BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Marrying Mozart

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    Mozart personfied....romantic, not romanticized!

    This is a brilliant novel! Romanticism of the 19th Century perpetuated myths surrounding Mozart's genius along with an extreme laudatory tone that deemed him a distant, God-like entity. Just as 20th Century scholarship addressed fallacies pertaining to Mozart's education, compositional methods and so forth, Stephanie has opened the door to Mozart's personal life for us, so that we may take a glimpse! We are transported to 1777, beyond musical notation into the insights of a young man who is witty, charming, flawed and sometimes without valor. As a coloratura soprano and dedicated Mozartian with substantial research to her credit, Stephanie gives us an historically informed fiction which fills in the blank pages from Mozart's earliest associations with the Weber family to his quest for marital bliss within its confines. Stephanie's narrative often focuses on the relationship between the Weber sisters, which reminds me so much of 'Little Women.' Struggles and hardship co-exist with moments of felicity. The story is romantic, but not romanticized. In a word, it is scrumptious! Tears, laughter, frustration...it is an emotional investment worth every page. Her knowledge as both historian and vocalist make this novel a very special adventure for all who indulge. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    A Wonderful, Fascinating Read

    I found this book to be a great read! It takes you back to the late 1700s and into the lives of four sisters and their relationships with Mozart. The language is very convincing and it was easy to relate to the emotions the characters were feeling. Description is beautiful and the storyline is engrossing. Cowell mentions that she altered some of the storyline to better suit the fictionalized portions, but she weaves everything together beautifully. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    I loved it!

    I began reading this book in January, but stopped in February due to the death of my finace who loved Mozart as much as I do. I was 90% done with the book. This past week, I picked it up again and decided to finish it. I must say that the romance that was depicted in this book between Mozart & Stanzi reminded me a lot of my relationship with my finace. It was a wonderful read! I'd read it again if I have to!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    uno de los mejores libros que he leido

    la novela me encanto.una vez que comienzas a leerlo no puedes parar. me gusto mucho, ya que habla no solo de mozart, sino esta muy enfocado a las hermanas weber, que fueron muy importantes en la vida del compositor!, lo recomiendo mucho!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Highly Recommended

    A truly beautiful story for lovers of art, music, historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    A new found love for Mozart's music with heart and soul.

    The book brings to life the era of art and music during 18th century Europe. It gives a better understanding of the man behind the music vs. the flighty, feminine portrayal in the movie Amadeus. It was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    This is a great book

    This book keeps you entertained from the very beginning. Your heart goes out to this family and you will fall in love with the wonderful father of these girls. I learned a lot about Mozart and that time period. This is very easy reading considering the time period. Cozy up by the fire and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    As Enwrapping as His Music

    As moving and emotional as Mozart's own operas are, so is this book. Magically, one can feel himself transported to another time when he reads 'Marrying Mozart'. Cowell brings the reader to a place where pleasure was business, and where music and art were the chief forms of entertainment. Although the 'sensuality' of the characters could be a little intense, all in all,it was an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Extremely disappointing

    I thought this book would be really great at first, but it was terrible. I honestly felt angry and frustrated when I finished it because it had such potential. Mozart is an intriguing character and 18th century Europe could have provided a delightful setting, but the whole book was flat and hard to believe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    NOT ONLY FOR MOZART FANS

    Good entertaining read. The author manages to bring to life a very colorful group of sisters and their world. It is all told very vividly. I could easily picture the Weber family in their humble abode, having their Thursdays get-togethers. This is a fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Over-rated

    If Mozart's name would not appear in the title, people would not be reading or rating this book as they are. The Plot is simple, based on historical research anyone can Google or Wikipedia it, what about the Weber sisters' 2 brothers? prose and plot are average. Yes it is easy and fast reading but also flat. Lots of advertising. there are 20,413 books more popular than this one, do not waste your time with tis book if you are looking for novels that can challenge your criteria.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    Delightful

    Awesome book. Every character and every setting is realistically portrayed. You won't want to put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    The Love of A Good Woman

    Mozart was a genius -- no denying -- but he was also a man in search of the love of a good woman. He has ample pickings in the Weber family where four sisters present four kinds of responses to him. Intermingled with his joyful composing there is bitterness, betrayal, and second chances. Cowell writes this all with the heart of someone who knows his music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    What a wonderful read !

    After a slow beginning this book takes off and it's impossible to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Delightful read

    Not just for Mozart fans -- this charming, beautifully chronicled tale of young Mozart's courting and winning of his bride, while struggling to bring his talent to the public it deserves, is a sheer delight. The four Weber sisters and their parents are also wonderfully drawn characters. Beautiful period detail, too. Cowell has done her homework!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    A thoroughly enjoyable historical tale

    Marrying Mozart is a wonderful novel that sets the stage for the composer's marriage to his wife, Constanze. Some may not know that Mozart actually fell in love with and intended to marry her sister Aloyisia before she ran away with another man and broke his heart. Stephanie Cowell inserts plenty of period detail into her novel and her delightful writing style makes Marrying Mozart a must for anyone who likes a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2