Customer Reviews for

Marley and Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    live,laugh,cry with the book Marley and Me

    This book made me giggle till i had to pee. Reminds me of my old dog Gus. I loved it from the first page.Every troublr that Marley went trough was hard but even though how mad they got at Marley they loved him.He got worst as he got older. Halarious book you would love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Amazing book!

    Marley and Me is a bittersweet story about Mr. and Mrs. Grogan a middle-aged couple who have fond memories of their childhood dog's and figure what better way to relive those memories than to get a dog for themselfs. They come across an ambishous and fun little Golden Lab and decide on the name Marley. Marley shows that he wont put up with the Grogan's fooish attempts with being confined to the garage on the first night! He is quiet a character and knows what he wants, and that's to destroy anything and everything. Marley's wild acts kick him out of puppy training, that shows you that this pup isn't letting the Grogan's off easy by any means. Within time and patience, not to mention a lot of messes, Marley grows on the Grogan's and by no time is one with the family. As the weeks pass the Grogan's start building on their family a little more by having kids. The kids, just like their parents weren't too fond of Marley at first. Although he was a handful the kids finally attached to Marley and his chaotic behavior. While the kids grew a little older, so did Marley. It came to pass that Marley was infact ready to leave the Grogan's with unforgetable memories and one big mornful goodbye. This book was one of the most heartfelt, tear jerking page turning stories I have ever read. I recomend this book to anyone of any age looking for a little laugh and a lot of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Marley and Me has to be one of the best books i have ever read. It's about a couple that wants to get prepared for having kids, so they decide to get a very energetic pure breed dog. They named this dog Marley. They named him after their favorite singer Bob Marley. This new puppy brings John and Jenny a lot closer then ever. They have many disagreements about Marley, but at the end of the day, Marley brings them together. When they bought him, they had no clue what they were getting into. He was destroying everything they owned! Marley shows the family that they should be careful what they wish for. They wanted a baby, so they got a crazy baby puppy! While time went by, they learned an everyday routine for him. I would recommend this book to young readers and dog lovers. It's a very emotional book, I even had a few tears during it. This is also a very funny book! I honestly don't laugh during books, but this one, I had a few great laughs. Marley and Me had great detail, but maybe a little to much. It was kind of slow, there were parts that dragged on, that didn't have to be there. But other than that, I recommend you get a copy and start reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Family, love, kids, everthing you expected.

    I read Marley and me for 7 days. It's funny so you should get this book now :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    Loved this Book

    For all dog lovers- a book that will make you smile, laugh and even cry. Wonderfully written and one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    An Adventure That Takes An Emotional Turn

    This book was very nice, but it was also very emotional. It may just be me, but at the end of this book, I cried like a baby. This book really goes to show that if the writing is right, you can get very attached to characters. I have reread it several times, and each time it gets better. Not many books can do this, but I will say that there are some bland parts in the books. E.g. When they move into their second house, there is about a chapter that barely drags on. But, please, don't give up! After that, it goes on very fast. And, if you've seen the movie, don't feel like you can't read the book without knowing what's going to happen. There are definitely some parts that were not featured in the movie. Lastly, in my overall rating, I give this a solid 3. (And, yes, I gave this a 5 on practicality, only because it is very practical, but that doesn't mean it's not any better than a non-practical book.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    The Only Book I've Ever Finished!

    Marley and Me is a story about the life of a rambunctious, free spirited Labrador. In an attempt to learn the responsibilities of a child, a couple decides to adopt a puppy Labrador named Marley. Unfortunately this puppy is not only a responsibility but a burden. This novel takes you through the adventures of Marley and his family's life.
    Marley's acts of chaos are hilarious. The book had me laughing on every page. I really enjoyed the parts of the novel that were about Marley, but, I found myself wanting more Marley and less family stories. The major message of the book is to enjoy the little things in life, don't get angry over things that you can't change. Some themes of Marley and Me are family, love, and friendship. Family must always stick together through thick and thin. Love will always stand even in the worst of times and friendships are always important to have. I recommend this story to someone who is a dog lover and someone who enjoys laughing. Overall this novel was intriguing and I really liked the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Tear Jerker!

    Marley and Me is about a couple who wants to have a child. Of course a child brings great responsibilities and the couple is not sure if they are capable of being parents. To make sure that they can handle a baby, the couple adopts a puppy Labrador named Marley. Unfortunately this puppy is not only a liability but a rambunctious, uncontrollable wild child. The novel takes you through the barbaric moments of Marley's life. Marley and Me is a very entertaining but heartbreaking story. I laughed throughout the novel and I cried. I would recommend this story to anyone who would appreciate Marley's free spirit and who wouldn't mind to cry. It is a story for the dog lovers out there. The message or moral of the story is to enjoy the little things in life. Even though Marley can be a pain, the couple learns to oversee this and love him for what he is. Major themes of this story include family, love, and life. The novel shows a couple that really appreciates their life with one another and their life with their family. Marley's acts are hilarious; I do however wish that the story told more about Marley's experiences instead of the family. I know the novel is called Marley and Me but I found myself demanding for more Marley. Overall I really enjoyed the novel and I recommend it to whomever likes an amusing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    amazing book!

