Customer Reviews for

Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Sewing and Fabric Crafts

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

"It's a Good Thing"

Just received the newest edition to my ever expanding Martha Stewart library and I have to say with each new book Martha and her team keep getting better and better!! The book is larger than expected and chock full of detailed examples, sketches and color photographs. ...
Just received the newest edition to my ever expanding Martha Stewart library and I have to say with each new book Martha and her team keep getting better and better!! The book is larger than expected and chock full of detailed examples, sketches and color photographs. The best part? Now instead of having to cumbersomely zoom up all those in-book templates on your flatbed copier, Martha has included a CD that you just pop in your computer, select your project and print your needed templates!! Martha? Your new book? It's a good thing! :-)

posted by Michelle_Spoor on April 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Dull as dishwater

This is a very stupid and boring book! some of the projects are egg cozies (!), coasters, sarongs, and book jackets! It also includes some of the most dull and uninspired clothing you'll ever see inside or outside a convent!
The most disappointing component of this du...
This is a very stupid and boring book! some of the projects are egg cozies (!), coasters, sarongs, and book jackets! It also includes some of the most dull and uninspired clothing you'll ever see inside or outside a convent!
The most disappointing component of this dull as dishwater collection of nonsense is the fact that not one holiday themed project is included; not a Christmas stocking not a stuffed Jack O lantern.
This company's books get duller and duller with every release since Stewart's release!
Its going back tomorrow I don't even care if I have to pay to ship it back I'll pay twice the amount just to get this rancid piece of garbage out of my house!

posted by Cant-Get-Enough-NYC on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "It's a Good Thing"

    Just received the newest edition to my ever expanding Martha Stewart library and I have to say with each new book Martha and her team keep getting better and better!! The book is larger than expected and chock full of detailed examples, sketches and color photographs. The best part? Now instead of having to cumbersomely zoom up all those in-book templates on your flatbed copier, Martha has included a CD that you just pop in your computer, select your project and print your needed templates!! Martha? Your new book? It's a good thing! :-)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    Dull as dishwater

    This is a very stupid and boring book! some of the projects are egg cozies (!), coasters, sarongs, and book jackets! It also includes some of the most dull and uninspired clothing you'll ever see inside or outside a convent!
    The most disappointing component of this dull as dishwater collection of nonsense is the fact that not one holiday themed project is included; not a Christmas stocking not a stuffed Jack O lantern.
    This company's books get duller and duller with every release since Stewart's release!
    Its going back tomorrow I don't even care if I have to pay to ship it back I'll pay twice the amount just to get this rancid piece of garbage out of my house!

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beginner Sewer Loves This Book!

    Well, I haven't had a chance to use it too much but I am absolutely in love with this book. I just got a sewing machine and can't wait to see how much I can do! I also plan on getting her big book of crafts! I love working with my hands so this book should be a hit!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    This is a great book to go with my Martha Stewart library

    The book has some interesting projects and tips. It gives in depth instructions and guidance in general sewing issues. Martha is always thorough, if nothing else. This is a good book for beginners and intermediates. I would have liked to have seen more projects to sew, though

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Options

    This book gives some interesting ideas from simple aprons and pillowcases to duvets, dolls and quilts. Pick your project from among these great ideas, visit your local fabric store and begin! It's incredibly easy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    AN ELEMENTAL ADDITION TO YOUR CRAFTS LIBRARY.

    You'll wonder how you didn't already own this beautiful and practical guide. It's the perfect reference material that you've come to expect from the Martha Steward brand. There's sophistication in the sample projects, easy and clear imagery and guidelines with pristine design and classic choices. I currently have it out as a coffee table book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    A staple in my sewing room

    I looked at a lot of books before deciding on this one. Great directions and great ideas. A wonderful reference book for those techniques I need help with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Great ideas

    I enjoy Martha Stewart's ideas, even if I don't intend to use them myself. This book offers insight into what you're working with and creative ideas on how to use/utilize fabrics. Downside is the instructions aren't always clear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Highly recommended.A must have for the crafter.

    So many ideas and patterns. A must book for the beginner and experienced crafter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Love, love, love this book!

    After reading a not-so-wonderful review of Martha Stewart's The Encyclopedia of Sewing and Fabric Crafts, I was worried as what to expect. But, as with most Martha Stewart books, it has exceeded my expectations. It's beautifully illustrated and extremely informative. I highly recommend it for not only the novice sewer, but the expert as well. Fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2