Customer Reviews for

A Marriage Carol

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    Don┬┐t Miss This Touching Christmas Read! Maralee and Jacob ha



    Don’t Miss This Touching Christmas Read!

    Maralee and Jacob have had it with their marriage.  The final paperwork for the end
    will be signed on Christmas Eve.  

    While driving to their destination the snow falls heavily and the roads are getting
    very slippery.  Jacob decides to take a shortcut through a mountain pass and this
    is where Maralee’s journey begins.

    Can man/woman say when a marriage is over?  What about God?  

    I found this book to be very insightful, touching, and healing.  If it doesn’t make you
    think about your own marriage something is wrong.  There is always room for
    improvement.  A gentler kinder voice, uplifting words, a praise or two when due,
    maybe even a loving touch.

    If you are reading this review, I urge you to pick up a copy of A Marriage Carol.  
    You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    Unforgettable! It's Christmas Eve, and Jacob and Marlee Ebenez

    Unforgettable!


    It's Christmas Eve, and Jacob and Marlee Ebenezer have an appointment with a divorce lawyer to dissolve their 20-year marriage. Years of detachment and indifference in their marriage have led to a tragic end. As heavy snow drifts down the car skids along the highway toward their afternoon appointment in the city. Heavy traffic and treacherous driving conditions prompt Jacob to take the shortcut on County Line Road. Marlee recalls that same drive in similar weather conditions after their Christmas Eve wedding so many years ago. She fears they won't make it over the mountain through the heavily swirling snow. Nearing a curve the last things Marlee remembers are two headlights and the sound of an air horn. When she awakens the car is embedded in a snowbank and Jacob nowhere to be found. With no chance to survive the storm sitting in the car alone, Marlee seeks help at a nearby home where she is welcomed by an older gentleman who claims to have restored numerous marriages. He seats her by the fire and goes in search of Jacob. As Marlee's concerns for her three children and her missing husband mount the older gentleman returns alone and takes Marlee on a journey through the past, bringing about haunting memories. The present fills with concerns, and fears of the future nearly break her. How will divorce affect their children? Are they making a mistake? Where is Jacob?   




    This unforgettable story of a love that has grown stagnant through the years touches a tender place in the heart of the reader. Through the busyness of careers and raising children a husband and wife drift apart to a point where there appears to be no common ground. Our choices affect every detail in our lives. The authors have created a situation that is all too common in marriages, complacency and rancor. In this modern-day Dickensonian tale lessons in compassion and unconditional love warm the heart and invite us to examine our own lives and relationships. The descriptive elements in this story are vivid and memorable. Secrets in the snow play a magical role in this stirring novella. I began reading this book late one evening, and as I headed for bed I sensed a blizzard raging outside the house. I had to look out the window to confirm that it was a typical balmy October night! I awoke during the night to the sound of what I perceived to be a snow plow! Chris Fabry and Gary Chapman did a brilliant job of creating this realistic Christmas Eve!




    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from River North, Fiction From Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Fabry and Chapman craft a tale of Marlee and Jacob, a married co

    Fabry and Chapman craft a tale of Marlee and Jacob, a married couple on their way to sign divorce papers on Christmas Eve. After they are in a car accident, Marlee finds herself alone in the car and sets off to find Jacob through the falling snow. She comes across a cabin and is welcomed by an older man who begins to question her about her marriage and helps her remember the past, see scenes from the present, and a peek into the future.

    This book, a different spin on Dicken's A Christmas Carol, is interesting. It encourages readers to work at repairing their own marriages instead of opting for divorce. I liked the way it showed how Marlee's and Jacob's divorce wouldn't just impact them and their children, but their extended family as well. I also liked the way it provided hope for ailing marriages.

    I think I would have liked this book more if it were longer. It was predictable and felt a little rushed. It is a small book, so I knew even before beginning it that it was a short story. I think it would have had more of an impact if readers had more time to identify with the characters struggles in their marriage before the accident. We get glimpses of why their marriage is in trouble, but it would have been more powerful to have more time with the characters. It also would have been nice to see more of Jacob's perspective on why he was pursuing the divorce.

    Overall, I enjoyed this book. The message is clear, that even when the marriage seems dead, there is always hope. I do think it was good that the authors made it clear that this ailing marriage was due to unhappiness and not to abuse or infidelity, which makes a difference in the consideration of divorce.

    If you are looking for a short, feel good story, you might enjoy this one. Fabry and Chapman are excellent authors with nice writing styles. I would love to read another, longer book from them.

    I received a copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Great holiday read! This could easily be read in one day. The

    Great holiday read! This could easily be read in one day. The author captured my attention and I could not put it down. Inspires us to look at our own marriage and fight for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I read this book in one afternoon. I plan to purchase a hard copy to have as a coffee table read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Light Christian Bible Study, pleasant.

    Considering the Power of Gary Chapman and Chris Fabry, i think i was expecting a lot more, more theology, more depth. There isn't any. This is a light Christian fiction story, would be great for a women's bible study, women who aren't into incredibly deep bible discussions but do look for God's hand in their lives.
    Includes bible study questions in the back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    The snow uncovers the truth

    Chris Fabry's latest story is an easy read with a lot of underlying power. Marlee and Jacob could be any couple who have allowed themselves to become numb to each other. And the choices we make do set the snowstorm in motion. Read A Marriage Carol, and find those pieces of yourself that need to change. Let the melting snow show the truth. Rekindle your love! And if you don't have a lot of hope, I think Chris has enough hope for you to hold onto.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    With a nod to Dickens...

