Customer Reviews for

Married But Still Looking: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    i love this book

    i loved this book it was amazing!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Be careful men!!!

    Some men dont realize wat they have til its gone. Wat u do in da dark always come to da light.....REAL TALK!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    HOT

    I finished this book in 2 days. This book was interesting from the beginning to the very end. It was easy to relate to and Genesis was a hot mess, with that sex addiction. It makes you realize that the saying is true, you dont miss your water until your well runs dry !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read this book millions of times and never do i get bored 

    I've read this book millions of times
    and never do i get bored 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly Reccommended- good read!!!!

    The book has lots of drama and keeps the reader entertained from beginning to end

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Exciting! Sue Q. Fulton SHAKE IT OFF- Author

    I enjoyed this book. It had a soap opera flow and a twist at the end. The dialogue was great! The characters had typical issues. There were many viewpoints, but the author handled them well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    Sucked!

    This is a very sorry example of how a woman (Tracie) should behave in a long term monogamous relationship. Do not buy this book if you are a smart woman with common sense and a no nonsense attitude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT!!!

    This was truly a wonderful book! It really gave an insight into how and why men cheat. This is definitely on of my favorite books. I could predict the outcome but it was still a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Absolutely Wonderful

    This is a wonderful read. It was refreshing to see Prodigy's growth from The Hearts of Men. It's amazing how our childhood makes such a dramatic impact on our lives as in the case of Grace, Grover, Genesis and Phyllis. Their father really did a number on them. I felt bad for Terri. We as women say that we will not take a lot of things from our significant others, but once you're in a particular situation, circumstances will change your outlook on a lot of things. I don't think I could have forgiven him for the prostitute incident, that was a bit much. The book was wonderful. Travis did a book discussion and signing on Saturday, March 22, 2003 for Sistah's Unlimited Book Club and Between The Covers Book Club and he was simply charming, he woed the women and was so down to earth. He is very easy to talk to. Please support all his efforts, he is very gracious and a wonderful asset to our race.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Outstanding

    An excellent writer. One of the best books I've read this past year. He has a great visual style of writing, which is a cross between Eric Jerome Dickey and E. Lynn Harris. I would definitely recommend this book to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    SUPERB

    This book was an excellent read. I really enjoyed the journey that the Styles family; especially Gensis,took in the pages of Married but Still Looking. It was good to see a true to life portrayal of a typical African American family. I loved the historical tidbits that Travis Hunter used to really explain the past drama behind the characters. Excellent.... The Page Turners of Decatur, Ga really loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    "The ending is off the chain"

    From the first line of this book I was hooked. Travis Hunter did an excellent job developing his characters. I loved the ending it teaches you that you don't get as many chances as you think you should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    Very good book !!!!!!

    This my was introduction to Mr. Hunter and I must say he is very talented. I am looking forward to reading his earlier book and any up coming efforts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    A Bitter Pill

    Genesis Styles, a good looking former ball player on his way to the altar to marry his fiance Terri is your prototypical dog. As much as Terri loves Genesis and wants to marry him she remains suspicious of his fidelity. Why can't Genesis be faithful? Was he born that way? As the reader meets the rest of Genesis family one gains a greater perspective on who Genesis really is. His family includes Phyllis the achiever who wouldn't dream of helping a black man, let alone marry one is now experiencing the bitter the end of her marriage to her white husband. Grace the peacemaker is attempting to draw her family closer together while pushing any worth male suitor away and finally there's Grover, the crackhead who's more interested in chasing his next high than he is feeding his only son. Genesis and his family are troubled to say the least but he has some influential grounding forces in his life from his best friend Prodigy and from friend/mentor, Dr. Ben. Ground as they try, Genesis is hell bent to be the dog that he is. Drastic events that touch the family and his relationship with Terry serve as a wake up call to the entire Styles family and enables them each to begin to heal the wounds of the past and grow toward the future. Though Genesis is the focal point of Married But Still Looking the story really centers around the role of the family in the making of a man. The story's ending is appropriate because it provides closure for members of the family. I would have liked to have seen more development of Genesis' family, particularly the mother Virginia and Grace but that would probably be a different book. Just as well Hunter delivers what a guy the reader will love to hate who finally grows up after swallowing a bitter pill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2002

    Couldn't put it down

    I was fortunate to stumble upon Mr. Hunters first book 'The Hearts of Men' and I so looked foward to another book written by this author. When 'Married But Still Looking' was released I was at the Barnes and Noble store immediately. This book kept my attention to the last sentence. The book drew me in and made me a part of Genesis' life. I read this book in two days and I am hoping that Mr. Hunters next book will continue with the lifes lesson that Genesis needs to learn. I wish this young black author great success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    A GREAT BOOK

    I READ HIS OTHER BOOK AND KKNEW THAT I MUST READ THIS ONE AND ANYTHING ELSE THAT HE WRITES HE IS VERY TALENTED AND I WISH HE WOULD HAVE STARTED WRITING A LONG TIME AGO HE IS SO WONDERFUL. THE LAST 10MOR SO BOOKS I HAVE BOUGHT HAVE BEEN WRITTEN BY BLACK MALES THEY ARE TAKING OVER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    Excellent

    I just got finished reading this book and it is worth every penny. I finshed the book in one day and it had me laughing, crying, and screaming in shock...buy the book it is excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Great Book

    I found myself not wanting to put it down, a great read. Well deserving of the five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Hunter has done it again!

    I have been waiting on a second novel by this talented young author, and once again I was not disappointed. Travis Hunter's writing style is comparable to E. Lynn Harris and Terry McMillan - where has he been hiding?! Married but Still Looking should be a required reading in pre-marital counseling as it truly dives into what a lot of men experience (and women) before they make a life-long commitment. The divorce rate might be lower if engaged couples read this book. Everyone, single and married, should read and learn from this poignant, insightful book. Hunter touches on morality, relationships, and friendships and most importantly love. Mr. Hunter I am awaiting book #3!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1