Customer Reviews for

The Marriage Plot

Average Rating 3.5
( 311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Interesting and unusual.

I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was...
I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was an very interesting plot and the MC Dominique was fantastic, and all of the characters were flagrantly depicted! Good Twists. I highly recommend this book. Both of them. You won't be sorry.

posted by JuliannaWY on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

do not recommend

I have attempted to post a negative review for this book three times and am not sure why it is not being accepted. Jeffrey Eugenides is an extremely talented writer and Middlesex is one of the best pieces of modern fiction I have ever read. This book, which I highly a...
I have attempted to post a negative review for this book three times and am not sure why it is not being accepted. Jeffrey Eugenides is an extremely talented writer and Middlesex is one of the best pieces of modern fiction I have ever read. This book, which I highly anticipated, is awful by comparison. The characters are a bunch of whiny,self-centered college students who don't mature by the end of the book. Even the most sympathetic character, Mitchell, grated on me. So one of the main characters suffers from manic-depression---it really doesn't add much weight to the story other than the reason for the self-absorbed female protagonist to skip her graduation. I was horribly dissatisfied by this book. If I could give zero stars on this site, I would.

posted by MsReadalotIL on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Read Middlesex, skip this one.

    I read the authors first book, Middlesex. It was a great book, this one however is nowhere near that. Boring, don't care about the characters at all. I was listening to the audio book and while the narrator was fine, I actually stopped listening. I have only not finished a couple of books that I have read and this one was so bad I had no interest in continuing. Skip it but I highly recommend Middlesex.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Not worth the time

    This is the first Jeffrey Eugenides book I have read. I was interested in reading it for a couple of reasons. One, was the title and author's resume, and the other was that the characters graduated from college the same year that I did.
    What I discovered, however, was that the characters were self-obsorbed and therefore, completely unattractive.
    I was unable to connect with them on most every level. They made life more difficult than it needed to be, which some may say makes a good story. Not so for me.
    I kept hoping they would "snap out of it", and see the light, but their struggles remained agonizing. Very disappointing story.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Slow read

    This book was a slow read. Unfortunately if you thought it would be more on the Jane Austin side of things, you would be wrong. Much of the literature mentioned I had not read. As such it was less appealing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    More or less of a let down

    I felt that this novel was a persistent wind-up with a dissatisfactory resolution. It had its moments but overall I was disappointed with the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No thanks

    I think this book would be great if you loved classic literature. Personally I feel the book was simply a handful of run in sentences. I wouldn't read it again, therefore I do not recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    Boring! I couldn't get through this book.  I gave it to page 159

    Boring!
    I couldn't get through this book.  I gave it to page 159 and gave up.  I couldn't seem to care about the characters
    and that is what you should do when reading........feel something, whether you identify with what is taking place
    or not, positive or negative.  Very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Ordinary

    After his first book, which was smart and artful, this not above ordinary beach book writing was a shock.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Just not for me

    Good book and great writer bit siply not my preferance for reading. Didn't hold my interest. Can recommend what I didn't enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I loved The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex, so I was excited when

    I loved The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex, so I was excited when this book came out. It doesn't matter if you compare The Marriage Plot to the other two or let it stand alone, the end result is the same. It's not worth the paper it's printed on.

    The first part of the book had me intrigued, but by the end of the book, none of the three main characters (recent college grads) have matured in any way, shape, or form, and there is little to no character development. I was hoping that with one of the three having manic depression would be an interesting plot point, especially as he "learned" to deal with the illness, but it seemed like the only point to it was to give the lead female something to feel sorry for herself about while at the same time feel good for standing by her man. At times the plot of this book was so hard to find it was practically non-existent, and when a friend of mine asked me what it was about I couldn't honestly tell her. All I could say was "Three irritating 20-somethings in the 80s."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Lacks plot

    I was excited to read this book. And while it is well-writtwn, the story lacks an engaging and compelling plot. The story is circuitous and rambles endlessly. Had potential but fell way short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    HAd to force myself to finish it.

    Very interesting premise, really good moments and then...I kept skipping pages. I did not connect with the characters. And what is up with full chapters about religious angst?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Should be called The Marriage Plod

    Middlesex is one of my favorite books. So really hoped The Marriage Plot would be another engaging read. Unfortunately, I was left wanting. Wanting some connection to the characters. Wanting some "soul" in the story. Wanting it to get better. And, finally, just wanting it to be over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    About 2.5 to 3 stars (or C+/B-) is what I would give "The M

    About 2.5 to 3 stars (or C+/B-) is what I would give "The Marriage Plot" by Jeffrey Eugenides. I was excited to read this book and waited quite a bit on the library "hold" list to receive it. The 3 main characters, Madeleine, Leonard and Mitchell, graduate from Brown University in the early 1980s. As a reader, we follow Madeleine and Leonard's relationship and hitch a ride with Michell's religious journey. To me, Madeleine wasn't a concrete character and felt that when she was around, there was nothing there to connect to. I rooted for Leonard and was engrossed by his manic-depressive adventure. And, suffered through Mitchell's travels and his "letters home", but did cheer on his religious quest. There was "too much information" about bodily functions and the references to literary/academia lectures could have been toned down a lot. I also felt that the end was not complete, especially with the handling of Leonard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2