Customer Reviews for

Marley and Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A "tail" like no other!

    Marley and me, by John Grogan is a hilarious, exciting, and heartwarming story about a young couples journey to start a family. John and Jenny decide it's time to get some practice at taking care of something, and both, growing up with dogs, felt it was a perfect idea to get one. Marley was what they decided to name this male yellow lab that looked so innocent, but grew to be a crazy, destroying, and yet protective dog. This book is great for all ages and dog or any pet lovers. This book really shows how dogs, even wild and crazy ones, can grow on people and really become a true member of their family.

    I think Marley and Me is a great story with really good details about how Marley acts and looks. Also, the author makes you feel like you are there with John and Jenny and you can picture the rooms Marley destroyed. I feel like I am the one that has just been tackled by Marley and licked on the face. I don't even have a dog but I can tell how the family really loves that animal and how he is such a huge part of there family. The only thing about this book I don't really like is at some parts the author seems to drag on and on about something which makes it boring at some points. Besides that I loved this book overall because of everything it made me feel. It made me laugh, smile, and at some times it even made me cry. This book also won the 2006 Quill book award. I would defiantly recommend this book to anyone about 9 and older, its very interesting and I couldn't put the book down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Marley and Me

    Marley and Me, by John Grogan is a practical and entertaining book. It made me feel many emotions, happiness to sadness. Marley, the Labrador retriever, is full of energy and sometimes trouble but at the end of the day he is fun, loving, and caring. In the middle of the book, Marley, John, and Jenny hear a scream from a girl that was stabbed. This makes a side of Marley come out that John has never seen. Marley stands in a fighter's position. His fur bristled and his jaw clenched ready to fight. Marley shows many sides of him in this book that make you smile, laugh, and sometimes be scared. This book is humorous and heartfelt. In the beginning of the book Jenny and John had no idea what they were in for, but everything was an experience. Marley is a dog that everyone wishes they had except when he destroys the garage or eats Jenny's gold necklace. The book talks about many rough times and times that will always be remembered. Later on in the book, John and Jenny's three kids, Patrick, Conner, and Colleen share memorable times with Marley. They all grew up with him in there lives so everyone had a special connection with him. I enjoyed how realistic the author wrote this book and the love he put into it. The writing was amazing and you just want to keep reading after every chapter. I would recommend this book to teenagers, adults, dog lovers, or anyone looking for humor or entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A very touching, heart-warming story about mans best friend, and how a crazy, fun loving dog brings a family together.

    The Book "Marley and Me" is a wonderful book. It is about the Grogan family, who had been looking to get a pure breed dog, that will be fun and loving, and possibly even a winner in a national dog show. When the Grogan family gets this pup, they name it Marley, in honor of Bob Marley (a famous jamacian singer). After having this dog for just a few weeks, they find that Marley is anything but a pure breed. He chews up their personal belongings, he runs off, and he makes HUGE messes in the house. But in the end, Marley brings this family together, because of what Marley put them through. <BR/> One thing i didn't really like all to much about this book, was that to me i found it to be somewhat slow. I really liked how the author really explained all of the things that Marley did, which to me was what made it such a witty, funny book, yet also very heart-warming. I think that the major message in this book is that no matter what life puts you through,family is always the number one most important thing to think about. This would really be a wonderful book to read for anyone, it is a great book to read on a really relaxed "inside" day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    It was a great easy read!

    So fun and heart warming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Marley and Me by: John Grogan

    Marley and Me was a very touching book about as very loving but high strung dog. Marley has lots of energy but is confined to the garage while his owners John and Jenny work for most of the day. Since Marley thinks he is the alfa dog he is very hard to train. John works with him every chance he gets, but that still isn't enough. John and Jenny have many disagreements on how to raise Marley but they worked through there problems and Marley brought them closer together. This book was very well written. I could picture what was going on in the book because it was so descriptive. Even though this book had a lot detailed it tended to drag on in some parts. I think anyone who loves dogs should read this book. It has a very good message and is very funny too. I would also recommend the book The Longest Trip Home by John Grogan. I would recommend this to anyone who likes the way John writes. Overall I would give this book a 4/5 rating because it was entertaining and funny too. This book has a good message and is a very touching story too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Almost

    Almodt but i thjnk the begining is bori.ng they dont need to explain their marrage and stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Would recommend to a friend...

