Customer Reviews for

Marley and Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hold on to your heirlooms! Here comes Marley!!!

    Marley & Me by John Grogan is a memoir about a couple named, John and Jenny, who are married, hopelessly in love, and have a beautiful house in Florida. Sounds perfect, but something is missing in their lives. John and Jenny want more to life- to start a family. Unfortunately, Jenny can't even keep a houseplant alive, so how on earth, they thought, could they take care of a child? So, as a test, they bring home Marley, an overly energetic puppy. Marley, however, is a problem of his own, eating priceless jewelry, destroying the house whenever they were gone, and even got kicked out of obedience school. Marley, however, like everyone, had a soft spot, and his heart was pure, and full of good intentions, like this quote explains

    "One night early on, as I was turning off the lights to go to bed, I couldn't find Marley anywhere. Finally I thought to look in the nursery, and there he was, stretched out on the floor beside Patrick's crib, the two of them snoring away in stereophonic, fraternal bliss. Marley, our wild crashing bronco, was different around Patrick"

    Marley & Me by John Grogan, in my opinion was a very good book. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a dog, or that loves animals. Also, I would recommend this to people over the age of 10 to due to some adult elements. Don't limit yourself to who can read this book though, my 72 year old grandmother loved this book, just as much as my 18 year old cousin, so, it's a great novel to share with family. John Grogan, is an excellent writer, by the end of the book, I felt I knew exactly who he was and he knows how to make you laugh, cry, and fell a sense of what life is all about in the same book. Also, you can relate to the heartbreak and loss, even if you don't have a dog I would give the book, four out of five stars, because I thought it was good, but it tended to drag on some lines & avoided getting to the point at others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Disaster, love, and friendship with the world's craziest dog

    Marley and Me is about John Grogan, (the author) and Jenny his wife, who lives in Florida and want to have a child of their own but are not sure that they would be good enough parents. To take care of a child and be ready for a responsibility that comes with parenting. John gets Jenny a crazy and mischievous dog for her birthday, which turns out to be the beginning of a family she has always wanted with one crazy dog.
    I thought this was a really good book because Marley kept on doing something in every chapter he was the life of the book and he's one hilarious dog. I couldn't put down this book, it was really good. I recommend this book for ages 9 and up and give it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    An inspiring story for any dog lovers and family orientated people out there!

    The book, Marley and Me written by John Grogan was an extraordinarily heartfelt book. Jenny and Josh Grogan were a newly married couple and had both experienced great childhood pet dogs and wanted to have one for themselves. They expected a perfect dog and the experience to see what it would be like to have a child. The expectation of getting the experience of the child happened, but the perfect dog wasn't quite there. They had the most rambunctious, crazy, intense dog ever asked for. He chewed up everything, destroyed parts of the house, and even got kicked out of an obedience school, but even with his wild personality, Marley grew on the Grogans and became a big part of their life. This book deals with the downfalls, the struggles, the happiness, and the love all involved in this family. It gives great detail in the message of bonding within a family and unconditional love. I enjoyed how this book is so passionate and gives an excellent understanding of what married life, pet life, and baby life could and most likely will be like. It described the emotions and incidents in-depth and had both happiness and sadness combined to feel what this family had actually felt. Some parts were unnecessary and gave the book some bit of a bore because some things really had no point to that situation or the story, but other than that this book was amazing to read and gave a new perspective on life and how to deal with certain situations. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that enjoys animals, family-inspiring stories, and anyone who benefit from listening to other couple's stories and how their life was, many teenagers and adults. If someone does not fit into those categories, this book is probably not for you, but even then I would still recommend the book to you. Other works recommended by John Grogan are, The Longest Trip Home and Bad Dogs Have More Fun. Overall, Marley and Me was an inspiring book that gave out a true story about the ups and downs of real life that I very much enjoyed and glad I read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Marley and Me , by John Grogan

    Marley and Me is a story about a young couple on there journey of starting there life. There were living together and felt like they needed a companion. They end up buying a lab puppy from a farm that raises labs. They thought it would be beneficial since they could also get some preparation on how to raise a baby. From all the stress of trying to conceive a baby they take a trip to Ireland for three weeks. There lab puppy ends up growing rapidly into an energetic and crazy dog. They take Marley to an obedience class in which they end up getting kicked out. When they come back Jenny finds out she's pregnant but then it resulted in a miscarriage. Jenny was very emotional. They stayed with the motto of "whatever happens happens" and that they wouldn't make conceiving a job. After the miscarriage it showed how Marley helped Jenny out in a time of need. This is an excellent book for dog/pet lovers. Marley and Me will make you laugh and even cry during the warm parts. You should read this book to see what happens with John and Jenny in there struggle of starting a family and if Marley ever quiets himself down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Such a good read!!!!!!

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was very entertaining, but got a little sad towards the end. I highly recommend this book to any animal lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read!

    I am not a fan of books about the silly antics of the beloved family pet, but I'm glad I picked up Marley & Me! John Grogan illustrates with humor and heart-warming love the story of Marley, his much-loved but misbehaved Lab. It's a breezy, light read, that packs an emotional punch that tugs at the heart strings and had my crying for an hour. I didn't expect to like this book and it actually turned out to be a favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    Really Touching And Moving

    This book show how animals show us more love than anyone can. It is very funny and heartbreaking.Marley gets into all sorts of amusing situations some I'm sure you would never guess. There are some parts that will really pull at your heart strings. There are few problems with the book though. Marley is 'bought' from a backyard breeder. Breeders are responsible for millions of animals that are neglected, abused, and put to sleep every year so that is horrific. Adopting is the way to go. Also the author mentions The Kennel Club which are notorius for advertising IAMS which teats on animals aka torture. They also breed animals and take part in inbreding. So they are responsible for millions of suffering as well.I also found it sad that at times near the ending the author made expressed that animals are not as important as humans which is heartbreaking. Minus those horiffic things in the book, this book will warm your heart. I laughed so hard at all the funny situations Marley got and cryed for him when he came from a breeder ,his failing health, and his extreme fear of rain and finally his death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    Marley and Me

    Marley and Me is a great book for anyone who is a dog person or just loves to read a good book, this book has so many emotions, which makes you laugh and cry. It starts out with a couple, John and his wife Jenny that are wanting to start a family but feels that they won't be good parents, so they decide to adopt Marley. Marley is one of the most misbehaved dogs you can meet; he did everything from eating jewelry, to ripping up couches, and eating out of the trash, he even got kicked out of dog obedience school. Even though he might have been the most misbehaved dog, he was also the most loving and caring dog you could meet, and one of their best friends and beloved family members. Grogan shows how there is a deep love between a family and their loyal dog and how a dog is a man¿s best friend because dogs don¿t care what you look like or how you act, they will always be by your side 100 percent. Overall this book was great and I recommend it to anyone who loves to have a good laugh and read just an overall good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Heehee

    This book was funny and heartwarming. It made my 7 month old chocolate lab puppy seem like an angel. You don't have to be a dog lover to love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4