Customer Reviews for

Martha Stewart's Cookies: The Very Best Treats to Bake and to Share

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Ultimate Cookie Book

Martha Stewart's 'Cookies' is a delight to look at with it's beautiful photographs of delicious treats. There is also a brief history of each cookie included above the recipe. The recipes come from all over the world. The instructions for making the cookies are excel...
Martha Stewart's 'Cookies' is a delight to look at with it's beautiful photographs of delicious treats. There is also a brief history of each cookie included above the recipe. The recipes come from all over the world. The instructions for making the cookies are excellent and there is also a section included on how to package the cookies for gift giving. Every recipe looks delicious and certainly the ones I have made so far have been tasty and beautiful treats for my family.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book, Inaccurate recipes

I LOVE the Cupcake book but unfortunately this one fell short. I have made at least half of the recipes in the book and have found at least 10 of them to be inaccurate from bake time to ingredients. I love Martha, but some of these recipes are WAY off. :(

posted by JenaLynn on November 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    The Ultimate Cookie Book

    Martha Stewart's 'Cookies' is a delight to look at with it's beautiful photographs of delicious treats. There is also a brief history of each cookie included above the recipe. The recipes come from all over the world. The instructions for making the cookies are excellent and there is also a section included on how to package the cookies for gift giving. Every recipe looks delicious and certainly the ones I have made so far have been tasty and beautiful treats for my family.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    You only need 1 cookie book...and this is it!!!

    Best cookie book there is!!! I love the organization of this book, beginning with the pictures of all the cookies with the page number where you can find their recipe. Love all the cookies, I've made 2 so far, and they've all come out great!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    As always, Martha outdoes the competition for informative and tasty experiences in the kitchen.

    This book, with so many wonderful offerings, will entice any baker to try all of these recipes and their variations. Whether you are looking for a traditional cookie from grandma's cookie jar, or a new offering for your Holiday Cookie Exchange, you'll find something that fits your taste. Always the perfectionist, Martha's team has terrific photography and illustrations to help bring each recipe to life, so that any good cook can follow along and duplicate the results. I highly recommend this volume to add to any kitchen library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Great book, Inaccurate recipes

    I LOVE the Cupcake book but unfortunately this one fell short. I have made at least half of the recipes in the book and have found at least 10 of them to be inaccurate from bake time to ingredients. I love Martha, but some of these recipes are WAY off. :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Comprehensive and Beautiful but not for the everyday homemaker

    This book has a wide variety of cookie recipes and decorating ideas and tips. It is beautiful to look at and everything looks GOOD! However, I do find that so many of the recipes are very labor intensive and much more complicated than I would ever do at home on a regular basis. Very good idea book for different ways to shape and present cookies but very limited in terms of recipes I am likely to use. Recipes are more appropriate for a true baker or entertainer. If I am going to that much trouble to make something I want to have more than a plate of cookies to show for it. Good addition for a library or someone who loves to get ideas and try new things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Martha Is Great

    I read all her cookbooks just for fun! Sometimes I eat cookies by the barrel. I'll start with a ten pound bag of flour and buy all the ingredients to bake as many cookies as I can. Then I'll spend the weekend baking and the rest of the week eating cookies in the dark and crying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    My daughter and I have enjoyed making many of the recipes in this book. Even her chocolate chip recipe is far better than anything we've made and/or tasted in the past. I highly recommend this cookbook.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Another Great Book from Martha

    The recipes are fantastic, just superb, but this book's real strength is in its organization and presentation. Stunning photography, recipes organized by flavor & texture, astute attention to detail in how recipes are presented... Just a fabulous cookie book overall. I'd love to see Martha & Co. do the same sort of book for quick desserts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Martha is amazing. And so is this cookbook. Like the others this

    Martha is amazing. And so is this cookbook. Like the others this cookbook is well written and photographed. I've made cookies out of this book for a cpl yrs now, and I always get top notch results, I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Very good

    I enjoyed this book. There are a lot of good recipes in it. There are some that are way too ambitious for me too. However, everything I have tried has been very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    My Favorites Cookies

    1. Banana-Walnut Chocolate Cookies
    2. Snickerdoodles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    One of the best

    I've tried various recipes from this book and they are the best! I don't have any issues with the instructions and follow them to a "T".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    Best cookie book ever

    I'm not a Martha Stewart fan but since this was a gift from my husband I thought I'd try it. Much to my delight it has some of the best cooke recipes I've ever tried. After discovering how easy and accurate the recipes were I tried at least a half dozen within two weeks and everyone of them was perfect. My husband already has his list of requests for my Christmas baking spree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Fair

    I have a number of Martha Stewart's cookbooks, but was somewhat disappointed by this volume. While some cookie recipes are outstanding (like the Sarah Bernhardt cookies, Carrot Cake cookies, and Fruit n'Nut cookies), others are tasteless (e.g., the Caramel-Cashew cookies and Rugelach). It is hit-or-miss with this cookbook. On a positive note, the photographs are outstanding--each cookie is featured in a pictorial index in the front of the book as well. FYI: Some of these recipes may be challenging for beginning cooks and/or require specialty equipment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Absolutely Amazing!

    I bought this cookbook because I wanted to try something different and expand my baking skills. I was shocked to see that the recipes weren't complicated to make and from the ones I did bake, they were extremely delectable. From the recipes I tried my favorites are the "Anise Cookies" (which are extremely easy to make) and the "Butter Twist". I can't wait to try more of these recipes in the near future.

    I recommend this cookbook for anyone who wants to try something innovative and simplistic. Also, I liked that there are photos of the recipes showing us what the end results should look like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    So easy to follow!

    I got this cookbook as a gift, and within the first month made 6 different cookies from it. I love how the index is broken down by cookie type, and shows pictures of each cookie. The snickerdoodles are one of the most popular cookies amongst friends and are requested for every get-together. a great buy for yourself or a gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book for insecure bakers

    I don't consider myself a experienced baker, so I enjoy Martha's books because they seem very accessible. I find the recipes easy to follow, and most of the ingredients are in my cupboard or easy to find at my local grocery store. When I am looking for inspiration, this book gives it to me. The photography is fabulous, and that is usually what inspires me to make something from the book. There are recipes for every cookie occasion in here. Her books are a little pricey but I am sure I will use this one over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Cookie Cookbook

    This contains the greatest cookie recipes! I could not wait to start baking! Have already baked two recipes for pecan cookies and the peanutbutter chocolate brownies and the were great! The pictures of all the cookies were at the beginning of the book which truly enticed you to want to start right away. The recipes are easy to understand and follow; even the novice baker could follow the directions.
    GREAT COOKIE COOKBOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Delicous Recipes!!

    This book is wonderful. I especially like that they separate the recipes by type (ie: cakey, light and crunchy). I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    incredible book

    Makes you drool. It is a wonderful book and the pictures are really nice too. So far the chocolate ginger is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3