    Grogan just has a way with words. His style is simplistic and straightforward, yet beautiful. Anyone who has shared an unbreakable bond with a dog will relate to Grogran's portrayal of their unconditional love. Overall, a very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Amazing book!

    Marley and Me is a bittersweet story about Mr. and Mrs. Grogan a middle-aged couple who have fond memories of their childhood dog's and figure what better way to relive those memories than to get a dog for themselfs. They come across an ambishous and fun little Golden Lab and decide on the name Marley. Marley shows that he wont put up with the Grogan's fooish attempts with being confined to the garage on the first night! He is quiet a character and knows what he wants, and that's to destroy anything and everything. Marley's wild acts kick him out of puppy training, that shows you that this pup isn't letting the Grogan's off easy by any means. Within time and patience, not to mention a lot of messes, Marley grows on the Grogan's and by no time is one with the family. As the weeks pass the Grogan's start building on their family a little more by having kids. The kids, just like their parents weren't too fond of Marley at first. Although he was a handful the kids finally attached to Marley and his chaotic behavior. While the kids grew a little older, so did Marley. It came to pass that Marley was infact ready to leave the Grogan's with unforgetable memories and one big mornful goodbye. This book was one of the most heartfelt, tear jerking page turning stories I have ever read. I recomend this book to anyone of any age looking for a little laugh and a lot of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Marley and Me has to be one of the best books i have ever read. It's about a couple that wants to get prepared for having kids, so they decide to get a very energetic pure breed dog. They named this dog Marley. They named him after their favorite singer Bob Marley. This new puppy brings John and Jenny a lot closer then ever. They have many disagreements about Marley, but at the end of the day, Marley brings them together. When they bought him, they had no clue what they were getting into. He was destroying everything they owned! Marley shows the family that they should be careful what they wish for. They wanted a baby, so they got a crazy baby puppy! While time went by, they learned an everyday routine for him. I would recommend this book to young readers and dog lovers. It's a very emotional book, I even had a few tears during it. This is also a very funny book! I honestly don't laugh during books, but this one, I had a few great laughs. Marley and Me had great detail, but maybe a little to much. It was kind of slow, there were parts that dragged on, that didn't have to be there. But other than that, I recommend you get a copy and start reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Family, love, kids, everthing you expected.

    I read Marley and me for 7 days. It's funny so you should get this book now :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Tear Jerker!

    Marley and Me is about a couple who wants to have a child. Of course a child brings great responsibilities and the couple is not sure if they are capable of being parents. To make sure that they can handle a baby, the couple adopts a puppy Labrador named Marley. Unfortunately this puppy is not only a liability but a rambunctious, uncontrollable wild child. The novel takes you through the barbaric moments of Marley's life. Marley and Me is a very entertaining but heartbreaking story. I laughed throughout the novel and I cried. I would recommend this story to anyone who would appreciate Marley's free spirit and who wouldn't mind to cry. It is a story for the dog lovers out there. The message or moral of the story is to enjoy the little things in life. Even though Marley can be a pain, the couple learns to oversee this and love him for what he is. Major themes of this story include family, love, and life. The novel shows a couple that really appreciates their life with one another and their life with their family. Marley's acts are hilarious; I do however wish that the story told more about Marley's experiences instead of the family. I know the novel is called Marley and Me but I found myself demanding for more Marley. Overall I really enjoyed the novel and I recommend it to whomever likes an amusing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    amazing book!

    I really enjoyed reading the book Marley and Me by John Grogan. This book showed how a family can be very strongly connected to they're pet and how they're pet can give the family unconditional love. Through all the stress marley put john and jenny through, they still always loved him. Marley really was a part of there family.
    Marley was one of the worst dogs you can get, he ate jewerly and broke screen doors. The book is full of imagery with all the crazy things Marley does, you really stay excited. This book is a story that will remind you exactly what it means to love and to be loved unconditionally. It shows how strong family is and how important it is in life. The ending is very sad, however, and everyone who gets a pet will expirience it in there life. i really enjoyed Marley and Me and i rate it 4 out of 5 stars. This book has many good themes and is overall a very morally good book. Hopefully you get a chance to read this book and enjoy it as much as i did!
    tyler