    I really enjoyed reading the book Marley and Me by John Grogan. This book showed how a family can be very strongly connected to they're pet and how they're pet can give the family unconditional love. Through all the stress marley put john and jenny through, they still always loved him. Marley really was a part of there family.
    Marley was one of the worst dogs you can get, he ate jewerly and broke screen doors. The book is full of imagery with all the crazy things Marley does, you really stay excited. This book is a story that will remind you exactly what it means to love and to be loved unconditionally. It shows how strong family is and how important it is in life. The ending is very sad, however, and everyone who gets a pet will expirience it in there life. i really enjoyed Marley and Me and i rate it 4 out of 5 stars. This book has many good themes and is overall a very morally good book. Hopefully you get a chance to read this book and enjoy it as much as i did!
    tyler

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Great book

    Marley and me is about a wondrously dog that shows them what really matters in life. John and Jenny we in love and they had their own little house. They brought home a wiggly non stop moving dog. Their life's would never be the same. Marley was a yellow looking barrel ninety-seven-pound steamroller of a Labrador retriever.
    When they bring Marley home they didn't know that Marley crashed through screen doors, stole women's undergarments, flung drool on guest, and devoured couches and fine jewelry. He got kick out of obedience school.

    Marley was a hyped up dog. He loved to play and go out for anything. But Marley had something and wouldn't survive. So they tried to make it better but you couldn't but they tried their hardest . There was no use.
    Marley dies and everyone is sad. But they survive pregnancy, heartbreak, and joy. It would keep you wanting to read more.
    Your final review
    It is a very hilarious and touching book. It will make you laugh really hard and cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Marley and Me book review

    Marley and Me is a wonderful book about a just married couple named John and Jenny Grogan. They decide to make an addition to their family by getting a new dog. They search for dogs and find a cute little Labrador retriever puppy and decide to buy it. As Marley grows up he becomes more and more trouble. Marley is so bad that he gets kicked out of obedience school. Marley and the Grogans experience life together through out the book and they also experience many joys together. Marley and Me also has a lot of humor. In one part of the book Marley eats one of Jenny's necklaces! I loved the book. I never saw the movie, but I still think that the book would be better. I really liked it. It was a wonderful,well written book. If you are a dog lover, owner, or you're just looking for a good book this is the perfect book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    A Beautiful Story

    I made a mistake and watched the movie first. The movie was great but the book is even better. Grogan's storytelling is fantastic, recording the deeds and misdeeds of his dog Marley, chronicling them as he tells of his family's life from newly married, to middle aged with 3 children, and through it all, there is Marley. Not a truly bad dog, but the epitome of what a dog can be, loyal, loving, curious, and happy to the point of its wagging tail destroying everything in its path. A fantastic read good for anyone who especially is a dog lover. I would recommend it as one of the best books I have read in quite a while. It is hilarious, touching, and heart wrenching, but through it all, it is life pure and simple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    This is a great book with lots of humor.

    I saw the movie first. I thought it must have overstated the book. Reading the book showed me that the situations in the book were funnier and more unbelievable than the movie. I have read the book and listened to it on tape. Both made me laugh out loud. I will read the book again and again. It is both humourous and touching. It really lifts your spirits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious!!!

    Few books I've ever read caused me to laugh out loud, but this book did, a bunch of times!! This book is great for any dog lover, owner, and especially the owner of a "bad dog." I laughed at the similarities my dog Georgia had with Marley! The book was very touching, delightful, entertaining, It's one of my favorites. I highly recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Sweet Tearjerker

    So, so much better than the movie! (I hated the movie; the book made me really care, and sob, about Marley.) I think all dogs must share some kind of archetypal kindred soul that works on us, makes us grow up in ways that we really didn't know were necessary. Dogs do this to us, bringing out the "better" in us, better than our parents can, or our spouses can, or even our children. Dogs are sneaky; they weasel their ways into our hearts and souls . . . and characters. . .and invite change, before we even know what's happening to us. We don't have our guard up, like we might with. . . well. . . our parents (who try to get us to be their version of "good") and spouses (who want us to be fair and meet their needs) and even our dear children (whom we KNOW we're suppose to be incredibly nurturant and perfect for because we love them so much.) With dogs, we are completely unprepared; they just love us and believe in us unconditionally, and will forgive just about anything we do ever. . . . and then they misbehave, but it's too late; they've already taken up residence in our hearts.

