Customer Reviews for

The Marriage Plot

Average Rating 3.5
( 311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Interesting and unusual.

I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was...
I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was an very interesting plot and the MC Dominique was fantastic, and all of the characters were flagrantly depicted! Good Twists. I highly recommend this book. Both of them. You won't be sorry.

posted by JuliannaWY on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

do not recommend

I have attempted to post a negative review for this book three times and am not sure why it is not being accepted. Jeffrey Eugenides is an extremely talented writer and Middlesex is one of the best pieces of modern fiction I have ever read. This book, which I highly a...
I have attempted to post a negative review for this book three times and am not sure why it is not being accepted. Jeffrey Eugenides is an extremely talented writer and Middlesex is one of the best pieces of modern fiction I have ever read. This book, which I highly anticipated, is awful by comparison. The characters are a bunch of whiny,self-centered college students who don't mature by the end of the book. Even the most sympathetic character, Mitchell, grated on me. So one of the main characters suffers from manic-depression---it really doesn't add much weight to the story other than the reason for the self-absorbed female protagonist to skip her graduation. I was horribly dissatisfied by this book. If I could give zero stars on this site, I would.

posted by MsReadalotIL on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting and unusual.

    I enjoyed this read. It is very interesting and quite unusual. The characters were colorfully depicted. It was quite entertaining. I highly recommend it! I also will recommend the other book I bought with this one, which I really loved. THE CHATEAU by CD Swanson. It was an very interesting plot and the MC Dominique was fantastic, and all of the characters were flagrantly depicted! Good Twists. I highly recommend this book. Both of them. You won't be sorry.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    One of the more interesting books I've picked up.

    At least lately. Without giving too much away, this book and its characters were amazingly well-written. The three dimensional characters made each page impossible to be the last one, that is until the very last, at which point I had no choice.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Totally recommend this- excellent read

    The writing was tastefully and beautifully executed, I felt as if I read only one page by time I ended. It held everything I like, plot was believeable, the dialogue intensely satisfying, and the characters were three dimensional. All in all= a great tale, good job Eugenides! Also recommending - The Help Also recommending - The Chateau The Help - the book is so much better than the movie- loved it. The Chateau - Fantastic dialogue, great characters - beautifully written

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I enjoyed reading this at work. Very good, would recommend it

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Wow, this book!

    I was very impressed by this book. Eugenides has created a fresh and modern love story set in a semi-modern time period to be experienced by all. It follows a series of three interwoven and wonderful characters through the ecstatic highs and devastating lows of love and life, provoking questions in us all that will leave you re-evaluating much of what you've learned about the puzzle of life's relationships alongside the characters, who are wholly unprepared for the life ahead of them after leaving college and family behind as they begin their adult lives. Their trials and discoveries, along with their ups and downs are remarkably moving and at times it seemed like Eugenides took a page or two from your own mind- he touches the intangible in parts of this book, with descriptions and passages that I had no choice but to highlight and mark up. It's description of University life is captivating, and it's dive into the intricate and terrible web of a man's depression will leave you breathless. I can see why it's more of a critical darling than beloved by fans, but I'd highly recommend it just to experience a stunning modern love story that will affect you in ways you'd be shocked that a book could.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Would highly recommend

    Ive read some of the other reviews and the negative ones have one thing in commom...negative feelings about the characters. If that is the case, then the author did his job. Yes they were whiny and self-centered but weren't we all at that age? I thought the book was well written and funny. I learned about love, faith, marriage, and writing in 3 days. I couldnt put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Wow this was an awesome book. I didn't expect it to be so good, but it really was. Great story, a lot of emotional dialogue. The Chateau by C D Swanson- another awesome book -couldn't put it down. Surprised me how friggin good it was. Page turner for sure, and surprised throughout.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    ,

    ,

    1 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Lots of food for thought

    I had to work at reading this book but it was worth it. Intellectually stimulating with some deeper notes. I plan to read it again. The characters were not believable nor likeable but i was engaged with the themes and the non-conventional story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    This is the best book I have read in over a year. Very clear and

    This is the best book I have read in over a year. Very clear and compelling characters. The novel is easy to read while being incredibly well-balanced; a difficult balance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Awesome book

    Read this book in couple of days. Just a great read. If you liked middlesex you will love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Couldn't put this one down. Excellent read from start to finis

    Couldn't put this one down. Excellent read from start to finish. I had
    read some so-so reviews when this book was published and hesitated to
    read it because I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as Middlesex. Now
    that I've finished it ( in less than a week ) I have to say I honestly
    enjoyed it more than Middlesex. Found the characters more compelling and
    the story more engrossing. Really surprised that this book gets any bad
    reviews at all. I so disagree with the poster who states that the
    characters do not mature by book's end. I would put this one right up
    there with novels by Jonathan Franzen , Michael Chabon and Jonathon
    Safran Foer. Thought provoking and extremely well written novel.These
    are characters you really get to know and miss when the book ends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Lovely for the well read, particularly perfect for recent grads

    Lovely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Carly the butt shaped magget

    Its weird. Trust me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Exceptional writing with compelling characters. Eugenides captu

    Exceptional writing with compelling characters. Eugenides captures with reality the angst and ennui of young people trying to find themselves. His writing is masterful and the way he develops his characters is a work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Loved it.

    Love

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    How many novels?

    Those who have read at least 10 novels will like this one. Those who have read 100 or more will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Beautifully written

    As other reviewers have mentioned, there were times when I wanted to give up on these privileged and self absorbed characters. But the language in the book is so beautiful I had to keep reading. Then I would find a reason to like them again. I thought the ending was perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    excellent!

    i loved this! i would say that the first 150 pages were fantastic and then the story becomes more predictable and less interesting, but the beginning was so well-written and woven together. Anyone who went to Brown would also be very amused by this book as the characters all graduated in the 80s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Fantastic

    This is just wonderful

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4