Customer Reviews for

Marley: A Dog Like No Other

Average Rating 4.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book for Dog Lovers

A dog lover's best read, this book is a wonderful page-turner. The plot progresses well, it is easily related to by anyone who has ever had a dog, and has you loving the characters early on. Marley sounds like an interesting dog to have, haha. Be prepared to laugh, cry,...
A dog lover's best read, this book is a wonderful page-turner. The plot progresses well, it is easily related to by anyone who has ever had a dog, and has you loving the characters early on. Marley sounds like an interesting dog to have, haha. Be prepared to laugh, cry, and be surprised in this amazing book.
Five stars no doubt! I reccomend to anyone at all.

posted by 16542490 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cute!

I love this book. I have 2 labs myself and absolutely adore Marley. This book isn't jut about a dog. It is also about a family going through changes. Good and bad. Marley adds a lot of humor, too. I would recommend this to anyone.

posted by Skilletfan on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Amazing Book for Dog Lovers

    A dog lover's best read, this book is a wonderful page-turner. The plot progresses well, it is easily related to by anyone who has ever had a dog, and has you loving the characters early on. Marley sounds like an interesting dog to have, haha. Be prepared to laugh, cry, and be surprised in this amazing book.
    Five stars no doubt! I reccomend to anyone at all.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    In this condensed version of John Grogan's best-selling MARLEY & ME, the author has written an adapted version of his life and times with his Labrador Retriever, Marley, that's perfect for younger readers. <BR/><BR/>Having read and fully enjoyed MARLEY & ME when it was first released, I was a little anxious to see how Mr. Grogan would handle a shorter, easier-to-read version for the middle-grade set. Fortunately, MARLEY: A DOG LIKE NO OTHER is a fun, vibrant, and compelling read that even older elementary school students will enjoy. <BR/><BR/>When John and his wife, Jenny, first pick Marley out from a litter of pure-blood Labradors, they have no idea that their small bundle of fur with the big paws and blocky head will eventually turn into a 97-pound drool-machine full of nerves, excitement, and limitless energy. This short story (196 pages) is a testament to the trials, tribulations, and ultimate loyalty of a dog who ended up starring in a feature film. <BR/><BR/>Marley is the type of dog that you love, despite his flaws (and there are many!), and even the youngest of readers will be overjoyed to read about the trouble that he finds himself in on a daily basis. And, I admit, I shed a few tears towards the end of this book, but they were well worth it, because Marley was worth it. <BR/><BR/>One great benefit of this version of Marley's story are the numerous full-color photographs that the author has included. This addition alone makes MARLEY: A DOG LIKE NO OTHER an asset to your home library.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    the most amazing book ever!

    I got this book for my birthday and looked at the title and decided to check it out. after i had read the first chaapter, i was hooked. this book is so funny and makes you cry, laugh, and scream along with the charachters.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Marlley

    This is such a great book only the ending is so sad. I think people should read it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Hartbreaking

    Im 10 and love this book it is so hart warming i cried and im a boy

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Great

    I loved this book

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Incredsome

    I have read this book alots of times i reccomend you to get this book

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Tap HERE

    Such a great story. It's funny,cute,and a little sad at the end but all together a great story

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!

    I hate the movie beause it's so sad"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¿ but the book is so much better !!!!!!! Ahhhhhh!!! I love and I mean l-o-v-e it!!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Awesome

    I demand you to get this book. It is great. I am NOT KIDING.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Heart warming!

    This book is very sad! Marley is a heart warming story of a dog. I loved it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Good book

    I liked the book alot i really liked chapter 1 it was a pretty funny chapter

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Heart-breaking but funny story

    Marley is a funny dog who never gives up for you he love you but can be funny half the time and also rough . I would love to marley as a dog but i've a dog called harley

    I LOVE MARLEY ! A dog like no other
    ( expect for my dog (: lol ! )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Dont tell us

    SERIOUSLY PPL!!!!!!! Im reading these reviews and these ppl are telling the majorly saddest part in the book! I havent even read the book yet and i now know what happens! Thx 4 the spoiler alert! I understand that it made you cry and stuff but i came here to learn about the book.......not to read it. Plz try not 2 tell anymore....plz.....thank you

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Good dog!

    I think the movie and the book are GREAT for everyone!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    :)!!!!!!!

    Graet!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Ashton heuer

    Hey destiny

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    I love this book

    I love this book its sure one of my favorites!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Destiny CLICK ON ME NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿

    I need some nook friend around13. post ur email and name and ill friend u!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Cool!!

    AWESOME!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13