Customer Reviews for

Marrying Daisy Bellamy (Lakeshore Chronicles Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An Epic Romance- A must read- A Keeper

Daisy Bellamy has struggled to get where she is today, a coveted photographer, okay it's a wedding photographer and not the free lance artist she's dreamed about, but it's a start. She hasn't always had an easy life even though her family synonymous with and an icon in ...
Daisy Bellamy has struggled to get where she is today, a coveted photographer, okay it's a wedding photographer and not the free lance artist she's dreamed about, but it's a start. She hasn't always had an easy life even though her family synonymous with and an icon in Avalon NY. She's made many mistakes getting to this point and however reckless she and Logan O'Donnell were in the conception of their son they've made up for it by being great parents and staying fast friends. Logan wants more but Daisy's unsure and one of the reasons is sexy Julian Gastineaux, see she's been in love with Julian since that first summer they met, at Willow Lake, the summer before everything changed, the summer before her wild weekend with Logan and the conception of Charlie. She thought over time that those feelings would diminish but she was wrong because Julian is still the erotic star of her dreams both nighttime and daytime. But Daisy knows or should that dreams don't necessarily come true and that happiness is what you make of it. Will she and Julian find happiness, will she find it with Logan, will she find it at all. Believe me the journey will be worth it to find out.
In this episode of The Lakeshore Chronicles Susan Wiggs gives us the plot that all military families can relate to and at the same time be appreciated by the general population as well. She explores emotions that are not always pleasant and she makes her characters look at themselves honestly in their mirrors, while she takes her reading audience through the proverbial wringer. She gives us flowing dialogue that we can actually visualize in our minds eye. Her characters are all from her beloved series, some we've known from the beginning and some are just making our acquaintances but all are impeccably portrayed and important to this story. Her hero and heroine are the ships that pass in the night and unrequited love kind. The ones that you heart cries for but you're never sure what peril will befall them next. And yet they are strong minded people who you could easily see as an acquaintance or friend. Her heroine is an outstanding example of female fortitude and moxie mixed with the angst young people feel especially when it comes to the opposite sex. Her romance is heartbreaking, heart wrenching, sad and happy, full of longing and promise. Her love scenes are hot and sensual without being over descriptive or crude.
If this is your first trip to picturesque Avalon NY, you've certainly chosen a good time to visit because Ms. Wiggs has outdone herself in this epic love story and I assure you that in the annals of romance this will be at the top of the all time best. If you are a fan and loyal reader of The Lakeshore Chronicles you will be happy to see all your old friends to catch up with as well as the featured story. This novel has every bell and whistle a romance fan could want, but if you want to know who marries Daisy Bellamy, well then you'll just have to read it for yourself. This would make an excellent stand-a-lone novel, but after you've read it I'm sure you'll want to go back to the beginning and see where it all began and keep on reading until you're a rabid fan just like the rest of us. When in the far distant future archeologists want to describe the great American Romance, Marrying Daisy Bellamy will be on display. Thank you Susan Wiggs for this first must read of 2011.

posted by dhaupt on December 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointed

Finally, the long anticipated story of Daisy Bellamy. I have to say I was a little disappointed. I am a huge fan of Susan Wiggs and this series. I really enjoyed seeing Daisy's character grow throughout the series.I feel like I have waited forever for the conclusion ...
Finally, the long anticipated story of Daisy Bellamy. I have to say I was a little disappointed. I am a huge fan of Susan Wiggs and this series. I really enjoyed seeing Daisy's character grow throughout the series.I feel like I have waited forever for the conclusion of Daisy's story and I'm sorry to say that I just didn't care for it as much as the others.

posted by aw36 on February 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Epic Romance- A must read- A Keeper

    Daisy Bellamy has struggled to get where she is today, a coveted photographer, okay it's a wedding photographer and not the free lance artist she's dreamed about, but it's a start. She hasn't always had an easy life even though her family synonymous with and an icon in Avalon NY. She's made many mistakes getting to this point and however reckless she and Logan O'Donnell were in the conception of their son they've made up for it by being great parents and staying fast friends. Logan wants more but Daisy's unsure and one of the reasons is sexy Julian Gastineaux, see she's been in love with Julian since that first summer they met, at Willow Lake, the summer before everything changed, the summer before her wild weekend with Logan and the conception of Charlie. She thought over time that those feelings would diminish but she was wrong because Julian is still the erotic star of her dreams both nighttime and daytime. But Daisy knows or should that dreams don't necessarily come true and that happiness is what you make of it. Will she and Julian find happiness, will she find it with Logan, will she find it at all. Believe me the journey will be worth it to find out.
    In this episode of The Lakeshore Chronicles Susan Wiggs gives us the plot that all military families can relate to and at the same time be appreciated by the general population as well. She explores emotions that are not always pleasant and she makes her characters look at themselves honestly in their mirrors, while she takes her reading audience through the proverbial wringer. She gives us flowing dialogue that we can actually visualize in our minds eye. Her characters are all from her beloved series, some we've known from the beginning and some are just making our acquaintances but all are impeccably portrayed and important to this story. Her hero and heroine are the ships that pass in the night and unrequited love kind. The ones that you heart cries for but you're never sure what peril will befall them next. And yet they are strong minded people who you could easily see as an acquaintance or friend. Her heroine is an outstanding example of female fortitude and moxie mixed with the angst young people feel especially when it comes to the opposite sex. Her romance is heartbreaking, heart wrenching, sad and happy, full of longing and promise. Her love scenes are hot and sensual without being over descriptive or crude.
    If this is your first trip to picturesque Avalon NY, you've certainly chosen a good time to visit because Ms. Wiggs has outdone herself in this epic love story and I assure you that in the annals of romance this will be at the top of the all time best. If you are a fan and loyal reader of The Lakeshore Chronicles you will be happy to see all your old friends to catch up with as well as the featured story. This novel has every bell and whistle a romance fan could want, but if you want to know who marries Daisy Bellamy, well then you'll just have to read it for yourself. This would make an excellent stand-a-lone novel, but after you've read it I'm sure you'll want to go back to the beginning and see where it all began and keep on reading until you're a rabid fan just like the rest of us. When in the far distant future archeologists want to describe the great American Romance, Marrying Daisy Bellamy will be on display. Thank you Susan Wiggs for this first must read of 2011.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    The very best, ever!

