Customer Reviews for

The Martian Chronicles

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bradbury at his FINEST

this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another an...
this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another and give them common features is simply incredible. He even borrows from E.A Poe in one of my favorite stories. this is a must read.

posted by MaskedBandito on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

i just didn't enjoy it

We had to read this book for school, and it just wasn't MY cup of tea. Maybe its meant for someone else, but truthfully i just wanted to shut the book and throw it out the window.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bradbury at his FINEST

    this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another and give them common features is simply incredible. He even borrows from E.A Poe in one of my favorite stories. this is a must read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Martian Chronicles Ray Bradbury’s recent passing crea

    The Martian Chronicles

    Ray Bradbury’s recent passing created an opportunity to reread some of his stories and novels. No, I don’t like all that Bradbury wrote, but his whimsical, lyrical style always attracted me. He could create a world of “Firemen” in Fahrenheit 451 or the mysterious characters of “The Illustrated Man” and leave me entranced.

    The Martian Chronicles was no exception!

    First Impressions:

    The book itself is a loosely-knit series of short stories, one leading to the next, in date order in the writer’s 21st century future. Here we have Earth that is looking towards Mars as a haven from the brewing atomic wars and rumors of such. What impressed me was the stylized characters and fleshed-out civilizations and how both Martian and Earthman deal with each other, as well as their own jealousies and prejudices.

    Stories!

    I won’t bore the reader with a mini-review of each tale, but the few that I really liked involved some of the crazy characters – one an off-kilter man, Spender, part of a crew from the Fourth Expedition, who didn’t want to see Mars commercialized as he looked upon the dead Martian civilization (destroyed by Man’s diseases – holy War of the Worlds!) and decides to kill off his own men and keep the planet pristine! That plan does not go over well with Captain Wilder. The darkness of the story and its clear criticism of colonialism were enticing to me.

    The other story I really liked involved the last colonists on Mars (the rest being called back to Earth because of atomic war) who missed the last rocket, and gets lonely. Far off, he hears a phone ring. He finally finds who rang it, hoping for some female company, but the guy isn’t so lonely that he does not have standards!

    Finally, the tale of a Martian and an Earth worker, both going to a party driving in their respective vehicles and meet each other on a lonely road – 10,000 years apart! Crazy.

    Bottom Line: Most of the stories flow well one to the other. Ray does reflect some of the 1940s’ style prejudices of the time which may put off modern readers, but if you read Ray’s poetic style in its historic context, you too will see that a lot of his criticism and satire is still quite relevant.

    Highly recommended!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    i just didn't enjoy it

    We had to read this book for school, and it just wasn't MY cup of tea. Maybe its meant for someone else, but truthfully i just wanted to shut the book and throw it out the window.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    Pretty good, but with some kinks.

    I do like this book, but I wasn't blown away, though. I don't know whether to call this book a short story collection or novel, so I'll just refer to it as book. The first two or four stories were the best part for me, they got me hooked, then the middle was kind of blah, but the end redeemed it, actually, the last story itself redeemed the middle, the closing lines of it were just beautiful. I would probably, if I were able, review this with 3.8 and not a four. Some of the stories I thought were just plain...lame...I don't remember what it was called, I think it was Usher II, it was about a man who recreated the house of Usher from the Edgar Allen Poe book on Mars. What I don't like about this story is that, not only is it a little to weird for me, but it introduces and entirely new detail to the book, it talks about censorship of literature back on Earth. They had never talked about that in the book before, and now right in the middle it pops up. But I don't want to give anyone the impression that I don't like the book, I do. It speaks about the human nature greatly and it highlights things about humans that are less than savory.

    3.8/5

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Read and re-read

    One of the books that all should read, even those not attracted to science-fiction. Though written in the beginnings of the "sci-fi" era it is particularly appropriate in an age that still hasn't learned to protect the environment, the differences in cultural heritage, or appreciate the beauty of things uncommon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    This is good

    Im a 16 year old and i read these books after i saw the movie and im impresed with the style and quality

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am not a fan of science fiction. However, The Martian Chronicl

    I am not a fan of science fiction. However, The Martian Chronicles is an okay book. Some people would say that that Ray Bradbury is a master story teller. I can't agree with that statement; but he is an interesting story teller. I like some of the stories in Martian Chronicles, such as, Rocket Summer, Ylla, Green Morning, and The Million Year Picnic. Some of the stories are bland. I am glad I read this book because it took me out of my reading comfort zone; but I don't think I will be reading anymore of Ray Bradbury's books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Fantastic Book! i read this book back in high school in science

    Fantastic Book!

    i read this book back in high school in science fiction class. at the time i thought it was boring and dull. BUT i have reread it 4 years later. i must say this book is a classic! (having realized that i was just a Jr. in high school who hated to read) know that i am older i see the sheer genius of this book, the child like imagination with a philosophical massage, and the , dare i say, suspense Bradbury throws in. mans inhumanity to hes fellow man and others from another world. if you are a sifi buff this is the book for you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    1

    After lord of rings this is best book ever written. It opened my imagination to read wow books can be likee that it made me avid reader. Amazing stories sad profound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ray Bradbury is a MASTER!

    I read this as an adolescent and have recently read it again as an adult. Bradbury never disappoints! I enjoyed it even more in my "old age". The complexity of the story that lost me as a child (not that I knew it at the time) intrigued me to no end! Bradbury has always been one of my favs and it was nice to sit down with an old "friend"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My quickie review of Ray Bradbury's The Martian Chronicles: The

    My quickie review of Ray Bradbury's The Martian Chronicles:

    The book reads like a group of short stories but all put together makes one big story.

    Storyline: In the future, people go to Mars to make it a new "Earth" since they've done a great job destroying Earth.  Martians get sick with human diseases and die.  We ruin Mars just like we ruined Earth.  A war breaks out on Earth. . .

