Customer Reviews for

Mars, Volume 1

Average Rating 5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Wonderful!

    I am not a big Manga reader because I am very picky as to what I like. MARS has been criticized as 'unoriginal', and I would have to agree. However, I don't think anything is actually that original, and that it is the way it is done that matters most, not whether it is brilliantly innovative or not. I'm sure this plot has been copied before: shy girl with self-esteem troubles and bad boy with a dark past falls for each other. But MARS is well-made, the dialogue isn't annoying, story is filled with philosophy, it makes you laugh and it makes you happy, and it is very cute. Sure, there isn't much to say about Kira and Rei's relationship: they're in love and that's that. That's what is enjoyable... Soryo does not have to insert unnecessary, petty drama into their relationship to shake things up, and you appreciate that she doesn't do that kind of thing to make their relationship shallow. And lastly, don't let the 'romance' label discourage you from reading this! It is mostly romance, but it is really well done. All in all, it is a wonderful manga. The artwork is unique (you may have to get used to it, but it is quality) and the translation is top-class. This is a classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    MARS DESERVES MOR THAN 5 STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THE BEST IVE EVER READ.THE ART WORK IS REALISTIC AND NOTHING IS OVER DRAMATIZED LIKE IN SOME OTHER MANGA.EVERYTHING SEEMS LIKE IT COULD HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE.YOU WONT BE DISSAPIONTED.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Really good

    Someone recommended the show. The show so far is really good. Volume 1 of the manga is also good and to got to say I can't wait to read more. Near the end I was thinking, well that was a little dramatic and creepy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    LOVED IT!

    My favorite manga series by far! At first, I was a little skeptical about reading MARS, since upon first seeing the cover, I wasn't too fond of the art style. However, I soon fell in love with it. Besides, what's not to love about Rei? &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Mars-The Best

    This series is filled with both romance and suspence. It's a thrill ride for the readers and the pictures are amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    MARS and Rei.............................

    Rei and Kira are so cool together. They just fit beautifully like a jigsaw puzzle. This stuff is a no nonsense right to the point feel good romance. Now that is manga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    So awesome!

    When my friend recommended for me to check this out from my local library, I was glad I did! I instantly fell in love with the series, and I'm almost done reading it! Now I'm wanting to collect the novels to constantly read over and over it's a series you just CAN'T put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2006

    a reviewer

    This book got me off my feet and asking for more! Though I think they should have more chibi characters in it, there's nothing you wouldn't love about this manga series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    Bold untold teen tale

    this book is deep and talks about the secret life of teens eveywhere and it is the biggest romance since romeo and juliet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    MARS is an AWESOME MANGA!!!!!

    I first read this when my cousin let me borrow it. about a month later(when i had enough money) i bought #2-5 to read. this is a great series and i recommend it to anyone who likes romance and a bit of tradegy and comedy(yes, odd combination, but that is what makes it so interesting!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    MARS Rokz!!!

    This is the best book EVER!!! every1z gotz ta read this awsome series. itz about two totally different ppl;a quiet artist and a motorbiker/playboy meet each other which turns their world upside down. I don' wanna give anymore away. If u like romantic/drama/manga u have to read this!!! I LOVE this book!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    This series RULES!!!!!

    OMG!!!!!This series really does rule I am on book 3 it's so good!!!It's so romantic and so GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!You must read this if you love romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    OMIGOD!!!

    OMIGOD!! OMIGOD!! OMIGOD!! This book is so good. At first when I saw the cover, I thought it was going to be stupid but as I started reading it, it was like WOW!! I haven't read all the series yet but if it's like the first book, I am sooo going to read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Ultimate realistic manga

    this manga is realistic fiction and it gets you hooked! i encourage all manga lovers to read this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Beware - It gets you hooked.

    This volume is by far one of my favorites out of the entire series, it's the teaser that gets you hooked and makes you want more and more. Who could resist an innocent highschool girl and a bad boy? Or is that really all there is to them?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    Favorite Manga

    This is possibly my favorite manga book of all time. I still have to read the rest of the series, but if it's anything like the first one, I'll never be able to stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    Beautiful Romance

    It took me an hour last night to read this and it was wonderful. This is the classic tale of Bad Boy and Goog Girl intewertwined in their own romance. When you first read this, it seems as though Rei might just be your average popular boy. As you read on, though, you discover his softer side. The side reserved for Kira. This is a wonderful tale of love against all odds. By the end you'll be dying to go out and buy the next volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    WOW!

    Okay I started reading this during the star testing at school because my friend lended me this book. I didn't expect such a great thing to read. I haven't ever read magnas' and if this isn't something geniune, I don't know what is. The book is a good read and anyone who thinks otherwise are completely hard pressed to find something to compare it to. I hopefully will be getting the whole series soon and read them until the very end. I can't wait to finish the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    True Love

    I love this series, I have read all but the last one, and I am dying to get it. This manga series is remarkable, the characters are my age, and they go through similar things today, and I love that the 'sex' in the series is based on love. (yeah that does sound corny!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    MARS is one of the best series by manga!

    Mars is a great manga/romance novel that I reccomend to anyone 13+. It is one of my favorite series. Kira and Rei are two of many fantastic manga characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2