Customer Reviews for

Mars (Grand Tour Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    eBook has some errors

    This book was what got me into sci-fi in the 6th grade many years ago. I bought the eBook this Christmas ('13) when I received some B&N gift cards. It's still a great book but this eBook version has a lot of spelling and punctuation errors which can detract from your experience. I gave it four stars instead of five because of these errors, which could've easily been spotted by an editor before releasing the eBook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Justt Just read the 1st chapter "IN HARDCOPY"

    Can't wait to rip into it now that it's NOOK'D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    so disappointed!

    this was the slowest book, the characters were overstated. too much character development and not enough sci-fi. haven't even finished the book, but am on last two chapters and still no major story surprise or excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    An Engrossing trek to Mars

    Ben Bova has created a realistic rendition of the first exploratory expedition to Mars. His attention to detail and reality makes the story feel real. He describes the trip to Mars, the landing on and the surface of Mars, and traveling on the planet's surface so realistically that the reader is pulled into believing that he/she is participating in the trip and the events Mr. Bova recounts.
    The first plot revolves around academic/political in-fighting which sounds like Mr. Bova may have participated or been the victim of something similar. The second plot surrounds the discovery of something in the wall of the great canyon and provides the hero with the compulsion to return (as he does in the next book: Return to Mars).
    Ben Bova's style is reminiscent of the sci-fi writers of the fifties and sixties and is so smooth as to permit a complete read through in one day.
    Recommended to all hard-science sci-fi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    One of the best!!!

    I don't think that I have ever read better! Bova packs Mars with excitement and thrill! A roller-coaster ride of action! There is a political touch, but not so much as to lead off the storyline. Definetly read Return to Mars, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    A Fantastic Journey

    This was the first Bova book I read, and he didn't disappoint at all. In a word, it was awesome. It encompasses the wonder of an alien vista mixed with suspense, drama, a bit of romance and plenty of danger. Bova's work is believable and so vivid that you find yourself there on the red planet along with the characters. I also appreciated the multi-cultural team of scientists. The discoveries they make affect the whole world, not just a single country. If you've ever wanted to go to Mars, this is the way to do it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2000

    A great read for anyone intrerested in Mars...

    Ben Bova's Mars is an excellent read for anyone who likes Sci-Fi, or is simply intrested in the Red Planet. It is about an Native American geologist, Jamie Waterman, who is chosen last minute on a mission to Mars. When they arrive on Mars, the group of astronauts face many dangers such as meteor showers, and a virus that almost kills them all. But Jamie discovers what he thinks is the ruins of an ancient civilization in the Valles Marineris, which would prove that intellegent life once existed. You MUST read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2