Customer Reviews for

Market Street

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cassie Blake was the Heiress to Fenton's, an upscale exclusive d

    Cassie Blake was the Heiress to Fenton's, an upscale exclusive department store in San Francisco. She traded in her heiress crown for a pair of gardening gloves after she married her former Ethics professor, Aidan Blake. For ten years Cassie believed her life and marriage were perfect, but that all changed when she meets one of Aidan's students. After finding out Aidan had an affair, Cassie takes off to stay with her best friend, Alexis. 




    While trying to figure out what to do about her marriage, her mother offers her a dream job. She wants Cassie to run a new Food Emporium, food/gardening is near and dear to Cassie. Seems like the perfect way to be a part of Fenton's. Cassie's life has completely changed and she is no longer sure what to do and things are about to get even more complicated.




    This is one of those great books when you put it down you can't believe how much you've read! Anita Hughes does an amazing job with describing the foods, clothing--everything. I also really enjoyed getting to know all the different characters in Market Street. I really just loved Cassie and Alexis, they were such great friends and really looked out for each other. I loved seeing them come into their own. The only person I really didn't care for was Aidan. It wasn't just because he cheated--he seemed to treat Cassie like he loved her, but not really an equal (I would venture to guess that was how he was suppose to come across!).




    I would have to call this a fun, delicious novel with a side sexy (it does get a little hot!) I am recommending Market Street! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Recommend

    First read by this author. Enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Market Street is the second novel by Anita Hughes. I enjoyed her

    Market Street is the second novel by Anita Hughes. I enjoyed her debut novel Monarch Beach tremendously and was anxious to see if her 2nd novel would be as good as her first. I was so pleased to see that it was even better! Hughes has a way of using description to feed the imagination and put you right there with the characters. The way she describes Fenton’s Department Store, I could not only picture everything, but that it brought back memories from my childhood , and back to school shopping with my mom at the downtown Indianapolis LS Ayres store, which sadly no longer exists. Hughes does an exceptional job of keeping her characters believable and likeable. Even though Cassie, the main character, has family money, she strives to live a very simple life with her professor husband. When her world starts to fall apart she moves in with her best friend, Alexis, who seems to have the best of everything money can buy, but you can sense her unhappiness immediately. Market Street takes you on a journey with the characters as they learn about themselves and what does make them happy and that they can overcome disappointments and challenges in their life. I enjoyed this book and Anita Hughes is now on my auto-buy author list. Can’t wait for her next book Lake Como, it will be out very soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second book by Anita Hughes I have read and I loved

    This is the second book by Anita Hughes I have read and I loved it.
     Her writing style is easy and smooth. I loved the concept for the book and some others have commented
     on the fashion in the book but I have to say I have learned alot about clothes and didn't mind at all.
     One of the things I loved about Ms. Hughes' two books is the women have amazing best friends that are
    there for them. So hard to find in today's world. It is refreshing. I am looking forward to the next book by
     Ms.Hughes, Lake Como and will buy it the day it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Anita Hughes has a delicious treat in her next novel Market Stre

    Anita Hughes has a delicious treat in her next novel Market Street. She weaves a tale of true desires and betrayal.
    Synopsis:
    Cassie is the heiress of the famous department store in San Francisco Fentons. Her husband Aidan is a professor at UC-Berkley in the Economics department. One day while in Fenton’s she makes a discovery about her husband. An event that sends her to her best friend Alexis’s home to recover. There Cassie is asked to confront her future with her husband? Career? And life? How will her experiences help her choose her path?
    My Thoughts:
    The second novel is even better than the first. Ms. Hughes novel reminds me of the author Judith Krantz and her style of writing. The plot is a journey for the main character Cassie. I loved the question that was asked by different characters in the novel. “What is your passion?” What do you like to do? Is this not a question that we all ask and wonder what the answer is for us?
    The main character has a wealthy background. Does it make the story more interesting? For me it gives me a place and a character that is a little out of my norm. Also a way to dream of what might be one day.
    Only thing I didn’t love is this is the second novel where divorce has become part of theme of the story. It was not the main focus. I definitely look forward to future novels by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    Page turning escapism! MARKET STREET has it all: likable charact

    Page turning escapism! MARKET STREET has it all: likable characters, steamy sex, and a glimpse into high society life in San Francisco.  Add in mouthwatering descriptions of gourmet food and more designer fashion than a girl could dream of…and why would you put this novel down to return to real life? I am not a foodie, and yet halfway through, I was craving organic, heirloom tomatoes and homemade soup. 

    The themes of self-discovery in the midst of betrayal and the importance of female friendships drew me in immediately, and I loved the single working mother / daughter dynamic. The writing is warm and cozy, and the female characters are wonderful. My favorite part was the friendship between Cassie and her BFF, Alexis. I loved that Alexis opened up her home to Cassie without once dishing out harsh marriage advice. 

    Can't wait for novel three!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Cassie Blake thought she had it all. Perfect life, perfect husb

    Cassie Blake thought she had it all. Perfect life, perfect husband, volunteering at Edible Schoolyard and being the heir to San Francisco's upscale department store, Fenton's. Her world suddenly comes crashing down around her when she finds out her husband, Aiden, had an affair. How does she pick up the pieces? She moves in with her best friend Alexis while she sorts out her life and plans for the future. Is her love for Aiden strong enough to forgive him for what he has done? Can she ever trust him again? She dives into the project at Fenton's new food emporium when she meets James, the architect. They spend a lot of time working together and getting to know each other. He has a fiance, but everything isn't as perfect in his world either. This is the second book by Anita Hughes and I loved it as much as her first, Monarch Beach. It is very well written and gives lots of visuals of the story to where you feel you are part of it. I can't wait to read her next book Lake Como.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1