    That's what Marley & Me is about. Marley is the world's worst dog; he pathetically tortures his family, the Grogans, with his desperation during thunderstorms; he defeats the dog obedience trainer (although you might find that you are rooting for Marley during this); he does all those imaginative things that you hope your dog won't do. But dog voodoo works it's magic on the Grogans and they have to find some way to come to terms to make their life large enough to accommodate a Marley.

    If you have a dog in your life, you will most likely strongly identify with this book. Perhaps you'll be like me, and know that Marley can't possibly be the worst dog in the world (but I'm not mentioning any names!) And you'll know that ultimately your dog was worth it, because of what you learned and how you came to re-evaluate life's priorities. But keep that kleenex handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    What a wonderful book!!

    Few books can make me laugh out loud but this one surely did! Not only is Marley charmingly exasperating, the writer's gift in telling the story of Marley makes it all the more engaging. Tears rolled down my face as I read about his antics. And then more tears towards the end of the book. What I also liked was that this was not just the story of a dog but the story of a family finding their way in life along with a pet who was an integral part of their family. Read this one out loud with your family, take it to your book groups...this is one you won't forget!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliantly funny and touching

    I picked up John Grogan's book on a whim, having seen and loved the movie last year. I did not expect to find it to be such an excellent read! In these days of heavy news and national distress, I found it to be the BEST medicine for these trying times...SIDE SPLITTING LAUGHTER! Honestly, I do not remember the last time I read something that I positively could not HELP but laugh out loud!
    John Grogan has a way of literary expression that is so human and down-to-earth that it is hard to imagine any pet-loving reader with whom he could not connect. The subject is all too well known to those readers who have allowed a family dog enter their lives and steal their heart...even the BAD dogs, whom we have all had at one time or another.
    Though John freely admits that Marley was at times a demon on four legs, fully eligible for the "Bad Dog" title, he brings to light the influence upon and growth spurred in the humans who loved Marley. Life lessons and timeless principles are there for us to learn from the pets with whom we share our lives.
    The hardest part of volunteering one's heart for the job of pet-owner is the fact that they live such a short span in comparison to the humans who love them. The book brings out the searing pain we experience when we see the decline and ultimately lose our faithful, beloved animals to death. At the same time, the author reflects on the gifts he and his family received through the experience of having Marley in their lives, and how, just as the people we know and love, they cannot ever be replaced. What a beautiful memorial to an amazing canine!
    I am now onto reading Grogan's book, "The Longest Trip Home." Though not the rip-roaring funny subject matter of Marley, I am thoroughly enjoying his style once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just tooo sad...

    I liked the book all in all. It was a gift, I diddent start reading it till like forty days after I had recived it. Very bad behaved dog they should thought about wich kind they were going to get first. I wouldent rate it top ten though. Its sad that the dog dies in the end but, in evrey good book someone usually dies... sad book lots of details. They also made it into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Marley and Me

    By John Grogan
    Review by Greta
    This book is very touching and has everything from good times, to the not so good. John Grogan the author is telling the stories of his troublesome Labrador retriever, Marley. John gets married to Jenny and soon they decide to get a puppy to test out their parenting skills. So they see an ad in the local news paper and decide to check out it out. Months later, the puppy brought home and named Marley, and well he does what all puppies do: tear up stuff and cry when he's left alone.
    A few years later John and Jenny have a baby, named Patrick. Marley soon became best friends with him. A few years later they have they have another child, named Conner, and yet another child later on, named Colleen. All of the kids loved Marley and it certainly touched my heart.
    Although this book was great it did have a few things that needed a little perking. I thought it needed more moments wear the kids and Marley were having fun together, and more on when Colleen was born. I would recommend this book to ages 11+ and to readers who love all dogs and love a little romance in a book. But overall this book has really touched my heart and I loved it I give this book five out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    Book title and author: Marley and Me by John gorgon

    This Book is great I loved this book it. It is a great book for your kids. This book kept me interested and I hate to read but this book was the greatest I have ever read. It kept me interested the whole time I was reading it. I stayed up late reading it .
    Description and summary of main points
    This book is about a young puppy that was put on the street by his owners before the family he stays at now . This dog is a really hyper dog and eats about everything through his owner's house.
    Evaluation
    In the beginning the owner of Marley gets married and has kids. Marley is very much loved in the book. In the book Marley gets a bad medical condition. The family figured he had something wrong with him when he didn't come home when they called for him they found lying down because he couldn't get up. They
    Conclusion
    I recommend this book for ages 8 and up. I approve this for all kids.
    Your final review

    My final review if you love books about little puppies you should read this book. This book is kinda a chick flick .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 315 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16