    This is my favorite book of all time. I read it in one session without breaks. Read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    profound character study

    In Avalon, New York, wedding photographer Daisy Bellamy continues, as she has for years, strugglling to choose between two wonderful men who love her. She adores both hunks. Julian Gastineau could never live by Willow Lake while Logan O'Donnell could.

    However, everything changes between the trio when Daisy gives birth to Logan's offspring Charlie. Yet nothing changes as in spite of having a child with a man who wants to raise a family with her, Daisy still has wet dreams involving Julian. She knows one day she will have to select between two lovers; one safe and nurturing while the other is wild and carefree.

    The latest Lakeshore Chronicles (see Snowfall at Willow Lake and Summer at Willow Lake) is a profound character study that looks deeply into the souls of three protagonists. Daisy understands responsibility but desires running around the world as a crisis photojournalist. Julian offers her the freedom to soar anywhere; Logan offers her a safe haven to raise their child. Readers will enjoy this complicated relationship drama summed up by the Roy Orbison and Joe Melson song Running Scared.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Merbbbb

    Nmuch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Omg cerbit

    Wassap

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Filled with emotion

    I really enjoyed this book! I have always been a BIG Daisy fan. And this story had me emotionally from happy to sad to elated! I'm so glad the author wrote the Daisy story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Another enjoyable story from Lakeshore

    I so enjoy Susan Wiggs Lakeshore Chronicles. Her characters become friends who welcome me into their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Hooray for Daisy!

    Finally Daisy and Julian get it togetber. A lovethat never dies but keeps growing through all the troubles and heartaches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    It isn't often that I have tears of sadness and joy while readin

    It isn't often that I have tears of sadness and joy while reading the same book, but this did it! Marrying Daisy Bellamy was the best book of the Lakeshore Chronicles as far as I am concerned. I had several opportunities to read this book out of sequence, but thankfully I didn't. Knowing the history of the characters and their families added so much depth and appreciation to Daisy, Julian and Logan's story. Through her writing Susan Wiggs demonstrates a profound understanding of human nature and drives. I always find myself wanting more when I finish one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Wonderful

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Be prepared to fall in love and experience adventure, heartache, and happiness!

    I have loved this entire series from Susan Wiggs and this book is no exception! I fell in love with the characters and sunk deep into their lives. Their love, heartache, adventures, and happiness. Be prepared for everything and then some with this book. You will walk away smiling and feel like YOU yourself learned some life lessons as well. My heart is full after finishing this book - what a feeling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    GREAT BOOK

    I LOVED THIS BOOK, #8 OF THE LAKESHORE CHRONICLES. I HAVE READ THE ENTIRE SERIES AND HAVE ENJOYED THEM ALL. YOU GET TO KNOW ALL THE PEOPLE IN A SMALL TOWN AND FOLLOW THEIR LIVES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Daisy finally wins the lottery in love!

    I loved this book too. Daisy has gone from a pouty brat who needs the snot knocked out of her to an amazing mom & woman. She took the lemon life gave her & made lemonade.

    Everyone meets a love but her. However, finally Daisy gets her fondest desire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Feb 21 2011

    I love this book! Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    wonderful

    I am amazed that some of the reviews fault Daisy's divorce from Logan... Logan while initially seeming a perfect father (he was OK) and in love with Daisy he proved to be selfish and in love with Daisy's life (his admission) and not Daisy... He was never nurturing as far as her career went and it was ultimately he, not she, that asked for the divorce... He was both an alcoholic and a drug abuser... Come on Ladies, lets see things clearly. And, unless I fail to read between the lines correctly he may well have been having an affair with the woman he ended up with immediately after the divorce... Too many text messages (shades of Tiger Woods) and he had rejected Daisy sexually... I have read the book three times so far - just so I didn't miss anything - and the story seemed pretty clear and real to me... Hope I have peaked some readers to buy this wonderful book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    judy1942

    Liked this book very much, it was long but good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    what a beautiful love story !!!

    Loved loved loved this book!!!! what a great love story between a woman and 2 very different men that love her!!! and the choices she has to make!! you will love this book the second you start reading it..... Happy reading!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    qood read

    Really enjoyed this long awaited ending to a storybook romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Amazing.

    I've been waiting for this book since I read the first book in The Lakeshore Chronicles, and it was so worth the wait! Didn't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Deeply satisfying!

    Possibly the best book I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6