Customer Reviews for

The Martian Chronicles

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bradbury at his FINEST

this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another an...
this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another and give them common features is simply incredible. He even borrows from E.A Poe in one of my favorite stories. this is a must read.

posted by MaskedBandito on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

i just didn't enjoy it

We had to read this book for school, and it just wasn't MY cup of tea. Maybe its meant for someone else, but truthfully i just wanted to shut the book and throw it out the window.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    i just didn't enjoy it

    We had to read this book for school, and it just wasn't MY cup of tea. Maybe its meant for someone else, but truthfully i just wanted to shut the book and throw it out the window.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    Bad book

    This book is terrible. Fahreinheit 451 was ok, but this book sucks. Telepathic martians that die of chicken pox. What kind of garbage is that

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    awful

    Ray definately is a talented writter. When I began reading the first chapter I was inthralled. However, no sooner I fell in love with a character and he died. the book was comprised of mostly short chapters in which a new character was introduced and then died. Because the main character changed so often there was absolutely no emotional conection. It was a horrible waste of time.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    A Total Waste of Time

    Never read this book. Ever. The story was so pointless I wanted to cry in the middle of it. The main storyline is how humans will move to Mars, kill off the martians who were already living there, and then dominate the planet. After this tragic climax of a story, the author then finishes it off by having all the stupid humans from Mars move back to Earth in time to be demolished by the nuclear war that we were having back on Earth. Killing everybody. Fun huh?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Not Worth It

    After reading Fahrenheit 451, I was eager to get my hands on another Bradbury book thinking it would move me the way Fahrenheit did. I am the type of person that has to finish something once they start it, and thats the way I felt about this book, The Martian Chronicles. It was just something I started so I had to finish. I liked the description of things, but the book had very little main story and not even a good one at that. The story was pretty much of the planet itself and what was going on. I did, however, love the part about the man who created a house of horrors, i thought that was wonderful, but that was the only part of the book that I thought was interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    Martian Chronicles Lost In Space

    In response to the reviewer Bob, an 8th grader in Indiana, you are absolutely right. This is an aimless collection of tales that are as directionless as they are boring. I read this back in high school. I didn't get it then and I don't get it now, and, at the time of this review I am 41 years old with an associate degree in communications and a bachlor degree in literature. As fate would have it this book is no more exciting when made into a TV mini-series or movie than it is on paper. Your time will be better spent watching grass grow or paint dry; either one of these activities will make more sense and be far more exciting than turning the pages of this book. Heaven help me, but it's true.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Martian Chronicles

    Man this book was a waste of my freaking time. I dont recommend reading it. It talks about aliens and dumb stuff like that. Animo School

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1