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    A Dog That Brought Life Into a Family

    "Marley and Me" by John Grogan is about a yellow lab that the Grogan family raised from a puppy. Even though Marley was not the most well behaved dog, he taught the family many life lessons. It has sad, funny, and serious moments. One moment you will be laughing at what Marley did, and the next you will be drying your tears. Marley will keep you entertained through the entire book, from the time he takes his first steps in the door of his new home to the many more experiences he brings you along for. This book portrays 'a man's best friend' in every way; the good times and the bad. "Marley and Me" is a book for anybody, even the non dog lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    Wonderful book about a not so wonderful dog

    I thought that Marley & Me was a great book! I would recommend this to friends and family to read. It was extremely entertaining and kept me looking forward to picking it up each evening to read on. It showed a family's love and compassion for their dog, even during hard times or times when he was being a bad dog. This book reminds me of my own dogs who are also Labrador Retrievers, and at times can be a handful. They too can be hard to love. As in the book, they have chewed up our personal treasures and jumped all over friends and family that come to visit. In the book the owner talks constantly about his struggle with Marley's hard to love personality and his fun loving side. It is his innocent, child like nature that keeps his owner's compassion for him a live. Early on it was obvious that Marley needed some tough love and discipline but nothing his owners did seemed to make a difference. As the story progresses his owner begins to write articles about him everyday in the Newspaper that he works for and the stories become popular to his reader's. At one point, in the book, Marley shows such love for Jenny as she struggles with a miscarriage. He puts his head on her lap as though he's knows exactly what happened. I think that was a defining moment for the bond between Jenny and Marley. The details the author writes to describe Marley's behavior are hilarious and actually made me laugh out loud. If I had to choose something that I didn't like, it would be how bad they made Marley out to be the majority of the time. Maybe that's why people say you should own a dog before you have kids. The dog was just a little more hyper than most dogs and very playful. Instead of pointing out so many negative things about the dog they needed to reward him more for things he did right. I liked the message at the end of the book about how a dog will always love you if you love it. Unlike a person it doesn't take much for a dog to love you, it's not necessary to be rich or good looking or good at sports you just have to give a dog your heart and it will give you it's heart right back every single day. As the book shows all dogs can be loveable even if they seem like the worse dog in world. The author does a great job of conveying how Marley taught the family to value life and to live it to the fullest. He died at the end and left his family heartbroken and missing him like they never could have imagined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Marley & Me

    Marley & Me Review


    My name is Justin Madar, I go to Holt High School, and I am about 16 almost 17 years of age. This book looked good because I first saw the movie and that was really good so I thought maybe the book was good as well. Author of the Book is John Grogan.

    In my English class I am reading a book called Marley & Me. In this book the two main characters are John, Jenny, and of course Marley. John's job and Jenny's job are kind of the same they both Write for a newspaper but they talk about different thing and have different columns. When they were looking for a house the Reactor mentions kids, and John is not ready for a kid so he gets a puppy. But you know what they say never pick the shyest one because they are always the craziest ones. But they picked it any ways and they named it Marley. They go through some rough times with Marley he made their lives miserable but the end he made them happy. They end up having three kids that loved that dog to death more then anything in the whole world. The family moves around from place to place warm to cold trying to find a job that fits their family style but then they do and they all have time to play.

    I liked it a lot, I would give this book about four and a half stars out of five. Anyone can read this book as long as they can read. In my opinion every one who loves dogs and has dogs that go crazy and rip up stuff, this is the book for you just to remind you of how much you love your dog and how they will always love you back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT BOOK! :-)

    Great book, but ndefinately not6 for kids. If your looking for your kid to read it, Marly: A Dog Like No Other is written for kids 7-10. (The reason I say this is because in arly and Me has some sexual content.) If your an adult looking for some soft reading, this book is great, but a little sad. Have fun reading!:-)

