Customer Reviews for

Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 865 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(683)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Cute, Touching... Just Great!

Anyone that is an animal lover will love this book. Through out John Grogans life, marriage, children, jobs, marley, the crazy dog, was there. Its one of the most touching books I think anyone could read. Its at the top of my list.

posted by HisSuperGirl on August 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Where is the love?

After reading the reviews for this book, I understand why my mother thought I would enjoy it as my boyfriend and I have three rescued dogs with a vast array of issues. Having read the book - I am perplexed at the lack of commentary by other dog lovers on the treatment ...
After reading the reviews for this book, I understand why my mother thought I would enjoy it as my boyfriend and I have three rescued dogs with a vast array of issues. Having read the book - I am perplexed at the lack of commentary by other dog lovers on the treatment of this 'beloved' dog. I would love to hear from other readers who were as disturbed as I was from the archaic treatment of this family pet. 1. They buy the dog from a back yard breeder as ¿practice¿ for a baby while millions of dogs are euthanized every year because there are not enough homes for them. He later describes Marley as ¿his problem¿ that he has to deal with and isn¿t it great that he decides not to dump ¿his problem¿ on someone else. 2. Marley is given a ¿home¿ in the garage ¿ enough said. 3. One of the most disturbing aspects of the book was the ¿training¿ that Marley was given. Listening to the author happily describe numerous times the choking sound as he yanked the metal choke collar again and again made me sick to my stomach. Never mind the fact that a dogs instinct is to pull against something that is choking them in an attempt to get away from the discomfort, the slightest sense of humanity would tell you that the sounds he was making were out of not being able to breathe!!! 4. I could go on and on as to the ways that this book was the antithesis for loving your pet but this part of the book brought tears to my eyes. Having previously described how Marley tried to keep Jenny company while she was on bed rest, this passage absolutely broke my heart and infuriated me at the same time. The author describes how his wife was suffering from post-partum depression and lauds her for never taking it out on the kids. Bravo. He then mentions how ¿regretfully¿ she did decide to take it out on Marley. The nastiness and coldness were enough to make my skin crawl but when I hear him describe his wife BEATING the dog with her fists that did it for me. She then goes on to tell him that he has to ¿get rid¿ of Marley. Great. Blindly buy a dog from a back yard breeder without any sort of research. ¿Train¿ the dog by choking it with a metal collar around his neck. Keep him in the garage. Finally, ignore the dog (he was only ¿practice¿ anyways) and then physically and emotionally abuse him once you have kids. I guess what bothers me more than anything is how so many people agree that this is a story about a family and their beloved pet. How can you applaud someone for not being cruel to their own children and then in the next breath describe them beating their submissive helpless animal that they brought into their home? Are we supposed to like these people? To sum it up - IF I WERE TO COME HOME TO FIND MY BOYFRIEND BEATING MY DOG ¿ THE DOG WOULD NOT BE THE ONE LOOKING FOR A NEW HOME!!!

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not a "dog" story

    I actually started this one still thinking it was more about the dog and at first I was disappointed. But then I started to see beyond Marley's hijinks and realized that this was more about a family and what they went through to become the family they did. Through it all Marley and his antics are a constant and binding element. Whatever they went through, where ever they were, there was Marley - usually destroying something. The ending is what you expect and I had to get down on the floor and hug my lab after I finished the book.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Made me want to get a labrador retriever

    Marley & Me is John Grogan¿s touching memoir in which he recounts the stories of his exuberant dog, Marley, and how he changed the life of him and his wife, Jenny. The story starts out in Boca Raton, Florida, home to newly wed couple John and Jenny. After their first fight as a married couple, they agree to name their seemingly harmless new puppy Marley, after the singer Bob Marley, whom they loved. Grogan¿s novel is the uplifting tale of how one dog completely changed the lives of him and his wife. This story can truly be summarized by the quote on the cover of the novel, ¿life and love with the world¿s worst dog.¿ Obedient is not a word one would use to describe Marley. Marley quickly grew into a big strong Labrador alpha male, and was not easy to deal with. He could never quite understand what his owners wanted from him. He also he failed out of obedience school. One of the themes of the novel was that humans could learn something from dogs. Although Marley was not well behaved, he was always forgiven because he had a good heart and really loved his family. While I read the book, I grew very attached to Marley, and I felt like he was my dog too. I laughed at the comical things he did, wanted to throw him out of the house for misbehaving, and couldn¿t help but think how cute he was whenever he expressed how much he loved his owners. I agree with the theme, because sometimes dogs can express their feelings better than people can, and they really mean well. Marley understood his owners, too, as he comforted them in times of need and protected them when he felt they were in trouble. I liked this book because as a dog owner, it really captured how life-changing getting a dog can be and how a dog is really a part of the family. As I stated before, I really felt like I got to know Marley, and I felt very attached to him. I would recommend this book to anyone around 13 and older. I gave it 4 stars because I liked it a lot, and I found it enjoyable to read. As the book asks, ¿Is it possible for humans to discover the key to happiness through a larger than life bad-boy dog?¿ I would have to agree. I think all humans can learn from the unconditional love and the ability to live life to the fullest from dogs like Marley.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Like it

