Customer Reviews for

Marrying Miss Marshal

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Wonderful story!

    I loved this book and highly recommend it to everyone who loves historical fiction. The book was so well written and told such a great story that I couldn't put it down and I didn't want it to end. There was a good balance between story and action. I enjoyed the backstories about Danna and Chas, because they really filled out the characters and made their struggles more personal. The whole concept of a woman marshal was so unique and Danna was a great character that I really admired. I also don't believe I ever read a story where the main character couldn't read, but when you think about the time period, it was probably more common than historical fiction would lead you to believe. Lacy, please tell me that you have another book in the works. I can't wait to read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    A Sweet Romance, Wrapped in Adventure

    What happens when you cross a town marshal with a private investigator? Mystery, adventure, intrigue, and foul play--as you might have imagined. But when the town marshal is a woman, things get a lot more interesting. . .

    Following her husband's suspicious death, Danna Carpenter is appointed town marshal. The problem? No man in town thinks she's capable of doing the job, nor is any man willing to work as her deputy--until Chas O'Grady wanders into town. Chas is a city slicker struggling with his past and unfamiliar with the ruggedness of the west. When Chas sees Danna's need for a deputy, he takes the job . . . and ends up acquiring much more than he bargained for.

    As Danna and Chas work to solve the problem surrounding the town's missing cattle, the two confront not only their pasts, but the evil conspiracy destroying the income of the local ranchers and surrounding Danna's late husband's death.

    This debut novel by Lacy Williams is a sweet romance wrapped around a mysterious conspiracy. Readers won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    western fun

    This is Lacy's debut novel. I really enjoyed this story. Danna is a sheriff and is also a women, Chas is a detective who thinks his job is to save Danna. What I love about the story is that it is different. Danna fell into the job of sheriff after the death of her husband the previous sheriff but she is good at her job she isn't a girly girl. She enjoys her job but the some of the towns people are not so sure. Chas is a city boy but also has demons he is dealing with which makes him want to protect Danna even if she doesn't need it. I love how Lacy writes both points of view so you can see why Chas thinks like he does. Add a large dog that tends to cause alot of trouble with some of the locals, seems it has a thing for digging up rose bushes much to the owners annoyance. The book deals with subjects such as fear from past incidents, insecurities and misunderstandings. This was a wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Great Western Romance

    This is a wonderful first novel by Lacy Williams. She has a flow to her writing that keeps the reader involved in the story. I loved Danna. She is a strong and independent woman who shows no fear when it comes to the job she is commited to doing. But she hides away the softer side of herself and the fears that lie within her heart. Chas is a man who holds himself responsible for something beyond his control and carries that with him along with the hatred towards the one who really is responsible. Can he allow the Lord to be the judge and jury or will he take justice into his own hands? Will Danna find her true worth hidden behind a "mans" job and clothing? You will have to read Marrying Miss Marshal to find out. I look forward to more books by this wonderful writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2015

    Cute read.

    There is excitement and drama to keep you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Is this a sequel 2 heart of gold

    Is it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Marrying Miss Marshall

    A Great example of historical fiction!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fragile as porcelain, tough as nails.

    Danna Carpenter doesn't understand why the town council of Calvin, Wyoming, elected her Marshal after her lawman husband died. They show her no respect and don't support her efforts to catch a gang of rustlers. To make matters worse, city-boy Chas O'Grady arrives in Calvin and Danna has her hands full keeping him from getting hurt in his attempt to hunt down a murderer. Just when she's getting used to O'Grady being her deputy, their relationship becomes more complicated and much more personal.

    Marrying Miss Marshal is chockfull of excitement. From the opening scene of a life-threatening stampede to the last outlaw apprehended Lacy brings the action. And just when you think it's safe to relax, she introduces complications between the Marshal and her Deputy like a forced marriage of convenience and a mysterious journal from someone in Miss Marshal's past.

    Lacy has gifted us with two intriguing protagonists and a lively town full of interesting characters. I hope to spend more time in Calvin, Wyoming, soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Wish I could give this more than 5 stars

    Marrying Miss Marshal is such a delight. I loved it. Fast-paced but one of the sweetest love stories I've ever read. Which is surprising when the heroine is a tall, strong, willowy girl who is tough enough to stomp out a bar brawl, ride straight into a cattle stampede to save the male hero, and then go after cattle rustlers and murderers.
    Author Lacy Williams is brilliant in the way she fills out the characters, Danna Carpenter and Chas O'Grady, the tenderfoot detective that comes into town. Nothing stereotypical about these characters, but fully complex human beings with all the longings of any man and woman.
    It's not just that Danna wants to fill the shoes of her late husband, the Marshall, she wants all that entails the life of a woman-love, children, learning how to be feminine.
    This debut author is one that has a great career before her. Her writing is wonderful, a voice that is soft at times, but packs such an emotional punch.
    I wish I could give this book more than 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1