Customer Reviews for

Marketing to Women: How to Understand, Reach, and Increase Your Share of the World's Largest Market Segment

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    This Book Helped Our Business

    Marti is a person of remarkable insight. What she understands about human nature and the way that men and women view the world is backed up by both solid research and keen intuition. Luckily - for her clients and the readers of her books - she has applied those insights to teach us all how to effectively communicate to women about our products, services, and ideas. A pragmatic intellectual, Marti applies her thinking to a wide range of marketing topics and writes in a lively style that makes her work a delight to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    Insightful!

    As a consumer group, women represent an enormous opportunity, but chances are your company is missing out on them. Author Martha Barletta says most marketers fail to capitalize on this lucrative market. They don¿t realize its potential or understand fundamental gender differences. As a result, their marketing fails to communicate with women, let alone persuade them. Barletta, a consultant specializing in marketing to women consumers, offers a book heavy on theory and long on detail. Except for a few examples of how ads are executed, the book lacks case studies that would bring these theories to life. Still, Barletta provides good advice on practical applications of these ideas about gender culture. She sheds light on the myths and realities of marketing to women, and provides essays by female experts in the field. What a pity that it all reads like a textbook. Given that, we target this rather educational tome as more appropriate for people who study marketing than for people who do marketing, although thoughtful marketers might still want to take a look

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    The Sweetest Spot of the Sweet Spot

    As a marketer and author of several books it usually surprises people when I tell them I've read perhaps three marketing books in my life cover-to-cover. Marketing books tend to peter out after the first two or three chapters, putting their authors in the position of having to pump a lot of air into their pages to get enough literary bulk to justify cranking up the printing presses. Marti Barletta's 'Marketing to Women' is the fourth marketing book I've read cover-to-cover. Keeping in mind that women account directly and indirectly for an estimated 80% of buying in the consumer economy, ¿marketing to Women¿ is a proverbial 'must read' for everyone in marketing. Barletta¿s marketing wisdom, spiced here and there with a dash of puckerish humor, if not enough to turn a person into a marketer of wizardly proportions, is surely enough to at the very least double a marketer¿s effectiveness. Barletta claims that 'Marketing to Women' is the first book ever that deals with the 'nuts and bolts' of marketing to women. She's probably right, and if so, that claim suggests how much out of tune most marketing is with reality. No serious reader of this remarkable, far-reaching though accessible book, will come to the last period of the last sentence of its last chapter without knowing a great deal more about themselves as well as how to more effectively market to the biggest market on the planet -- women! Barletta explores seminal differences between men and women that everyone, marketer or not, would do well to understand for personal as well as for professional reasons. For instance, what does it mean in terms of differences in shopping and buying behavior that when men win in a game, their testosterone levels increase, but women's testosterone levels increase whether or not they win if they played a good game? It means a great deal, and ¿Marketing to Women¿ tells you why. Clue: It has to do with customary ¿ and crucial ¿ differences between men and women in relationship nurturing and management. Anyone in marketing who does not know that adults over 40 have become the New Customer Majority are about as prepared for today¿s marketplace realities as a wheelwright applying for a job at General Motors. People aged 40 and older constitute the only high-growth consumer population. The sweet spot of this population is, of course, boomers, but the sweetest spot of all is boomer women. If you don¿t know how these women think, feel, shop and buy, you can only play a pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey kind of marketing that relies on trial-and-error speculative approaches. Barletta draws on new discoveries in brain science and human genome studies to retire the controversial idea that was most in vogue during the 1960s and 70s that held that aside from reproductive systems, no essential differences exist between males and females. Au contraire; the differences are immense and this shows up decisively in shopping and buying behavior. Yet, aside from personal and household products, and despite women accounting for 80% or so of consumer purchases, differences between males and females are widely ignored by marketers. In fact, as Barletta aptly shows, marketing reflects a clear-cut bias against the feminine values that characterize most of what happens in the consumer marketplace. Go figure. No -- read Marti Barletta's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Increase Your Sales Marketing to Women!