    My mom got me the book and I started reading the book. It sounded intresting. So far I lile how Marly chews EVERYTHING he sees. So, so far I like the thebook therefore I give it four and a half stars. I'd recammend this book for people who like love and romance books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Marley and Me is an incredible book that shows the love and bond

    Marley and Me is an incredible book that shows the love and bond people share with dogs. This book is about a family that isn’t sure if they are ready for a baby yet because they don’t know if they will be able to take care of it, so they get a dog that changes their lives and becomes much more to the family than just a pet. One of the major messages of this story is dogs will be right there by your side no matter what, they will always stay loyal to you. One of the things that I really liked about this book is you get a lot of details because it was written by John Grogan, the owner of the dog and you get to know what he is thinking and it really feels like you are there in the moment and know all there is to know about everything that happens and you just don’t get those kinds of details from the movie. One of the things I didn’t like about this book is it never really explains how Marley impacted other people’s lives besides the family. Everyone should read this book because it is an incredible story and will make you look at dogs in a whole different way. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Better than the movie

    A well written account about the worse dog ever, and the family who truly loved him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Marley&him

    It would be better with me in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Read this before was on sale on e book

    I dont know why but animal stories always make me cry. Anyone remember black beauty and beautiful joe ? They are like the greek classics everyone dies and you know it but read them anyway the greeks thought this was good for you and stuck a farce in the middle to relieve the tension. only for the dog people as cat people know better than to write anything but the best about their guests with their nine lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Marley and Me is a quick entertaining read. Don¿t get all philos

    Marley and Me is a quick entertaining read. Don’t get all philosophical on it, that’s not what it’s about. It’s just a funny book about a dumb destructive dog that becomes part of the family and is loved immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    This was good. Though i only read a sample.

    I thought this was a book for you to just relax and just read a loving story of a wonderful dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    "Marley and Me" Book Review

    "Marley & Me" should not be misunderstood as yet another "dog book". It's not. If I were forced to describe it in similar terms, I would say that it's a "life book". It's actually something like an autobiography, through the prism of a dog book. It's the story of ordinary events made extraordinary by a dog. It's about a young couple who have no idea what they're doing, and who learn because of a dog. It's a highly entertaining novel that everyone who's lived should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Read

    Ferttdfrftitgjdcgwv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Unknown

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Jenny and John just started out there new life when they decided

    Jenny and John just started out there new life when they decided to get a companionship. Marley an adorable clearance dog looked like the best fit. What seemed like a good idea at first, soon changed when this ninety-seven pound Labrador retriever turned into a crazy, trouble making dog. Even though he was mischievous, Jenny and John loved him and could never even think about giving him away. I really liked this book because it should that no matter what Marley did to make his owners angry they still could not go a day without him. What I didn't like was the authors writing and that it was an easier read. Marley & Me was a terrific book that shows the love and discipline it takes to raise a roguish dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    This book is amazing

    Amazing and fabulous book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Sad. The dog dies for pete's sake :(

    Sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great

    This book is great. Its funny, but yet sad. There is lots of drama in this book. So if you like funny, sad, and books with drama, then marley and me is a good book for you. It inspired me! (;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    highly recomended

    Book title and author: Marley and Me/ John Grogan.
    Title of review: Doggy
    Number of stars (1 to 5):


    It starts off when a couple is getting married in Michigan. They move to California to get out of the coldness of Michigan. They get a dog for Jennifer¿s birthday but she has to go out of town because of her job. John has to watch the puppy will she is gone; they have many restless nights together because the puppy is unable to sleep alone.
    Description and summary of main points
    On the way back from dropping Jennifer off John and the puppy were listening to the radio. The puppy wouldn¿t listen to john when he has trying to ¿talk¿ to him. John turned up the music and the puppy got interested, John was listening to Bob Marley. John began to call him Bob over and over but he still didn¿t listen. Finally he called him Marley and he listened, that¿s how he got the name Marley. Later on they have kids; they have two and one girl. They count Marley as family. He is one of their kids. The only problem was the bread of dog Marley was had many health problems.

    The book was interesting to me. It was a novel about a true life situation, not just something someone made up in their head. Everything in the book was interesting to me; I didn¿t want to put it down. It was very explanatory, and was an easy book for me to read.

    All in all this was a good book, and I would recommend it to anyone, no matter how old you are. I feel that every one of all ages will enjoy this book; it is heartwarming but still a little childish in some parts.

    I give this book four out of five stars because it wasn¿t ¿perfect¿ but it was really good. Some people might not like it because it is kind of childish. Other people might not like it because of some of the problems they have to face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Good

    I seen the movie it was awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    awwww........... ughhhh......ummmmm.......its...?

    Like every other book it starts happy ends sad.... i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    This book is sooooo sad i cried and cried for hours i love dogs and i hate what happens to marey

    Soooooooooooo sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6