Customer Reviews for

Married with Zombies (Living with the Dead Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    This book is hilarious! I actually laughed out loud within the first few chapters. The plot is obviously surviving a zombie apocalypse. The subplot is how the zombie apocalypse saved a marriage. Or reverse that. The two are so intertwined. The chapters begin with marital advise. I love the witty remarks, the competition to see who kills more zombies, the silly bickering... whatever it takes to keep your sanity. I would have loved to own these in hardback.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    Have you every picked up a book and with in the first few pages you just knew this book was written with you in mind? This book is it. From the first zombie kill I was hooked. FANTASTIC!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Fast paced and funny

    This was a funny book to read with very descriptive scenes. Ms. Petersen is very witty in her snappy dialogue.....I especially loved that it takes place just up the road in Seattle.
    Ms. Petersen's other two books in the Living With The Dead Series are just as funny and fast paced. I also recommend them as well!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hey wheres the love?

    This book is so damn funny and I am loving the whole idea of the husbandand wife zombie killing duo, so down to earth though they slaughter zombies together as if .its an everyday thing. I appreciate the freshnsess and creativity this author brings to the zombie genre and i think these books deserve a little.more.attention, one of the first books i bought on my nook and i enjoyed it ,and i know many others would enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    read this with that special someone and you both will be laughing!

    I picked this funny tome up after reading the synopsis and reviews. I started reading and was laughing by the third page! Soon after my boyfriend started to inquire and it wasn't too long before we just started reading it together. We both love it! You need this laugh out loud, violently gory and twistedly funny tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Five stars....

    If you enjoy zomcoms you'll definitely dig this series. People really should buy the books by Jesse Petersen. She's an incredibly talented author who should absolutely be a bigger name in the zombie genre than she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Awsome!

    Its a great book if you like fiction, zombies, romance?, and action! I love this series.buy t.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Good Morning Folks and it's a wonderful summer day! I am h

    "Good Morning Folks and it's a wonderful summer day! I am here on the outskirts of Seattle on the
    most beloved day ever. The sun is shining, people are walking around enjoying the breeze,
    eating their wonderbread sandwichs...and the waitresses arm!!! My God what is that slime?!
    What is he doing? Why is he looking at me like that? Folks this coming to you live in Seattle with a
    horrible news...people are eatin...."

    Sarah and David are married. They live in a unsatisfied marriage and are seeking help.
    Little do they realize that their next appointment might be their last!!!!!

    Don't worry they don't die....or do they?

    Zombie appocolypse has stopped their marriage cousel (wish that could happen to me
     sometimes when I'm late going into work), and pretty much through the two love birds into
    each others arms...quite literally, running for their lives! They have a choice: Pick up a gun and
    blow them brains out, or get eaten and spend the rest of their time as a Zombie. Look at it this way,
    if they become Zombies then he won't have to hear all the nagging from his wife anymore!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Okay, technically, Married with Zombies is not a young adult boo

    Okay, technically, Married with Zombies is not a young adult book. In no way, shape or form is it directed towards teens. It's a quick, humorous read designed for adults.

    Of course, saying that something is designed for adults has never stopped me from reading or reviewing it before, especially something that actually made me laugh out loud.

    I don't really like zombies; I never have. Out of all the paranormal things to read or watch, they were the one thing I never really got into. I mean, sure, I liked Zombieland, but that's the only thing that I can remember genuinely liking involving zombies.

    Maybe it was the humor. I mean, I know that's why I liked Married with Zombies. The characters were realistic but hilarious; they had me laughing out loud, even at the more somber moments - one sarcastic comment and I was giggling again. It takes a lot for any book to make me do that, and a zombie book especially, I think.

    Also, the tag line - "The couple who slays together stays together" - was enough to make me love the book. It's so perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    ABSOLUTLY AMAZING!!!

    The best book I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Great Read.

    Fun, quick read. The auidence is very diverse so this is something my husband enjoyed also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Love!

    I so enjoyed this book! I didn't think I would at first, and piicked it up only because I found it for free and thought, "Why not?" But I quickly fell in love with the characters and plotline, moving through the pages wwith wreckless abandon.

    Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Couldn't put this book down!

    This book was a complete riot. I am more a fan of the vampire genre than zombies, but I could not put this book down. Sarah and David appear to be your normal everyday average married couple struggling to keep their marriage alive with divorce looming on the horizon. As with a lot of couples working on their relationship, they are in counseling. The book begins with Sarah and David on their way to a counseling appointment and arguing. From there, the book ceases to be normal on any level and instead takes the reader into an all-out zombie infestation…starting with their annoying, prissy therapist.

    Sarah and David have to keep their wits together and learn how to fight the zombies instead of each other if they have any hope of staying alive. One of the things I loved best about this story is that no matter how unrealistic the chances of a zombie apocalypse happening are, the author does a fantastic job of portraying Sarah and David as very realistic. Do they fall into each other’s arms, profess their undying love and apologies for hurting each other at the end of the book? No way…but they do realize what is important and it’s the promise of tomorrow and working together today to get there.

    Sadly, a lot of people in the book die, mostly zombies and interestingly, taking out zombies seem to come quite naturally to Sarah and David. They quickly realize that in order to survive, they need to get out of Seattle where they are living and find David’s sister and eventually Sarah’s father. Along the way, they meet some interesting and strange characters and I laughed myself silly at the image of 90+ year old female zombies sitting at slot machines in one casino they stop at.

    This is the first book in the author’s Living with the Dead series and is followed by Flip This Zombie. I am not sure if I will like the rest of the series as much as I love this book, but I’m hoping so and looking forward to what Sarah and David face next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Must read for zombie fans!!

    I loved this book! A really good zombie read. I fell in love with the characters. It had plenty of laughs and just the right amount of gore. I could not wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Zombie Killing has never been this fun!

    I liked the title so I bought it, I just finished it! I was not expecting this book grab me by the throat & not let go! Just the right amount of... well everything! Going to download the next book right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really enjoyed this zombie novel

    It started off with action and my kind of demented humor. I recommed this book to any one who loves zombie fiction and is married. At certain points of the book I laughted and sadly agreed with decisions & comments made by the characters. A must read. I just finished this book and I am about to download the second one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Super

    This book was worth every penny. You can really relate to the two main charcter in it. It has its funny moments threw out the book. A zombie must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Loved it!

    Easy fun read. Kept me laughing out loud. Will be picking up book two right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny keep you on the edge

    Only zombies can bring a marriage back together. Anyone who like a zombie book should read this the witty humor in a time of a zombie attack makes you smile and keep on reading. Jesse Petersen really knows how to keep her readers interested. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Who knew zombies could be so much fun!

    Looking to dive into a zombie adventure, I stumbled upon this fun read. Even when faced with brain hugry zombies there is still time for some laugh out loud moments. Looking forward to the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5