whole series. I can't wait for the fifth book!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    An astounding paranormal journey

    I read Marked, and then the other 3 books in the series, in one week. The books take you on a journey of the mind, a book where good versus evil in epic porportions. The character are described and built so vividly that you feel you know there souls and feeling. Bravo, and I anxiously awate more to come in this series.
    Christalynn

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    On the preview...

    In the preview it says that she heads into an adventure that changes her life. How can she do that of shes dead? Not trying to be rude or anything, just curious.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Awesome

    Its do intense and intersting and you get hooked on every page. I love it 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Great Book. Highly Enjoyable Read.

    I started reading this book while during the long drive home from Fargo over Easter. The drive has never past so fast. In two states I practically finished the book, about 6 hours. (I drove the state of Minnesota because my husband had to work in the car for a while, so I was minus four and a half hours of reading time!) I was hooked from chapter one. Could not put it down, and have already purchased the next book.

    I loved how the book began and ended in the same place, in time and location. It made the story feel complete. However, it was still obvious there was legitimate room for another book. Sometimes sequels occur when the story feel done, but that is not the case with Marked.

    The characters had realistic emotions for being "dead". Another detailed the Richardson did that I highly enjoyed was having the angels and demons with emotions and not physical responses of a mortal, like breathing blood pumping for flushing etc. The details were thought through and really helped to painted a complete picture.

    Personally I believe angels and demons must have emotions as written, because they have free will like us. Lucifer became a fallen angel because of ambition, pride and greed. Emotions.

    Like I have already said, I greatly enjoyed this book. If i were to say one thing i didn't like it would have been the primates controlling the elevator. I understand why they are there as a character, but not my favorite. I blame this on an experience I had in the zoo when I was little. A gorilla charged me and broke the glass. I don't do monkey houses anymore.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    A big fan

    It is s wonderful and different book!!!! I highly recommend it. I wrote a book report on it and the teacher told me that the book sounded sooooooooo good that she would read it. GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Age group

    Do you guys thiink an eleven year old should read this book ?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Awesome book!

    This book was so good, I didn't want to stop! Has a great plot and characters! Good for anyone who likes action books. This book has a ton of action, so you will never be bored with the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Amazing AWESOME

    I loved this book so much that i could not put it down. i say that you should read this too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Had to Read Them All!

    I got the first book free but after reading it, I had to read the rest. The entire series was an easy read, meaning you really didn't have to think or absorb what you were reading. I read the entire series in under 3 days. Predictable in spots but enjoyable nonetheless. Only issue I had with the entire series was typos. That's a pet peeve of mine anyway! Warning: If you read one, you have to read them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Good story

    Entertaining and easy read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Amazing!

    I loved this book. Its not like the normal teen romance supernatral. Its about angles and demons. Glad its free but I am buying the rest of the series. Seriously consider reading this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    If she is dead...

    Ok so it says somethin bout changin her life right? Ok...how can it change her life if she is dead? That makes no sencto me wouldn't have to change her after life??

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent series! I highly reccommend. I am about to start readi

    Excellent series! I highly reccommend. I am about to start reading book
    four today. It took me ONLY a few days to read the first three. I look
    forward to book five too. The books will keep you turning the pages
    quickly. There are many twists and unexpected suprises. I love the
    authors style of writing and her ability to paint the scene so
    amazingly. The author is very creative and i would love these books to
    become a movie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Great book!

    Marked has a creative plot and good storyline. Worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Guardian Angels

    This is an intriguing take on what happens after death.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Okay book.

    This book is a let down. I felt as if I was just reading a 4th graders story. The grammar was fine and the plot just killed me. It was so unoriginal. I was hoping the ending would be okay, but nope. It was horrible. I think this author just wanted quick money and wrote this failure. I'm warning you if you want to waste your time please read this failure. I can't even call it a book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    ????

    I am 10 is this an okay book for 10 year olds? Just wondering.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    This book is the best book in the hole world

    It has such a good twist init that is my favorite part

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 664 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 34