    Jacob and Marlee Ebenezer are on the road toward a divorce....literally. Driving through the snow on the way to a meeting with a lawyer to dissolve their marriage of 20 years. There is an accident, and things change. Marlee has an experience that changes her. But is it real? With a clever nod to Dickens, Marlee sees her past, present and future in melting bowls of snow. She realizes that she shares the blame for their "failed" marriage. However, there is hope and possibility for change. No little boy to fetch the Christmas goose, but perhaps a future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What will the music hold?

    The snow, falling so thickly, they can barely see the road. The husband, worried that they won¿t reach the divorce attorney¿s before closing, decides to take a short cut. It¿s Christmas Eve, their anniversary and the children are at home. Hope, lost in an ocean of despair, is long forgotten. Numbness is already settling in. What happens could easily be someone¿s reality. Is the future certain or is there yet time to change. A devastating accident or was it? Time shifts and perhaps another chance. Despair, hope, devastation they all surface in one unexplainable night. This story, vividly written and emotionally engaging, will reach the tender places in your heart. It will linger in your thoughts, influence your choices, and offers valuable lessons for each of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Timely Christmas Tale

    On the Anniversary of their marriage, 20 years ago, Jacob and Marlee Ebenezer [Love the twist on names] are heading out to a Divorce Lawyer. Marlee mentions what she thinks about a lawyer being open on Christmas Eve..."must be divorced?" Jacob decides to head down a faster road, and Marlee states the obvious...I "told you so" as they go slipping and sliding.
    When Marlee awakes she can't find Jacob and goes toward a house with a light. How appropriate that the house is a former "Funeral Home" and now a "Marriage Retreat"! Excellent!!!
    There is a strong message of following God and not going blindly into the World. That grass always looks greener on the other side. Oh how very true!!
    What a delightful twist on Dickens Christmas Carol!! You won't be able to put this one down until it is finished! It is a very fast, but excellent read. Don't let the size of this one put you off, you won't regret it!

    I received this book from Netgalley and Moody Publishing, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Wonderful

    I love it! I would and will recommend this book to all of my friends.

    Jeannie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    LOVED IT!!!

    This is a great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thoughtful book on marriage, life, and choices Excellent!

    On Christmas Eve Jake and Marlee Ebenezer are driving in a snow storm to sign divorce papers after 20 years of marriage. On the drive they have an accident due to the terrible storm. Marlee goes looking for her husband and ends up at the home of an elderly man named Jay. Marlee experiences the ghosts of Marriage Past, Marriage Present, and Marriage Future (like from Dickens' A Christmas Carol). She learns some valuable lessons from the older gentleman, his wife, and the snow.

    I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book and highly recommend it to you. It will really make you think about the choices you make in marriage as well as in life in general. As I was listening I thought how valuable it would be if couples considering divorce would have an opportunity like Marlee had to remember and see the impact their choice will have. I think it is a good book for anyone because of the insight it provides on life, how our choices matter and the importance of remembering the past.

    This audio version is read by one of the authors, Chris Fabry. He did a great job narrating the story.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this audiobook free from the christianaudio Reviewers Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Paying obvious homage to Dickens' A Christmas Carol, Chris Fabry & Gary Chapman provide an engaging family fantasy

    Two decades of marriage that began on Christmas Eve is ironically ending on Christmas Eve. The relationship between Marlee and Jacob Ebenezer is colder than the wintry weather outside the car they share on their way to see the divorce lawyer to sign the final papers. Both worry about telling their three kids though they agree to say nothing until after the holidays. Driving on the road to the attorney leads to a fight as Marlee feels with the snow and ice they should remain on the main road while Jacob chooses a shortcut. On a curve with headlines bearing down on them, Jacob loses control.

    Marlee awakes alone and frozen; Jacob is nowhere in sight; her cellphone fails to work. She leaves the car looking for Jacob but sees lights so heads there. An elderly man Jay opens the door allowing the shivering Marlee to warm up, but he insists no other visitor has arrived. He searches for Jacob but fails to find him. Marlee and the couples' retreat center owner chat while his wife rests upstairs thinking about God and marriage. As her host goes to check on his wife, Marlee sees her past and present through her loving family members, and a future path with two choices.

    Paying obvious homage to Dickens' A Christmas Carol, Chris Fabry & Gary Chapman provide an engaging family fantasy that starts off with an emotional question of "When do we tell the kids?" An entertaining parable, the story line focuses on the importance of honesty communicating as the key fuels to maintain loving relationships. Although the cast is never deeply developed beyond relational roles, readers will appreciate this fun contemporary version of the classic.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!!

    An interesting twist on A Christmas Carol. The story was well told and reminds you that a "live-long love is worth fighting for". I strongly recommend this book to anyone who loves A Christmas Carol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good Christmas stocking stuffer

    A Marriage Carol is a delightful fantasy mixed with a generous heaping of truth. A story of trust, unconditional love, and the choice to let love grown again, and written in the style of A Christmas Carol, it's the perfect book to put on your Christmas giving list. Novel Journey and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Interesting Tale about Marriage, and Choices

    With characters named Marlee and Jacob, you might assume this was a "typical" Christmas story, perhaps a takeoff on A Christmas Carol. Wel, there is definitely a nod to Dickens, but Marlee and Jacob are a married couple on their way to sign the papers for their divorce. It's Christmas Eve, and a shortcut on an icy road during a snowstorm changes everything, forcing them to examine how their marriage went from happily ever after to irreconcilable differences. It's a lovely little book, reminding us of the value of being open, honest, and willing to face the truth in our relationships. And it shows us the power of unconditional love. This should be required reading for anyone who is thinking of marrying, is married, but most especially, for anyone whose marriage is in trouble and in danger of divorce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1