    -Nick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    A Heartfelt Puppy

    "Marley and Me" is a book about two people who would like to add a baby to their new, starting family, but they aren't quite sure if they can handle the responsibilities of a new baby just yet. I thought "Marley and Me" was a book that is filled with love, and sadness and is one of the best books I have read.
    The story "Marley and Me" first starts out with two people (John, the author and his wife Jenny Grogan). John figures adopting a new addition to the family would prove really if they were ready for the baby him and his wife dearly wanted. So John decides to take Jenny to pick out a new puppy for her birthday. Little did Jenny know she had picked the most mischievous dog out of the whole litter. As the book continues Jenny and John try to tame Marley's crazy behaviors, but getting kicked out of obedient school didn't help that idea very much.
    Living in Florida gave Marley a dog beach to run and play on, while John sat and watched peacefully. I truly think this book achieves a goal of keeping readers young and old entertained.
    This love filled book is a wonderful book that has a tender-hearted dog and two kind, loving dog owners. It gives a great example of how two people who love each other can come together and "try" to tame such a bad-behaviored dog.
    "Marley and Me" is a wonderful book full of surprises and I highly recommend it for people who are looking for something with love and compassion and just could really have a good time reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Marley and EVERYONE!

    Great absorbing story of a man's love for his dog and vice-versa despite all the chaos the canine produces.
    I was a bit disturbed by the batting the Marley got from John's wife. I know he wanted to add it in for the truth of it, but it was very hard to read being a very visual reader.
    Otherwise, I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    Looking for a touching memoir through a dog's life?

    John Grogan's bestselling book Marley & Me, is now a major motion picture starring Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson!

    Marley & Me, by John Grogan, is both a heart-warming and at times a sad memoir about a young family's journey, with what some might consider to be the, "World's Worst Dog". The story starts out with two loving newlyweds, who have great careers and a new house to move into. They then bring home Marley, the clearance puppy, who is full of unconditional love and energy. Little did the Grogan's know how their lives would be with him, in the new house.

    Marley was a rambunctious dog that enjoyed destroying carpets, crashing through screen doors, eating jewelry, and digging through drywall, which were all part of a daily routine. Along with all of Marley's antics, "he cleared coffee tables, scattered magazines, knocked framed photographs off shelves, sent beer bottles and wineglasses flying, all with a wag of his tail," (page 25). Jenny and John attempt to put Marley through obedience school, but he only achieved getting expelled! John Grogan will take you through many funny and memorable memories within this memoir. I would highly recommend this novel for anyone who would enjoy a fun, loving, and quick animal based memoir; I would rate this book appropriate for all ages to read. I enjoyed this book very much because I could relate to many parts of it; one being, that I have two Golden Retrievers, which are similar to Labrador Retrievers and sometimes I would thing of them as the Worlds Worst Dogs, but they are not nearly as awful as Marley! John Grogan is an author who is unpredictable; on one page you will be shedding a tear and on the next you will be laughing out loud! He is very particular with his writing and it almost seemed like I was experiencing what he was, when he was. You will never expect what Marley will be getting himself into next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    The worst of the best

    In the memoir Marley and Me, when a newly wedded couple, John and Jenny Grogan, first got the idea of getting a dog, they were looking for a nice calm family dog. They had no idea what they were in for when they first brought Marley home. Marley, as most dogs, is very lovable, but has trouble behaving. Marley doesn't seem like he would be much of a protector in the beginning of the story, but in the middle of the book Marley really shows John that he will never leave him. Even thought Marley is not a perfect dog, he is still a John's constant companion. The book talks about Marley and his struggles to behave around people and even just being home alone.
    This story by John Grogan takes place mostly in Florida where the Grogan's and Marley live. Marley and the Grogan's three kids Patrick, Conner, and Colleen like to spend time out in the yard, while their dad gardens. Along with John's job of writing articles for the newspaper, he also likes to garden in his spare time. John and Marley also like to go for walks almost every morning down to the edge of the beach. However Marley along with other dogs are not allowed on the beach so the have to stay on the pavement. Staying on the pavement and not going in the water would be like a kid sitting next to a bowl of ice cream and not being allowed to eat it. Marley loves being in the water, which gets him in trouble on rainy day's when he comes in wet from the puddles.
    I would rate this book a four out of five stars because it was very joyful and uplifting to read. With or with out a dog of your own, I think everyone will enjoy reading this heartwarming story about John Grogan's life with Marley, and his struggle to be obedient. This book is perfect for anybody who is ten and older and looking for a good book to read. I know I enjoyed the book, and I hope others can to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4