Customer Reviews for

Marshmallows for Breakfast

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    Discovering how life is shaped by love and fear

    This was a very realistic look at the twists and turns that life takes and how we are all pulled in various directions by the forces around us - love, fear, family. The book did a great job of characterization and of building ties between the characters throughout so that each time you finished a chapter the result felt both natural and surprising. Very good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Adored

    This book was great, immediately went into my list of favorites. A great read for anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    Marshmallows for Breakfast: Must Read

    Ms. Koomson has a way of telling a story so you feel what the people she is talking about feels. You won't want to put this one down. I liked this one so much, I bought My Best Friend's Girl by the same author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is an intriguing family drama

    After spending time in Australia, Kendra Tamale returns home to England to escape with a fresh start. She rents a room from Kyle Gadsborough. Her plan is to keep everything simple and with her landlord, mind her business while paying the rent on time; no personal relationships.<BR/><BR/>However she feels sorry for his twin six year old children who are in shock that their mom left them and their dad. As she learned upon her first meeting with the kids, Summer cannot shut up reminding her she is black while Jaxon with his thumb in his mouth looks like the world has ended. The pair are pros when it comes to taking advantage of their dad. Unable to adhere to her plan of non-involvement especially when Kendra becomes Kendie, Kendra creates the sugar Saturday breakfasts even as she falls in love with the single father and his two kids. However, she believes her past will taint her in their eyes and prepares to give up to live a lonely wretched life as she expects Australia to surface especially when the mom returns to take the children with her.<BR/><BR/>This is an intriguing family drama in which one person¿s choice destroys another individual¿s equilibrium, The story line is character driven by obviously the four prime payers, but also subtly by the wife and by what happened in Australia as the past strongly influences the lead quartet. Fans will appreciate MARSHMALLOW FOR BREAKFAST as Dorothy Koomson provides a deep look at relationship failure and how little it takes to bring a glimmer of hope.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    SummerClan Leaders Den

    Leaders Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can a stranger heal your heart?

    The book cover asks "Can a stranger heal your heart?" The reader is taken through a series of events whereby we are shown that happiness can be found in the strangest placest. Marshmellows for Breakfast is chock full of characters seriously scarred by their past who when tossed together, unexpectedly provide exactly what is needed for healing to occur.
    I was taken by the amount of sorrow that Koomson is able to shoot through the pages and the way she streaks it with hope. The plot unravels slowly, juxtaposing present and past, taking its time working through the emotions and developing the characters.
    I was taken with Summer and Jaxon and appreciated their innocence (and how circumstances affected them), and the way all the relationships evolved.
    My one criticism is that I didn't always understand why Koomson used the section titles that she did. What does omelets have to do with a particular section of the novel?
    I recommend this to those who enjoy a more emotionally complex read with great characters and relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    2nd book by this author

    I recently finished her other book My Best Friends Girl and was excited to read her work again.

    I am sad to say I was not able to really get into this book. It was well written and the story had good elements to make it interesting. The characters were well developed but overall it left me wanting more. I am going to buy her other title The Chocolate Run.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    It was okay...

    The title won me over but the book ended up only being okay. It kept my interest enough to finish the book but I can't say it was one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    I picked this up by chance and was rapt in it. It has many layers, love, romance, grief, loss & anyone who is a alcoholic or has one in the family will really relate. It certainly gets you in & you want to rush ahead. Not too in love with the back & forth 'in italics' relating past experience. I think the main character was put down a bit too much. Was disappointed in ending where it looked certain Kendie would end up with Will, however!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2