BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Marly's Choice (Men of August Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Research before you read

In this day and age every author has a web page. If you purchaes a book before doing your research, then it's no one's fault but your own if you don't like or didn't expect the content. I thoroughly enjoy Lora Leigh's books. The August series is one of my favorites a...
In this day and age every author has a web page. If you purchaes a book before doing your research, then it's no one's fault but your own if you don't like or didn't expect the content. I thoroughly enjoy Lora Leigh's books. The August series is one of my favorites along with their Nauti cousins in KY. She boldly dared to go where others considered taboo. I applaude her for the wonderful books she writes.

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This was supposed to be erotic romance. There was nothing romantic about his book. Cade treated Marly as a peice of meat, not as someone he supposedly loved. I am a Lora Leigh fan so I knew what I was getting into, but this could have been a little more convincing.

posted by Anonymous on November 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    great plot TERRIBLE editing

    i just finished this book..it was really good. i loved the characters..marly was spunky and would not be a pushover and cade was really sexy but it seemed unfinished..almost like the editors sent the wrong draft of the book to the publishers. i mean it doesn't matter how great a book is but if you're trying to figure out what the author is trying to say it sucks you out of the story. i have basic editing skills (i.e. i didn't major in editing in college and am not an editor myself) and i could have done a better job with the flow of the story. i also didn't like how lora used the characters names so much. i mean its good to know whos saying what to whom but it seemed like every single line said to marly had her name it or every single line said to cade had his name in it. yea people talk like that every once in a while for emphasis but not EVERY TIME they say something to someone. it was annoying. and i got to the point where i was editing in my head as i was reading, which i shouldn't have to do. so yea this is probably my last lora leigh book. its a shame bc her stories are good but this is the second one i've read from her and have been too distracted by her writing style/mistakes to fully enjoy the book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Male Domination and threesomes

    If you like male domination and threesomes, this book is for you. It was not for me.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Marly's choice has a great premise.  Marly has grown up with thr

    Marly's choice has a great premise.  Marly has grown up with three brothers (older than she is), and as she grew up she developed a huge crush on the oldest, Cade, which later turned into a deep love.  The problem with this scenario, is that Cade still refers to her as his "niece" even though he is very very sexually attracted to her and is quickly falling in love as well.  While they aren't actually related, the references to the "family relationship" at the beginning kind of rubbed me the wrong way.  You can't try to think of someone you want to have sex with as your niece - it's just creepy.




    After we get over that, we run into problems with the force Cade tends to use, and that he doesn't take no for an answer.  Not that he rapes her by any means, but one scene in particular comes a little too close for comfort.




    On the other hand, the story behind the scenes was really really good.  Marly has a stalker and he will do anything to get his hands on her.  He is a constant presence in the background of the entire story and takes center stage a little more than half way through.  Watching the family rally behind Marly was great and really showed how much the loved her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    This book borders on pervertism. The brothers must share the sa

    This book borders on pervertism. The brothers must share the same woman due to their father's abuse and yet did not explain how the abuse took place that affected their sexuality? Not very helpful. And Marly? She was SO frightened and yet she allowed the brothers, especially Cade, do things to her that frightened her? I found that hard to shallow. Yes, intense sexual feelings can be frightening for a woman, but women tend to understand that and go along with it, but the way Leigh wrote it, that was not like that. Pass out from intense orgasm? Another hard shallow. Sorry but the way the story is written borders on ridiculous. Cade describes himself as animalistic and primal? The way it was written, it didn't seem like he was - simply highly sexual - just like everyone else except that he has to share Marly with his brothers. He struggled with his sexual feelings for Marly after "having raised her and treated her like a niece." He was only 8 years older when she was already 12 and was hard to shallow that he struggled since she was NOT his niece. He described her as a child at 12? Girls starts their periods at that age. Closer to teenager than a child, really. Just a weird book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Deleting

    I deleting instead of keeping it to lend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    W o w

    The passion cade and marly have is amazing........but then he likes to share with his brothers....w t f! Some crazy wild menage sex going on. Deffinately not for the faint of heart. Im really surprised this book got such high ratings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Not worth it.

    Not worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1