Customer Reviews for

The Marriage Plot

Average Rating 3.5
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Interesting and unusual.

I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was...
I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was an very interesting plot and the MC Dominique was fantastic, and all of the characters were flagrantly depicted! Good Twists. I highly recommend this book. Both of them. You won't be sorry.

posted by JuliannaWY on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

do not recommend

I have attempted to post a negative review for this book three times and am not sure why it is not being accepted. Jeffrey Eugenides is an extremely talented writer and Middlesex is one of the best pieces of modern fiction I have ever read. This book, which I highly a...
I have attempted to post a negative review for this book three times and am not sure why it is not being accepted. Jeffrey Eugenides is an extremely talented writer and Middlesex is one of the best pieces of modern fiction I have ever read. This book, which I highly anticipated, is awful by comparison. The characters are a bunch of whiny,self-centered college students who don't mature by the end of the book. Even the most sympathetic character, Mitchell, grated on me. So one of the main characters suffers from manic-depression---it really doesn't add much weight to the story other than the reason for the self-absorbed female protagonist to skip her graduation. I was horribly dissatisfied by this book. If I could give zero stars on this site, I would.

posted by MsReadalotIL on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Not Eugenides Strongest Work

    I was thrilled to see a new book out from one of my favorite novelists. The opening was very strong and I found myself falling back into the mental mode of university. The back and forth between characters really worked, but then Leonard's voice appears and I almost immediately lost interest. It took me ages to get through Leonard's side and I eventually lost touch with the characters. I wasn't cheering for anyone by the end.

    After finally finishing, I feel a bit underwhelmed by the novel as a whole. I give immense props for all the research on back stories and side stories that went into this novel (yeast research?!), but I don't see myself recommending it to others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Too scholarly but written well

    The book started off slow and often lost me when it came to Mitchell's religious studies and Leonard's scientific talk, but I found Maddy's English aspects wonderful and I was captivated by the things Mitchell came across during his travels. The book is not horribly written and I am happy that I read it and, though I will most likely not read it again in its entirety, I will most likely reference it from time to time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Recommended

    It was a good book and an easy read. The characters were interesting but none were particularly empathetic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Great ending to an otherwise rather boring book.  The ending def

    Great ending to an otherwise rather boring book.  The ending definitely picks this book up to be among the most interesting pieces out there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Not of the quality of his other books

    Not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    V.z

    It was a very interesting book ever since i read the title and got interested in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Good premise

    I love the idea behind the plot- how have the sexual revolution and feminism changed the role of marriage for young women. Easy divorce divorce means that a mediocre mate is not a life sentence. Novels will never be the same. Unfortunately, the writing is pedantic and the characters were annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Difficult.....but very good

    Worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Somewhere Between Hit and Miss

    I loved Middlesex, one of the best books I've ever read. And while the plot description of this book didn't send me over the edge, I had felt the same with Middlesex. So I took the plunge.

    Be aware: the characters ARE whiny and irritating. That doesn't make this book "bad" nor "good." Madeleine is a pain in the rear and her parents should have change the locks.

    That said, I read it in 2 days, getting up at 1AM and again at 3AM to read for an hour. Eugenides is an excellent writer and a great storyteller. One one hand, what more does one ask? On the other, I wasn't quite sure I believed what these characters were doing and saying. And I was sorry that three incredibly bright young people had so much angst in their souls.

    In the end I would recommend it with a lot of caveats.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good read if you're well versed

    While the seemingly endless references are a bit self indulgent, those who have studied literature will enjoy them. This story of actualization and the post collegiate search for self is an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Wonderful book...until the end

    Great, enlightening book but a very anticlimactic, disappointing, lame ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mixed Thoughts

    Highly anticipated, somewhat diappointed. Although well written( I haven't read Middlesex), there was something missing in my opinion. I could identify with the characters and the time frame as I was the same age at the same time(although in a non-Ivy league school as a science major) and I have a great love for some of the literature mentioned(although I'd never heard of some titles mentioned and not any of the philosophy or religious titles).I did find myself slightly That being said, I found the characters self-indulgent and too much into themselves(I guess that was appropriate for the time, it was the 80's)in trying to "find themselves" and the parents too indulgent with their children. I don't know of any parents within that time frame that would have supported what these characters went through(I do admit this may be how I was raised). I was also disappointed in the plot in terms of the decisions made by Maddy, the main character, although again, I did understand them. Overall, it was a decent read accomplished quickly. Don't know that I would recommend it to too many, if any, other readers I know.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4