Customer Reviews for

The Martian Chronicles

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bradbury at his FINEST

this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another an...
this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another and give them common features is simply incredible. He even borrows from E.A Poe in one of my favorite stories. this is a must read.

posted by MaskedBandito on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

i just didn't enjoy it

We had to read this book for school, and it just wasn't MY cup of tea. Maybe its meant for someone else, but truthfully i just wanted to shut the book and throw it out the window.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Amazing Book!

    The Martian Chronicles is a fictional novel by Ray Bradbury. The book is set on the Fifth planet of Mars. You could call this novel a science fiction book since it occurs in space. This is a very interesting book. As you read it, all you will want to know is what is going to happen next. It was a well written novel using tremendous vocabulary and using many specific details. I found this book to be such a fine novel because of the way Ray Bradbury described Mars and its Creatures. I really felt like I was on the planet! The setting of this novel is the planet mars. The time period of this novel is set in the 1960¿s. It is also set on the red planet Mars. Through out the book NASA is trying to send people to Mars. They try many times, but after every expedition the people that land end up going insane or end up being murdered by the Martians. Since the book changes stories so frequently, there is never one main character. There is how ever one main goal. NASA wanting to set up civilization on Mars, expect everything always goes wrong. For example, on the second expedition, the crew is murdered by a martin psychologist who thinks the crew is a group of insane martins. This also happens on the third expedition. On this expedition the crew finds members of their family that have died in the past. The family members end up being Martins and killing them. Ray Bradbury does a fanomial job writing The Martin Chronicles. The book is a collection of short stories woven together to make a great novel. I love this idea and it made the story more enjoyable. This book is written in the third-person point of view with Bradbury narrating. If you like science fiction books then you should defiantly read The Martin Chronicles. It will keep you on the edge of your seat until you finally turn that last page.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Better than I expected

    I don't normally like science fiction, so I really didn't want to read this book but I had to for school. However, after the first chapter, I completely changed my mind. This book has some parts that you have to look closely at to pick up on, if that makes sense. Characters from the beginning come back at then end, only the author doesn't point out that it's the same people. You should try to read this book in a relatively short time span because if you read it little by little, you will probably not make some of the connections. I highly recommend this book. It is surprisingly good (and easy to summarize for school as well!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    read this its quite fun

    read this book. do it. The story was so pointless I wanted to cry in the middle of it. The main storyline is how humans will move to Mars, kill off the martians who were already living there, and then dominate the planet. After this tragic climax of a story, the author then finishes it off by having all the stupid humans from Mars move back to Earth in time to be demolished by the nuclear war that we were having back on Earth. Killing everybody. Fun huh? let me answer for you....yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Read this book!

    This book is great. I read the first chapter through, and I was hooked. The Martian Chronicles was the one book that got me hooked on reading. You should read this book, its constantly changing stories and plotlines will make you laugh at one instant, and cry at the next. This is a book that should not be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    The Marvelous Martians

    This is a great book about people from America who go to Mars to escape earth on the edge of its destruction. Each chapter will hook you quickly and you will hate to put down this great book. The first sentence in chapter 15, June 2003: Way in the Middle of the Air, the first sentence begins with:'Did you hear about it?' When I read that sentence, I was on the edge of my seat waiting to hear what happened. You never know if the earth settlers will come across some ancient Martian temple ruins, ancient Martian literature, or even Martian paintings. This book is unique and unlike any other I have read because its chapters are all short stories about humans from earth and their experiences on Mars. Even with the unusual chapteres, the book still runs fairly smooth. There are some downsides though, the book can sometimes get confusing and leave you hanging. In the 2nd chapter, the book states that Ylla hears her husband fire two shots in the distance, but you are never really sure that he shot at Nathaniel York, a man from the first American expedition, or just an animal. This is a great book that I recommend to anyone ages middle school and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    awful

    Ray definately is a talented writter. When I began reading the first chapter I was inthralled. However, no sooner I fell in love with a character and he died. the book was comprised of mostly short chapters in which a new character was introduced and then died. Because the main character changed so often there was absolutely no emotional conection. It was a horrible waste of time.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    A Total Waste of Time

    Never read this book. Ever. The story was so pointless I wanted to cry in the middle of it. The main storyline is how humans will move to Mars, kill off the martians who were already living there, and then dominate the planet. After this tragic climax of a story, the author then finishes it off by having all the stupid humans from Mars move back to Earth in time to be demolished by the nuclear war that we were having back on Earth. Killing everybody. Fun huh?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    unbelievable

    This book defines all Ray Bradbury's genius and his talent .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Best sci-fi novel ever!

    A lot of sci-fi novels are plain horrible.This one is at times not able to captivate you enough to make you forget that you've been sitt'n down a little too long, but as books go- this one's good, oh yes.The stories about the 2nd, 3rd and 4th expeditions are extremely amazing, different, cool and some times plain scary.SOLID GOLD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    A Trip

    I read this book a while ago and still haven't forgotten how great it is. I would recommend this book to any reader who likes to get blown away by a book's imagination. Ray Bradbury is an excellent author, definitely two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    BEST BOOK

    the martian chronicles is the best book ever written!! when i first read it in 6th grade, i was astounded that anyone could come up with such an amazing book!! i recommend this to anyone who loves science fiction, and great literature!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Bradbury's BEAUTIFUL MIND

    I was forced to read this book in English during a time of other mass projects. We never, ever get to read science-fiction and I was sort of excited, I don't enjoy reading 'school books' (for the exception of this one and The Catcher in the Rye). It's a wonderul book of stories about Mars and how humans civilize things. Bradbury has a sort of 'Steven Spielberg' mind, if I do say so myself. A wonderful book and I'd recommend it to anybody!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    The Martian Chronicles is the best book!

