BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Marriage Lesson

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Enjoyable.

    This is a nice little read. I am rarely disappointed with Victoria Alexander.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Highly recommended - sweet and funny!

    This is the third book in the Effington Family Series that I have read. They are all good, but this is the best so far. There are parts where I was actually laughing out loud. I would caution, however, that if you haven't read the second book in the series, "The Husband List", this books gives away the outcome of the second book. I recommend this. It is an easy, quick, and fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pass on this one

    Usually love Victoria Alexander but was very bored by this book. I didn't LIKE Marianne. Found her overbearing and obnoxious. Thomas was weak, but I pitied him for having to put up with her crap. Skip this one and read the next book in the series "The Prince's Bride". It's SO much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Very Romantic & Funny

    Thomas and Marianne were so engaging and quite funny. I've read alot of romance novels and never laughed so hard. I really, really enjoyed their story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Wow! I'm in Love with Thomas and Marianne

    This was such a terrific romantic love story. Marianne is intelligent, strong and a romantic. Thomas is handsome and funny. I laughed out loud at some of the antics. Thomas is especially insanely humorous. I think he has really good friends who keep him in line so to say. I enjoyed this book more than The Husband List. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    Do You Want To Laugh Out Loud? Read This!

    The Poet Highwayman Scene was one of the best scenes that I have ever read in a Regency romance. I could not stop laughing. I read it three times just to laugh again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2004

    I could not stop laughing

    I have never read a funnier scene then the 'Poet Highwayman' scene. I could not stop laughing. The romance was great and I truly recommend this book to anyone with a good sense of humor and anyone who loves romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Laugh Out Loud

    I though that the Marriage Lesson was a fantastic book, i couldn't put it down. At times it made me really Laugh out Loud, some of the stuff Thomas did to win the love of the lovely Marianne. I highly recommend this book. you won't beable to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    Fun to read!

    I love to read a book that make me chuckle aloud and this one filled the bill. It is a fun book and the reading about other members of the family in other of Ms. Alexander's books makes it even more fun. A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    humorous Regency romance

    In 1819 England, Marquess Thomas Effington is upset with the notion of playing nursemaid to his own sister¿s three sister-in-laws. He feels it is not fair that he must keep his mother¿s promise just because she and his father are out of country as the Shelton sisters arrive in town. However, honor and his family name requires he must serve as host to the Shelton siblings. <P>Lady Marianne Shelton does not want a husband. Instead she writes scandalous stories involving ¿The Adventures of a Country Lady in London¿. The Ton wonders who the author is and who her guardian must be. Marianne wants to live and Thomas begins providing her lessons with his sensational kisses. As they fall in love, she reassesses her thoughts about marriage if Thomas is her husband caressing her. <P> THE MARRIAGE LESSON is a humorous Regency romance that is fun to read on two levels. The story line is an entertaining historical tale that sub-genre fans will enjoy. However, the plot satirizes the conventions of the era that is often hyperbolized by authors through the writings of Marianne. Though the romantic side of the relationship between the lead protagonists is not quite as strong as their overall bond, Victoria Alexander provides her audience an enchanting lesson on how to write an enjoyable, amusing tale of love. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2