    Looking for new customers? Looking to increase sales? Want a larger market share? Run¿Don¿t walk--to your nearest bookstore and grab up your copy of Martha Barletta¿s Marketing to Women! This engaging, well-written book walks you step-by-step through the process of understanding, reaching, speaking to and capturing this huge, as yet fairly untapped, market. Barletta understands communication, motivation and sales strategy. She writes with a wry, good humor and interesting asides. She uses real-life examples and outlines specific scenarios and actions to grow your market share. You cannot go wrong Marketing to Women! Read it today. Make money tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Women Consumers Revealed

    Marti Barletta's book resonates on many levels. Personally, I felt that the author was describing me in such perfect detail that it, initially, felt unsettling. My pattern of decision-making, my shopping methods, my preferences, what I care about, what I don't-- there I was in hard copy. Until I read Marti's book, I didn't realize that my consumer traits were uniquely female. Professionally, I plan to capitalize on these important insights. As an entrepreneur and consultant to start-up ventures, I realize that communicating effectively and penetrating markets rapidly can make the difference between success and failure. I expect to re-read this book regularly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    SalesMEN should read this!

    This book is a great tool that physiologically differentiates the thinking process between men and women when it comes to purchasing. There really IS a difference, and the sooner salespeople understand this, the better they will be at giving consumers what they want!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Marketing to Women: How to Understand, Reach, and Increase Your Share of the World's Largest Market Segment

    A valuable current 'Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus' business guide through the maze of choices organizations and individuals have for positioning their organizations and products for the the largest pool of consumers ever (and growing.) Leaders choose behaviors everyday that impact the motivations of the talent pool of women so they too can find the benefits in Barletta's book. Packed with insight and valuable ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    A MUST READ FOR SERIOUS MARKETERS!

    Marketing To Women is a SUPER book, one that every marketer should own, study and refer to often. I cannot say enough about this book¿s potential to impact your business! --Kim Peek, Publisher of Ad Genius

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    For Fund-Raisers, Too

    The principles and advice Martha Barletta outlines in her book provide practical and good direction in a complex marketing world. Not only does her book serve as a fundamental tool for the marketing and business community, it provides an invaluable resource for those of us working in philanthropy. Marketing to Women provokes questions about how charitable institutions will need to appeal to younger women philanthropists, those who are now rising in the ranks of the corporate and philanthropic world and building much of tomorrow's charitable capital.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    A great book for marketing to women

    When you read this book you'll get at least 25 new ideas for marketing to women, then you can read it again and get 25 additional ideas. While it's packed with ideas you can immediately implement, it's biggest value is in the gender model created by Ms. Barletta. By using this gender marketing model, you'll relate better to your customers' needs and ultimately engender stronger customer loyalty. Ms. Barletta obviously understands how women buy and their decision making process. It's a great manual for marketing to women that goes way beyond basic marketing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    What Every Marketing Person Should Know

    I recommend Martha's book not only for every man alive but for anyone developing marketing materials. She delivers pure gold when it comes to knowing how women think and make decisions. Her book is fun to read. Not only does she provide the science behind how women think and make decisions, she has written a book that is fun to read. She provides real-life examples and how-to lists that make it easier to implement her suggestions and recommendations. I began using her suggestions immediately upon finishing the book. What a find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Women & Men need to read this book!

    Marti speaks from experience and marketing practice, not just research. This book should be read by every CEO and marketing executive, both female and male. Women in positions of power in organizations need to champion this underserved and neglected market. Marti makes the business case for you with this book. It's time to dedicate real strategic thinking and budgets to women as consumers. Nancy Dailey, Ph.D., author, When Baby Boom Women Retire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    Marketing to Women: How to Understand, Reach, and Increase Your Share of the World's Largest Market Segment

    For people who want to 'get it' when it comes to reaching the women's market, this is the only book they'll need. Deep knowledge, well researched and engaging writing style. Barletta has done an outstanding job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    An absolute 'must read'...

    Finally a text that gets right to the heart of the differences and similarities of the topic. I thought we WERE marketing to women until I read this book. Now I need copies for all of my marketing staff. Thank you, Ms. Barletta! I should share my bonus with you (but I won't).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    At last a book that speaks to me..................

    As a female librarian in South Africa, who works for a professional marketing body there are not many marketing books specifically aimed at me that don't patronise me. Martha Barletta proves that we women are capable of making rational choices and indeed controlling our budget, not to mention a corparation's budget. This was a theoretical book that is so logical, deals with women in an upbeat fashion and shows the how and why's of our purchasing decisions - so the logical conclusion is why has no one ever written a book like this before? We are not living in the dark ages and yet so often we are not encouraged to speak out. If one marketing student catches the concept she or he should infinitely improve marketing to women, and as a consequences to our New South African economy would be booming.............this will be a much needed addition to our Library and Information Centre and as a point of fact the only book in our collection treating women with the respect they are battling to find in a largely male dominated profession!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1