    Many authors have written about outer space adventures and finding Martians, but none as interesting and original as The Martian Chronicles. It is a science fiction book written by Ray Bradbury. Bradbury based his book in the future, relating to trips Earthmen had taken to Mars. It has an interesting story line with a few very remarkable chronicles including Usher II. It is also filled with other imaginative chronicles jam-packed with suspense. Throughout the book, The Martian Chronicles, separate stories interlock to form one full one. Each story takes place in the future, in the years 1999 through 2036. At least it was in the future when the book was written in 1950. There isn¿t a protagonist, main character, but there is one within each chronicle. They each play an important role throughout the book so that it forms one story line. The story plot of the Martian Chronicles revolves around a win lose situation. The Chronicles tell the story of a dying race of Earthmen on Earth and how they leave their home planet and arrive on Mars. They soon conquer the beings that live there in an instant and now there is a dying race of Martians on Mars. The Earthmen¿s new world might also be coming to an end as they learn that life on Mars isn¿t easy. The enchantment of the red gold deserts and bright blue waters curse the men and the planet slowly conquers them. Within Bradbury¿s novel he included a few very fascinating chronicles including Usher II, a short story about a man who was a huge fan of Edgar Allan Poe and other horror and fantasy books. This man was attempting something that had never been attempted before. It was the building of a house known as the House of Usher, and was the most scariest ¿haunted house¿ ever to be built in either of the two worlds. Inside was home to hundreds of robots with the flesh and skin of vampires, witches, mice, and so much more. Everything inside the house mimicked a part of a book, including some of Edgar Allan Poe¿s work. No one would be able to get out alive¿unless of course they were familiar with these writings. Not only this, but the man could also be sent to jail just for the construction of the house because everything to do with fantasy or horror was banned and would be destroyed. The man had a plan though to keep the house from being ruined, for he had learned from much failure, and new that the law was enforced. Did his eerie plan work? The Martian Chronicles offer many surprises, twists and turns both good and bad throughout the novel. Each character encounters unique problems they have to overcome for survival. Ray Bradbury writes a magnificent book with each Chronicle building on the one before. I fully enjoyed reading this book and I will rank it FIVE STARS with all my heart. It was defiantly time well spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Fascinating mixture of psychology and science fiction!

    Bradbury uses surreal situations to describe the pecularities of human psyche. Very enjoyable reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Those who don't like this story

    either have limited mental capacity, or maybe they just weren't paying attention when they read it. Whichever holds true, it is their loss. This book represents Bradbury's best work. His romanticist portrayl of the planet MARS as inhabited by a cultured civilization on a collision course with the human race is a metaphor of the expansion of early American settlers who encountered the Indian tribes. Like the Indians centuries before them, it is ultimately to the Martian's loss. However, there is also the additional story of discovery and of the Earthlings eventual triumph over a mysterious and different world. And finally, there is the story of a ' new beginning,' for those whom humanity has rejected and who have found a place of hope upon the red planet. A place to call their own. Truly an interesting, inspiring, timeless and fun book. Bradbury never stops teaching us about what could be, and about ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Not Worth It

    After reading Fahrenheit 451, I was eager to get my hands on another Bradbury book thinking it would move me the way Fahrenheit did. I am the type of person that has to finish something once they start it, and thats the way I felt about this book, The Martian Chronicles. It was just something I started so I had to finish. I liked the description of things, but the book had very little main story and not even a good one at that. The story was pretty much of the planet itself and what was going on. I did, however, love the part about the man who created a house of horrors, i thought that was wonderful, but that was the only part of the book that I thought was interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    this book deserves 6 out of 5 stars

    It is incredible, phenomenal, ageless. Its genius is unparallel. I've read 100s of books in my relatively short (21 years old) life, and Martian Chronicles is the only book that I've ever thought of as being absolutely perfect. I've read it SIX times, and it only gets better with every read. God (if you believe in one) could not write a better novel. Read it!! Your imagination will never taste such pleasure, and your mind will be forever thankful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    this book means something

    i love to read. i love it when the art that is literature can become something greater than the artist. i love it when people like ray bradbury use their intellect and ability to produce something as meaningful and as beautiful a piece of art as the martian chronicles. it doesn't matter how many stars are incorporated into this rating system, i would have given this book all of them. it deserves more than that... most of what i see in the world around me is meaningless, none of what i hear is worth being said. most of whats played on the radio and on tv is there for the sake of money, not the sake of art. it's target audience, trendy, commercialized dross. and then i read something like this, and it justifys life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    Martian Chronicles Lost In Space

    In response to the reviewer Bob, an 8th grader in Indiana, you are absolutely right. This is an aimless collection of tales that are as directionless as they are boring. I read this back in high school. I didn't get it then and I don't get it now, and, at the time of this review I am 41 years old with an associate degree in communications and a bachlor degree in literature. As fate would have it this book is no more exciting when made into a TV mini-series or movie than it is on paper. Your time will be better spent watching grass grow or paint dry; either one of these activities will make more sense and be far more exciting than turning the pages of this book. Heaven help me, but it's true.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    I really don't get it.

    Was this book supposed to make sense? It seems to me that it is a bunch of stories that barely relate to each other strung into a mediocre book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7