BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Marriage Plot

Average Rating 3.5
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Interesting and unusual.

I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was...
I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was an very interesting plot and the MC Dominique was fantastic, and all of the characters were flagrantly depicted! Good Twists. I highly recommend this book. Both of them. You won't be sorry.

posted by JuliannaWY on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

do not recommend

I have attempted to post a negative review for this book three times and am not sure why it is not being accepted. Jeffrey Eugenides is an extremely talented writer and Middlesex is one of the best pieces of modern fiction I have ever read. This book, which I highly a...
I have attempted to post a negative review for this book three times and am not sure why it is not being accepted. Jeffrey Eugenides is an extremely talented writer and Middlesex is one of the best pieces of modern fiction I have ever read. This book, which I highly anticipated, is awful by comparison. The characters are a bunch of whiny,self-centered college students who don't mature by the end of the book. Even the most sympathetic character, Mitchell, grated on me. So one of the main characters suffers from manic-depression---it really doesn't add much weight to the story other than the reason for the self-absorbed female protagonist to skip her graduation. I was horribly dissatisfied by this book. If I could give zero stars on this site, I would.

posted by MsReadalotIL on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    do not recommend

    I have attempted to post a negative review for this book three times and am not sure why it is not being accepted. Jeffrey Eugenides is an extremely talented writer and Middlesex is one of the best pieces of modern fiction I have ever read. This book, which I highly anticipated, is awful by comparison. The characters are a bunch of whiny,self-centered college students who don't mature by the end of the book. Even the most sympathetic character, Mitchell, grated on me. So one of the main characters suffers from manic-depression---it really doesn't add much weight to the story other than the reason for the self-absorbed female protagonist to skip her graduation. I was horribly dissatisfied by this book. If I could give zero stars on this site, I would.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting and unusual.

    I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was an very interesting plot and the MC Dominique was fantastic, and all of the characters were flagrantly depicted! Good Twists. I highly recommend this book. Both of them. You won't be sorry.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Great characters, abrupt ending

    To Jeffrey Eugenides' credit, I found it hard to put this book down, finishing it in two days, just like Middlesex. However, in not having attended an Ivy League institution or having majored in English or religious studies, some of his college and literary references were a bit obscure for me. That's my problem, not his, I suppose. I also got the feeling that the beginning and middle of the book were fairly detailed, but the ending seems like it was completed with a publisher's deadline in mind. This book was certainly worth reading, with an interesting character development and complex interplay between love, lust, and mental illness, and the title certainly fits the story. I'm just not sure I liked the ending, however inevitable I knew it would be. You also should be the judge.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Read Middlesex, skip this one.

    I read the authors first book, Middlesex. It was a great book, this one however is nowhere near that. Boring, don't care about the characters at all. I was listening to the audio book and while the narrator was fine, I actually stopped listening. I have only not finished a couple of books that I have read and this one was so bad I had no interest in continuing. Skip it but I highly recommend Middlesex.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    One of the more interesting books I've picked up.

    At least lately. Without giving too much away, this book and its characters were amazingly well-written. The three dimensional characters made each page impossible to be the last one, that is until the very last, at which point I had no choice.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    amazingly boring

    I never read Middlesex but heard enough raves to get the new book everyone seems to have been waiting for. I found The Marriage Plot incredibly boring despite being a fast read. The characters are all especially unlikable and whiny. While I am glad I read this book and can share my viewpoint with friends over drinks when Eugenides comes up, I will most likely not be reading anything else of his.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Totally recommend this- excellent read

    The writing was tastefully and beautifully executed, I felt as if I read only one page by time I ended. It held everything I like, plot was believeable, the dialogue intensely satisfying, and the characters were three dimensional. All in all= a great tale, good job Eugenides! Also recommending - The Help Also recommending - The Chateau The Help - the book is so much better than the movie- loved it. The Chateau - Fantastic dialogue, great characters - beautifully written

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I enjoyed reading this at work. Very good, would recommend it

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Not worth the time

    This is the first Jeffrey Eugenides book I have read. I was interested in reading it for a couple of reasons. One, was the title and author's resume, and the other was that the characters graduated from college the same year that I did.
    What I discovered, however, was that the characters were self-obsorbed and therefore, completely unattractive.
    I was unable to connect with them on most every level. They made life more difficult than it needed to be, which some may say makes a good story. Not so for me.
    I kept hoping they would "snap out of it", and see the light, but their struggles remained agonizing. Very disappointing story.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Ugh

    Bad bad bad bad bad

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Angst-ridden smart folks trying to figure it out.

    The Marriage Plot is this big, bold forray into what it’s like to be young with options. Madeleine, Leonard and Mitchell are all graduating from Brown. It’s the early 80′s and their lives are just beginning to swing into the unknown. Madeleine, an English major, knows that grad school is in her future, but now that she’s fallen in love with Leonard, who has his own baggage in the form of manic-depression, she’s trying to fit it all in and find a balance.

