Customer Reviews for

Marsupial Sue Presents the Runaway Pancake

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    So Much Fun

    When I asked my 6 year old granddaughter what book her soon to be 5 year old cousin would like for her birthday. She replied, "Marsupial Sue" of course. It is a super fun book especially when you play the Jon Lithgow CD. The grand kids listen to it again and again until they can repeat it verbatim with all the inflections! The 8 and 2 year old enjoy it as much as the 5 Andy 6 year old. It is basically the same story as the "Gingerbread Man."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    Pop in that CD a let John Lithgow do the reading and singing for

    Pop in that CD a let John Lithgow do the reading and singing for you. My boys are 2 and 4 and the 4 year-old in particular loooooves this book. He wants to read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Great story for children! Love the CD

    I gave this book to a kindergarten classroom studying Australia and they loved it! The pictures are colorful, the CD and song and animated and catchy. It is a fun story whether you listen to the CD or not. John Lithgow makes it great with his reading the story and singing the song!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Let your kids sing "No, no, no....."

    We love this book, and our kids love singing along with the Pancake. It's just a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is stimulating for family and as a teacher, it has been very endearing for the children I have used it with.

    I have Thoroughly enjoyed using this book with my 4 and 5 yrs old class. I put it in the CD when I got it home and played it for my husband. We have always loved John Lithgow and his voice makes it come alive. I have played the CD 2times for the kids and taken it home. Once I didn't have a CD and read it myself but I didn't have the same edge as the CD. All the children were singing along. Splendid for memory. I actually know a child who seriously stutters and he can sing the song perfectly. Mel Tillis anyone? So this book is good for all ages and very good for spontaneous reaction from children. The only drawback was that one little girl was upset over the ending, and sensitive to the fact the pancakes was eaten whole. This took some explaining about the fantasy of the book, teaching them that all the characters in the book were fictional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kids love to hear John Lithgow sing about Marsupial Sue!

    I teach kindergarten and I had to purchase a copy so we can have our own in the classroom. I use it when we read variations of the gingerbread man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not original, but fun

    Celebrity authored books are all the rage; a famous name helps sell copies and publishers are eager to promote such books. Unfortunately, being a celebrity does not make that person a good writer and many of these books suffer from poor plots, substandard writing or storylines that lack originality. Fortunately, Marsupial Sue Present The Runaway Pancake rises above the clutter of lackluster celebrity books for children.

    In Marsupial Sue, Sue and her friends are putting on a play with Sue in the lead role of Auntie May. When Auntie May decides to cook herself a pancake, the narrator of the play cautions that "You must never, ever, EVER cook a pancake in a hot oven. And my story will tell you why."

    Auntie May puts her pancake in the oven and then does housework while her lunch cooks. But she soon hears a noise from inside the oven. When she opens the door, out pops her pancake, complete with eyes, nose, mouth and feet. As her lunch runs away, Auntie May pleads for it to return. The pancake teases,

    "No, no.
    No, no, no.
    I'm too fast, you're too slow.
    Pan, pan, patty-cake pan,
    I can get away from you, I can!"

    With Auntie May following, the pancake comes upon a dog who is also eager to eat it, but the pancake refuses to be anybody's lunch and repeats his jingle, this time adding a line about the dog. Soon, the pancake has a whole host of animals, along with Auntie May, chasing him and the jingle he repeats on each page has grown much longer, as he adds a line for each animal. It looks as though the pancake might escape until he comes upon the sly, old red fox. (It is odd that the illustrator choose to draw the red fox as purple.)

    Marsupial Sue is not a new theme, it's a rehashing of the runaway gingerbread man, however, Lithgow does a good job of recounting the adventure. Children will enjoy the ever growing jingle and have fun anticipating what will happen as the pancake meets each new animal. I'm not sure why Lithgow choose to present the story as if Marsupial Sue and her friends were putting on a play. The play aspect gets lost in the story and serves no purpose.

    Quill says: Better than most celebrity authored stories, it's not original, but it is fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    A Runaway Hit

    This book and cd are amazing...my son absolutely loves it. He shared it with his Pre K class and they keep asking him to bring it back. The story is fun and the music is contagious...sure to be a children's classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    awesome

    My son is 5 years old and loves animals , loves story's and this book... i got him for his birthday ,it comes with a cd that also has john lithgow telling the story and singing the song its deightful ,my son reads along with it sings the song ....just truly laughs and sings and reads it over and over filled with lots of animals and of course my sons favitote food ..panckaes so its a winner can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1