Customer Reviews for

Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide for Caring for Everything in Your Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    An Excellent Resource

    Although the recommended cleaning schedules are perhaps a bit ambitious, this book is an excellent reference tool for caring for just about every part of a home.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    Full of useful tips and information

    This is a wonderful handbook. It addresses organizing, cleaning, and maintaining practically every room, surface, and furnishing within the home. I have followed Martha's tips on cleaning with kitchen staples rather than store-bought cleaners. I'll be buying very few commercial cleaners from now on. There are also TONS of other useful tips and information. This is a great purchase!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Something for Everyone

    As a 'homekeeper' for many years, I found this book, now my official wedding shower gift, full of helpful information. I love the black and white photos--so classy, so Martha. I gave it to my daughter and daughter-in-law for Christmas and they were thrilled. This book has it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    What about caring for stains such as ink on clothing?????

    Maybe I could not find the one think that I needed to get the ink out of my jacket, forgive me, I thought this was Martha's Cleaning Bible....sometime later I will find time to go through and make use of some of the other worthy suggestions for cleaning....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Good Reference Book

    This is a great reference book. It covers everything imaginable. I leave it on my coffee table for some self-motivation! I have also recieved many great compliments from quests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Buy this book!!

    I got this book from the library when it 1st came out, and found it so helpful that I purchased it as a reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Martha Stewart's Homekeeping Handbook . . . A Must for All Homemakers!

    I found Martha's Handbook an excellent resource for information and helpful hints on housekeeping. The art of homemaking is not what it was 40 or 50 yrs. ago, when most homemakers stayed home. Most of the information in this book is what my Mom taught me. I particularly liked the section on moving from one home to another. It gave me some very useful information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    For Anyone who owns or lives in a home!

    Martha has done it again! She has researched how to clean and maintain literally every kind of surface found within a home. So, don't just try to guess, buy this book and use it as a reference book - keep it with your dictionary, thesaurus, and encyclopedias. You won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Great reference for any home owner

    I wish I had have had this book when I first married. She shares everything here about maintaining your home. She goes from room to room and shares organizing tips, cleaning instructions, caring for many types of materials, etc. I would say it would be a good housewarming gift or shower gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Martha does it again!

    Martha Stewart is an amazingly talented woman. In her latest book she has outdone herself by giving suggestions, hints and solutions for 'caring for everything' in the home just as her title says. I don't usually buy books like this, but I just had to have this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    Great home resource

    I haven't been a huge Martha fan in the past, but I'm really enjoying this book. It covers all kinds of stuff you never really learn on your own until you've already made the mistake: stuff like how to buy a couch to how to care for your kitchen countertop based on its material. Really good, complete information. I especially like her many alternatives to harsh cleaners and chemicals. You probably won't do every thing she mentions (no, I don't have a whole closet to devote to storing my tablecloths rolled over tubes so they don't get creases) but it's pretty motivational, a thing to aspire to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1