    Mitchell, who never truly connected with Madeleine, has it in his head that she’s the mate for him and is a tiny bit obsessed with her. He is always on the outside, looking in and can’t understand Madeleine’s desire to be with Leonard. As Madeleine follows Leonard to Cape Cod for an internship, Mitchell travels around the world to pursue his interest in religion, but more importantly, to get Maddie out of his head. Although the story plods along at an incredibly slow pace, I couldn’t help but get swept up in the “bigness” of it. I was in college in the late 80′s and Eugenides nailed 80′s college life and I mean, NAILED it. You’ve got your academic life taking up most of your time but then… then there is this other half of you that is going out and meeting people. Often, one person turns out to be more than a friend and then all of sudden life shifts and you are thinking of marriage and the white picket fence. Maybe.

    The Marriage Plot is all about that time. That time where you feel as if you have all these options, yet have no idea where you’ll really end up. It’s about figuring out what you really want and realizing that the decisions you make today, could affect you for the rest of your life. As Madeleine studies romances of the past, she realizes that history does not have to repeat itself.

    I love angst and there is plenty of it contained within these pages to last you a lifetime. Did I love the characters? No. I often found myself frustrated by their inability to take things in, but were they real to me? Most definitely. Leonard, who suffers manic-depression throughout the novel was probably my favorite of the characters because he was so flawed yet there were times where he was completely lucid. During these times, I saw his brilliance and how a girl like Maddie could fall in love with him.

    Overall, this is not a book that will wow you with its plot. It’s not a page-turner but instead a quiet, introspective look at relationships and if you are a book lover (who isn’t?) then you will love this book for the bookish references peppered throughout the story. I had an easy time picking this one up and putting it down. It’s the type of book you can easily dip in and out of but every time I put it down, I found myself thinking about my own college years.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Middle school material

    Apart from some superfluous "adult" situations, this a story you'd expect to capture the attention of a middle schooler. Unimaginative plot, weak character development. So why bother.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Not Eugenides Strongest Work

    I was thrilled to see a new book out from one of my favorite novelists. The opening was very strong and I found myself falling back into the mental mode of university. The back and forth between characters really worked, but then Leonard's voice appears and I almost immediately lost interest. It took me ages to get through Leonard's side and I eventually lost touch with the characters. I wasn't cheering for anyone by the end.

    After finally finishing, I feel a bit underwhelmed by the novel as a whole. I give immense props for all the research on back stories and side stories that went into this novel (yeast research?!), but I don't see myself recommending it to others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Too scholarly but written well

    The book started off slow and often lost me when it came to Mitchell's religious studies and Leonard's scientific talk, but I found Maddy's English aspects wonderful and I was captivated by the things Mitchell came across during his travels. The book is not horribly written and I am happy that I read it and, though I will most likely not read it again in its entirety, I will most likely reference it from time to time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Wow, this book!

    I was very impressed by this book. Eugenides has created a fresh and modern love story set in a semi-modern time period to be experienced by all. It follows a series of three interwoven and wonderful characters through the ecstatic highs and devastating lows of love and life, provoking questions in us all that will leave you re-evaluating much of what you've learned about the puzzle of life's relationships alongside the characters, who are wholly unprepared for the life ahead of them after leaving college and family behind as they begin their adult lives. Their trials and discoveries, along with their ups and downs are remarkably moving and at times it seemed like Eugenides took a page or two from your own mind- he touches the intangible in parts of this book, with descriptions and passages that I had no choice but to highlight and mark up. It's description of University life is captivating, and it's dive into the intricate and terrible web of a man's depression will leave you breathless. I can see why it's more of a critical darling than beloved by fans, but I'd highly recommend it just to experience a stunning modern love story that will affect you in ways you'd be shocked that a book could.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Would highly recommend

    Ive read some of the other reviews and the negative ones have one thing in commom...negative feelings about the characters. If that is the case, then the author did his job. Yes they were whiny and self-centered but weren't we all at that age? I thought the book was well written and funny. I learned about love, faith, marriage, and writing in 3 days. I couldnt put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Slow read

    This book was a slow read. Unfortunately if you thought it would be more on the Jane Austin side of things, you would be wrong. Much of the literature mentioned I had not read. As such it was less appealing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    More or less of a let down

    I felt that this novel was a persistent wind-up with a dissatisfactory resolution. It had its moments but overall I was disappointed with the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No thanks

    I think this book would be great if you loved classic literature. Personally I feel the book was simply a handful of run in sentences. I wouldn't read it again, therefore I do not recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Horrible

    The stories of the two male characters were very interesting but the book as a whole was a waste. I abhorred the female character and didnot appreciate the author's writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 313 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16