Customer Reviews for

Married Lovers

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick read

Enjoyed the book,...

posted by Bumblebee1955 on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Boring!

Don't bother. I have read many of Jackie's books throughout the years. This one is a real snoozer. Lacks lots of passion that her previous books were well known for. The charchter's were blah. It is not worth it....

posted by BellaNY on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Quick read

    Enjoyed the book,...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Enjoyable

    This is a perfect book for summertime reading. However it does not reach the level of the Lucky Santangelo books. Those books are Jackie Collins' best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    Boring!

    Don't bother. I have read many of Jackie's books throughout the years. This one is a real snoozer. Lacks lots of passion that her previous books were well known for. The charchter's were blah. It is not worth it....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Excellent read

    This is classic Jackie Collins . I love the way she intertwined characters throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Entertaining Book

    I just started reading it and so far it's entertaining just like her Luck Santangelo Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    It wasn't what I thought it was

    It wasn't what I thought it was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    A+ in my opinion - a must buy for the romance fanatic

    Awesome characters, wonderful sex scenes, and beautiful women throughout the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Good story line but the verbiage wasnt that great

    This book was good but the swearing throughout it was unbelieveable. There was also a lot of yelling between the characters. I thought it to be a little too raunchy with how she described everything - not like secksual scenes but I mean saying things like "hes about as helpful as the boil on his d*ck"...I mean that kind of stuff is just a little too overboard and is not lady-like at all. In better terms, in the 60s a book like this wouldnt have been able to be published. I'm a 25 year old, I'm not some young teen that hears and bad word and yells, "my virgin ears". I just think it's a little too overboard to have this style of writing that isnt graceful and flowing. This is my first Jackie Collins book and may be my last - it's a little too inappropriate for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    very good.

    this book was super cute. slow at first but it gets way better as you get to know characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Excellent!

    Jackie does not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Run Away

    I got this book because of Ms. Collins's interview with Craig Ferguson. And, because I needed something to take my mind off a friend having a bad accident on her bicycle. I couldn't concentrate on my school books or my homework, and I could just fall into this. It was mostly interesting, Ms. Collins's has a very strong omniscient narrator voice. My biggest surprise was that even in 2009 it was a huge example of what your teacher means when she/he says "Show don't tell" because as much as was going on, it was rarely filmic and just very talky -- telling not showing! It was my first Jackie Collins book, and it was a fun experience in many ways -- her characters are varied and lively, but I kept feeling let down when subplots would work their way to a resolution and it would be not shown the way I wished. I think Ms. Collins is a charming woman and I wish her books were bumped up ever so slightly to as good as they should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    Good read

    I am not an avid reader and not much into the romantic novel, but occasionally I like to read and picked this one up on sale. It had a good plot and built a good foundation for the story. Since reading this book I will probably look for more Jackie Collins books in the future. She writes in a way that makes reading fast and captivating. Not too heavy but plenty of turns and character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What went wrong Jackie

    Married Lovers is a real disappointment. Not only was the plot paper thin, you could see every twist and turn chapters before the author played them out, but the characters lacked the depth and vibrancy that I have come to associate with Jackie Collins books. With the exception of a single character, and even that one pushed the boundaries, there was not a single person I cared for throughout the course of the book, I will continue to read Ms. Collins' work as I have long been a fan, but I suggest you save your hard earned dough and rent this from the library (that's where my copy is going to be donated), or borrow it from a friend who was unfortunate enough to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    MARRIED LOVERS

    Jackie returns with another instant classic! MARRIED LOVERS is vintage Collins, a rollercoaster ride of bed-hopping, back-stabbing, Hollywood bitches and bastards. There's a mid-novel twist that will have you reeling, plus a dark rags to riches subplot involving a young Russian beauty that is the stuff of brilliant potboilers. Sinful summer reading. It's chocolate cake for the beach. She is the Queen of Sexy Fiction, but Barnes is not quite under her rule. Get the book and read about married lovers. Fanatastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Jackie Collins does it again......

    Jackie Collins never ceases to amaze me with her writing. This book is wonderful.. I read it in one day... The Anya storyline threw me for a loop at first but in the end it played out beautifully!!! Wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Been There, Done That

    I have read all of Jackie Collins' books. The plots are always the same perversion, cheating, betrayal, and a psycho lover who comes in at the end to screw things up. The players may change but the plot is fixed. It's getting old, Jackie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Disappointed

    I usually enjoy Jackie Collin's books, but not this one, the character Anya is depressing and the last 10 pages are the best, the rest is pretty boring. I am sorry I did not wait for the paper back edition, instead of paying $25.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Very Intruiging

    I do agree, I suppose, that tieing the stories together and ending them in the last few pages was a little disappointing. I wanted the book to go on. As for boring-the book was everything but. I also couldn't put the book down. The details brought every emotion out in me: anger, embarassment, sexy, sad, giddy, etc. I thought the plot was fantastic...how Anya was tied into everyone's lives..and everyone was connected somehow. I think the ending could have lasted a few chapters longer, but overall the book was FABULOUS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Married Lovers Delivers!

    This book was spledid. It was a refreshing summer read. It had humor, plot twists and naughty behavior. What more could you ask from a great summer novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    Awesome

    I thought this was a great book. I wasn't able to put it down. I have an eleven month old and I still made time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4