Customer Reviews for

Martha Stewart's Cupcakes: 175 Inspired Ideas for Everyone's Favorite Treat (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST CUPCAKES I HAVE EVER MADE!! A MUST BUY!!

The wide range of difficulties and flavors makes this cupcake cookbook perfect for anyone. From the one bowl chocolate cupcake to the multi-step special occasion recipes this book has it all! I use the meringue butter cream frosting recipe on just about all of my desser...
The wide range of difficulties and flavors makes this cupcake cookbook perfect for anyone. From the one bowl chocolate cupcake to the multi-step special occasion recipes this book has it all! I use the meringue butter cream frosting recipe on just about all of my desserts now. It works great on a birthday cake, cupcake, or even for dipping a cookie. It is so light and fluffy it could replace Cool Whip.
The vast number of ideas and designs in this book will equip you with a special cupcake for every occasion, and the simple directions make even the most complicated looking design simple. This is a must have for any kitchen.

posted by KSidwell on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too much of a good thing

I got this as a present and returned it in exchange for another book. I love cup cakes, but feel that if you have a good basic cookbook/baking book this one is overkill. After that 10th recipe you have it all and it's just a matter of changing the color of frosting or a...
I got this as a present and returned it in exchange for another book. I love cup cakes, but feel that if you have a good basic cookbook/baking book this one is overkill. After that 10th recipe you have it all and it's just a matter of changing the color of frosting or adding cocoanut instead of hazelnut etc.
It is also bound as a paperback which makes it hard to prop open during baking.

posted by piratemom on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    THE BEST CUPCAKES I HAVE EVER MADE!! A MUST BUY!!

    The wide range of difficulties and flavors makes this cupcake cookbook perfect for anyone. From the one bowl chocolate cupcake to the multi-step special occasion recipes this book has it all! I use the meringue butter cream frosting recipe on just about all of my desserts now. It works great on a birthday cake, cupcake, or even for dipping a cookie. It is so light and fluffy it could replace Cool Whip.
    The vast number of ideas and designs in this book will equip you with a special cupcake for every occasion, and the simple directions make even the most complicated looking design simple. This is a must have for any kitchen.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Fantastic Cookbook

    This is a wonderful cupcake book. There is a picture of every cupcake and it helps to inspire you to try new things. I have made only a couple of the actual recipes so far and they have been fantastic. It is nice to have many different icing and cupcake recipes all in one place. They only thing I don't like is the quantities that some of the recipes make are kind of crazy. How often will you need 32 cupcakes at one time?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Very Good :-)

    Overall, I have enjoyed this cookbook immensely. The banana cupcakes, strawberry cupcakes, and maple cupcakes are pure heaven! (Was disappointed in the consistency of the devil's food cupcake, though.)The frosting recipes are easy to follow and unbelievably delicious. This cookbook is chock-full of ingenious ideas for decorating cupcakes for every imaginable occasion. The glossy photographs are a feast for the senses and will inspire you to entertain. A terrific resource guide is included in the appendix as well. Makes a great gift!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Beautiful, Fun and Delicious!

    A wonderful book full of cupcakes galore! Beautifully photographed, with recipes that you want to read, study, and finally pick one to make. The instructions are well written, easy to follow. There are a lot of basic baking instructions and background information as well. If you are new to baking, don't feel overwhelmed. Everything you need to surprise friends and family with great cupcakes is right here. Sections of the book include "Swirled and Sprinkled", "Dipped and Glazed", and "Holidays".
    We found that we could spend so much time looking and reading that we almost didn't leave time for baking! We are especially fond of the "Strawberry Cupcakes". Cupcakes equal fun and Martha Stewart's Cupcakes has plenty!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Beautiful pictures, delicious recipes!

    This has become one of my favorite cookbooks. The pictures are beautiful, and the recipes are easy and yummy to boot! Haven't had bad feedback yet on any of the cupcake recipes I've made out of this book. Such fun flavor combinations too! This has a permanent spot amongst my easy-to-reach recipe books!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    "cupcakes" makes a great gift

    I gave this book to my sister,who has three kids and is totally into parties for her children. She loved this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    Fantastic Red Velvet Recipe!!

    I love this book!! I've made the carrot cake cupcakes, the red velvet, and the banana pecan cupcakes so far and each has turned out great! The red velvet had the most delicious taste and were moist without being greasy (which I've experienced with some other red velvet recipes). I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    this is a must have!

    this is a must have book. if you love baking or are just starting out this is a book for you. this is a fun book to learn all new cupcakes. this was my first real cupcake book and i've learned so much from it. there are simple cupcakes and then there are the harder multiple step ones. over all they are all good. when i make cupcakes from this book they don't last long in my house : )

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Martha knows her stuff!

    Great collection of easy-to-fancy cupcakes to wow your family, friends and co-workers! Not for waist-watching, but hey, its dessert, what do you expect?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Love this!

    I love this book, I'm not sure why I waited so long to get it! Many of the recipes are more advanced and some require ingredients you have to get in a specialty store. I would recommend it for more advanced bakers, although she does give good step by step directions. There are many complex flavor profiles in both the cupcakes and the frostings. One of the first recipes that I tried was the Salted Carmel Chocolate mini-cakes and I received rave reviews from my family. I look forward to trying more of the recipes. The pictures are beautiful! As usual, Martha delivers a great cookbook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Must Have

    This book is a must have for any cupcake lover.These are some of the best cupcake recipes you'll find anywhere.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Delicious to look at!

    Martha has really figured out the art of the cupcake.... With her book as a basis, the delicious results are limited only by your own creativity.
    YUMMMMM

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Good

    I love this, its taught me so much

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    This book has great cupcake recipes!

    I love the Mint Chocolate Cupcakes!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Too much of a good thing

    I got this as a present and returned it in exchange for another book. I love cup cakes, but feel that if you have a good basic cookbook/baking book this one is overkill. After that 10th recipe you have it all and it's just a matter of changing the color of frosting or adding cocoanut instead of hazelnut etc.
    It is also bound as a paperback which makes it hard to prop open during baking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Martha Stewart's Cupcakes

    This book is fun to read as well as make one of the cupcakes. Makes a really cute birthday party. The ideas are worth the price of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    *****Martha Stewart CUPCAKES

    *****This is a great book on cupcakes. Great illustrations. Big variety of different cupcakes. As usual for any Martha Stewart book great instructions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Great Fun!

    This book is a lot of fun. The recipes are easy to follow and creative. There are simple as well as advanced recipes so it is good for everyone. Most of the recipes ingredients are easy to make/find so it's not a headache running around trying to get to a specialty store. Wonderful book overall, I would highly recommend for anyone looking for a bit of pizzaz in the cupcake department!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good and artist design for cupcakes

    Easy and fun way to spend time with your kids

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Craving cupcakes!

    If you have a craving for cupcakes, start here. A great selection of all types, flavors and occasions, organized in typical Martha fashion.
    It gets your creativity going, but the only drawback is that it is very difficult to choose which one to bake first!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5