    I enjoyed this book but it has a lot of warnings for us.

    Warning 1: Don't destroy our Earth, it's the only one we have.
    Warning 2: Stop the racism and prejudices.
    Warning 3: Don't be so afraid of the unknown.

    Martian Chronicles was a short read that could be seen as depressing sci-fi.  I read it in high school but definitely have a better understanding of the novel now, as an adult.

    Thanks to Sarah Says Read for reading it with me!  (I know, Sarah, it took me forever to get this post up since we read it a while ago!)

    Have you read The Martian Chronicles?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Excellent!

    We are very happy with this transaction. It was shipped immediately and the book was exactly as it had been described. We would definitely purchase again. thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Fantastic Book!

    Introduction- The story is about Earth going through a nuclear war and everyone one that can tries to travel to mars to escape the madness.

    Description and summary of main points-In the story three Earth men travel to the red planet in search of life and to repopulate. Threw many events and problems, they work threw them.

    Evaluation-Ray Bradbury focuses on other characters instead of just the main ones. He changes off story line and shows the other events that occur and actually turn out fantastic!

    Conclusion-The Martian Chronicles is a very well written book. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys science fiction novels.

    Your final review-Great book, everyone should try to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Best Science Fiction Book Ever!

    "The Martian Chronicles" is the best science fiction book I've ever read. Bradbury did an excellent job depicting what could happen to planet Earth, and how we would handle it. This book opens up the imagination, and shapes it in a different way.
    When mankind decides to send rockets over to Mars, the first few times do not end well. The Martians end up killing all of humans in the rockets that were sent. Then, however, after the Martians are killed off from Chicken Pox, the humans decide colonize Mars and plant trees, because their own world is struggling in chaos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    It's still fantastic!

    Ray Bradbury is a poet at heart and is a great writer. Many of his writings are foundations in our literature and culture. 'Martian Chronicles' makes a person think a lot while entertaining greatly. Everyone should read it. 'Martian Chronicles' is still extremely relavent today and will be tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Collection of short stories

    First of all, I love Bradbury's concept of combining short stories to form a novel. Each story can stand alone, yet the cumulative result is an outstanding and creative work about the nature of man and Bradbury's unrepressed imagination. Many people travel to Mars to escape man's overconsumption and evil nature, especially in regards to atomic war. But Man brings the same destructive nature and fears to Mars that he tried to leave behind on Earth. Obviously, I enjoyed some of the stories more than others, and individuals can form their own opinions about each story; even so, I recommend this to all who enjoy sci-fi and admire original work from a very talented writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Didnt enjoy at first but it sticks with you after...

    This book is mainly about mans civilization finally reaching out of our little earth bound bubble. Its pretty easy to get lost while reading it because it jumps around from different perspectives of different acounts n stories that are happening around each other. its like reading the minds of various characters about the space race to get out into mars and to get adjusted to this new way of living and how to get ther and when theyr ther what then?? its pretty sci fi but in a very believable way like the warmth of people is not left out of this you still feel very much as if this were happening in the now. Great book. gets u thinking i suggest u read it n find out for yourself!! Ray bradbury said everything he ever did was because of love n that was always a huge motivator.. you learn to see the different types of love in his novels...great author too..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    The Martian Chronicles: SCI. FI. Project Review

    Ray Bradbury's "The Martian Chronicles" is an awe-inspiring story of human exploration on Mars. Earth is at a point where nuclear war is about to erupt and everyone knows it. With war on everyone's minds people are seeking refuge. Therefore, ships are sent to Mars in order to explore the planet and see if it has the capacity to support human life. After many fatal trials at the hands of Martians, they are largely depleted by disease and human's move in.
    When Mrs. Brunkhorst first handed me this book I was not expecting much. However, as I began to read I was entranced by the non-stop, mind-bottling adventure conveyed through my imagination. This book allows the reader to use their imagination in order to create images and scenarios as they would see them in real life. The story also conveys many deeper meanings. A major example is human relations. The story describes a world at the doorstep of war and everyone is thinking of themselves. This translates into human presence on Mars and the destruction of the Martians and their way of life. This scenario makes me consider how people treat each other in our society be that of violence and war. Many people jump straight to violence instead of voicing their opinions, which makes things even worse. By pointing fingers at one another, people display violence as the quick fix to every issue.
    Another example of the deeper understandings in this story is that of selfishness. Through the actions of the humans in the story, the Martian civilization is almost wiped out because of human selfishness. The characters had no concern for who the Martians were or what they were like. All they wanted was a getaway from the troubles of earth and in the end, it would cost them.
    This story will open your eyes and deepen your comprehension of the actions of others and your own. Bradbury captures the imagination and takes it through a step-by-step thrill ride of the consequences of human actions. Though they are unrealistic, it is helpful to relate these problems to those of everyday life. I encourage people to read this book and have an open mind so that you may also realize that to every action there is a consequence.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    The Martian Chronicles

    When I read the Martian Chronicles I thought it was an amazing book filled with many stories that I loved. The one that I loved the most was The Usher 2: I thought it was the best out of all of the other stories in the book because of the story itself and how it was played out as well as how I liked the characters in it (Pike being my favorite) I had also liked the way the references to edgar allen poe and the way that Mr.Stendahl had condemned the people who had lived on earth for destroying his favorite authors books and all of the others in the horror and science fiction genre. I would recommend it to anyone who likes fictional stories or anyone who likes stories like this that show what could happen to us. I think this book would be good for any high school or college student.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    Bad book

    This book is terrible. Fahreinheit 451 was ok, but this book sucks. Telepathic martians that die of chicken pox. What kind of garbage is that

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7