Customer Reviews for

The Martian Chronicles

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bradbury at his FINEST

this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another an...
this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another and give them common features is simply incredible. He even borrows from E.A Poe in one of my favorite stories. this is a must read.

posted by MaskedBandito on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

i just didn't enjoy it

We had to read this book for school, and it just wasn't MY cup of tea. Maybe its meant for someone else, but truthfully i just wanted to shut the book and throw it out the window.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    Martian Chronicles Lost In Space

    In response to the reviewer Bob, an 8th grader in Indiana, you are absolutely right. This is an aimless collection of tales that are as directionless as they are boring. I read this back in high school. I didn't get it then and I don't get it now, and, at the time of this review I am 41 years old with an associate degree in communications and a bachlor degree in literature. As fate would have it this book is no more exciting when made into a TV mini-series or movie than it is on paper. Your time will be better spent watching grass grow or paint dry; either one of these activities will make more sense and be far more exciting than turning the pages of this book. Heaven help me, but it's true.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    I really don't get it.

    Was this book supposed to make sense? It seems to me that it is a bunch of stories that barely relate to each other strung into a mediocre book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Great Sci-Fi

    great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    WOW!

    This is not as bad as i once thought so go out and read it. what R U waiting for... go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    I said G__ Damn

    Wow what a frightening look into the reality of Human Nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    IT RULED!!!

    This was a really great book that I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Martian Chronicles

    Man this book was a waste of my freaking time. I dont recommend reading it. It talks about aliens and dumb stuff like that. Animo School

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Martian Chronicles

    THIS IS WASTED MY TIME DONT READ IT MAIN IT IS KINDA WACK YET SOME THINGS ARE COOl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2002

    A tale that is frighteningly logical

    I enjoyed this book to the point of euphoria. The people that reviewed the book with one star obviously have no brain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    irresistibly dark

    A must-read. Realistic, sarcastic, sad, ironic, all the components of a artfully done dark story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2001

    I'm only a Sixth Grader

    I'm a Sixth Grader and I read this book. And even though you may think I couldn't understand the book, I did. And it was a very good book, Iam looking forward to buying more of Ray Bradbury's books. The way that the characters were expressed was wonderful. And it is truly a great thing when a kid can sit down and read a book all the way through and be able to understand what and where the characters were, and what the characters were feeling at each moment of the book. This book was worth every one of the 5 stars that I gave it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    human nature revealed

    Ray Bradburry gives us a great tale of the folly of human nature. The Martian Chronicles is a science fiction book that can be enjoyed by all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    Great Ironic Social Criticism in Science Fantasy Form

    This book clearly deserves more than five stars. It is one of the most moving and important set of observations about our human issues ever written in either science fiction or science fantasy form. Ray Bradbury wrote these short stories in the late 1940s at a time when we knew almost nothing about Mars. Some scientists even thought there were probably canals and the remnants of a dead or dying Martian civilization on Mars. Written as science fiction originally by Mr. Bradbury, our growing knowledge of Mars makes these assumptions science fantasy today. But don't let that shift rob these stories of their power over you. But Mars was just the setting for a more serious set of questions. Mr. Bradbury was concerned that the world was too full of hate, war, short-sightedness, and greed to amount to much. He despaired as to whether humans would survive the discovery of the atomic bomb. From this raw material of human excess, he stitched together a powerful vision of our choices -- to operate at our best . . . or our worst. He appeals to our better selves in a vivid way that will be unforgettable to you, if you are like me. The development of the book has an interesting history. Mr. Bradbury was in his late twenties, and had written quite a few short stories. While visiting New York, he showed his short stories to publishers who liked them. The publishers advised him that there was a market for novels, but not much of one for books of short stories. Then one night it hit him, he had the raw material for a novel about Mars if he simply wrote a few transition stories to fit with ones he had already written. He sat up late that night writing the book proposal, and sold it the next day. That concept became The Martian Chronicles. Mr. Bradbury had recently read Winesburg, Ohio and was impressed by that book with the potential to use a series of stories as a way to tell a community's history. It seemed natural to use that structure for his Martian book. The book covers a time period from 1999 through 2026, starting with the first manned expedition to Mars from Earth. The American astronauts do find Martians. The complications of the first four expeditions come from the interactions between humans and Martians, and are unexpected and intriguing. The stories explore the implications of a race being telepathic in very revealing ways. Much of the human colonization of Mars in the book pits those who want to recreate Earth against those who appreciate what is special about Mars. So exploitation versus conservation is one theme in the book. As a backdrop for the stories, you will read about all of the themes of the Westward migration in the United States from the eradication of the native peoples and culture, to excess exploitation of natural resources, to the desire to be free of 'civilized' society. There are wonderful stories in here against racisim, censorship of books (which became the basis of Mr. Bradbury's later book, 'Farenheit 451'), and war. Towards the end of the book is a lovely sequence of three stories about the various meanings of loneliness. I particularly recommend them. The first looks at men and women seeking each other out when there is no other company. The second considers the loss of a family and how to cope with that. The third looks ruefully at the aftermath of a nuclear holocaust. The last story in The Martian Chronicles, 'The Million-Year Picnic,' causes me to shiver and moves me almost to tears every time I think about it. From that story, you will be able to answer the famous question in the book, 'Who are the Martians?' By the way, the book is much better than the movie. If you think you know the story from the movie, I suggest you read the book. If you have a choice of one or the other, I definitely suggest the book. By the way, years later Mr. Bradbury reviewed this book and commented that the world had turned out much better than he had hoped. He said that would have wri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    Absolutely Wonderful

    I was in awe at how incredibly well-done this book is. The Earthmen were developed great and the way the Martains were described it seemed as if he knew them personally. [Ray] Bradbury and [Douglas] Adams are my favorite writers and they have inspired me to write my own stories. If it wasn't already the year 2001 this book would have scared the Bejesus out of me. Everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    this is a really awesome book

    I read this book in seventh grade, and i was really amazed. Definitely a must read for sci-fi lovers. I really enjoyed the character of Spender.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2001

    Master of Mood Raises Important Issues

    'The Martian Chronicles' is essentially a mood piece, closer in tone to 'Dandelion Wine' than to a more conventional sci-fi account like 'Fahrenheit 451.' It is true that the Martian natives have wheeled vehicles, video (or movies), play stringed musical instruments and eat meat, but Bradbury stresses their difference to us, not their similarities. For example, the Martians are slowly dying out due to lack of water. Yet they are a highly telepathic race and they put that innate talent to good use when the Yanks show up (to say more would be to ruin the plot). In this book, Bradbury shows a concern for subjects like genocide, racism, culture-centrism and American arrogance that were literally 30 years ahead of the times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    Confusing

    I read this book for a book report and test I am a seventh grader and I found it to be rather confusing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    It really makes you think

    I read this book in 6th grade and I've been a Bradbury fan ever since. After Martian Chronicles I read Fahrenheit 451, Dandelion Wine, The Halloween Tree, and right now I'm reading Something Wicked This Way Comes. All of them were great but this one was the best. It makes you think about all the things that could be. It tears down all the barriers of the human mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    The look at Mars in the future

    I thought the book had a good view of the future on Mars. I also thought Ray was very good in putting images in his words. I felt like I was one of the crew on Ma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    good book

    This book keeps you reading you never want to put it down. It all ties together in each chapter. It's a bunch of short chapters that relate to each other. I higly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 7