Customer Reviews for

The Martian Chronicles

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bradbury at his FINEST

this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another an...
this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another and give them common features is simply incredible. He even borrows from E.A Poe in one of my favorite stories. this is a must read.

posted by MaskedBandito on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

i just didn't enjoy it

We had to read this book for school, and it just wasn't MY cup of tea. Maybe its meant for someone else, but truthfully i just wanted to shut the book and throw it out the window.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bradbury at his FINEST

    this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another and give them common features is simply incredible. He even borrows from E.A Poe in one of my favorite stories. this is a must read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Martian Chronicles Ray Bradbury’s recent passing crea

    The Martian Chronicles

    Ray Bradbury’s recent passing created an opportunity to reread some of his stories and novels. No, I don’t like all that Bradbury wrote, but his whimsical, lyrical style always attracted me. He could create a world of “Firemen” in Fahrenheit 451 or the mysterious characters of “The Illustrated Man” and leave me entranced.

    The Martian Chronicles was no exception!

    First Impressions:

    The book itself is a loosely-knit series of short stories, one leading to the next, in date order in the writer’s 21st century future. Here we have Earth that is looking towards Mars as a haven from the brewing atomic wars and rumors of such. What impressed me was the stylized characters and fleshed-out civilizations and how both Martian and Earthman deal with each other, as well as their own jealousies and prejudices.

    Stories!

    I won’t bore the reader with a mini-review of each tale, but the few that I really liked involved some of the crazy characters – one an off-kilter man, Spender, part of a crew from the Fourth Expedition, who didn’t want to see Mars commercialized as he looked upon the dead Martian civilization (destroyed by Man’s diseases – holy War of the Worlds!) and decides to kill off his own men and keep the planet pristine! That plan does not go over well with Captain Wilder. The darkness of the story and its clear criticism of colonialism were enticing to me.

    The other story I really liked involved the last colonists on Mars (the rest being called back to Earth because of atomic war) who missed the last rocket, and gets lonely. Far off, he hears a phone ring. He finally finds who rang it, hoping for some female company, but the guy isn’t so lonely that he does not have standards!

    Finally, the tale of a Martian and an Earth worker, both going to a party driving in their respective vehicles and meet each other on a lonely road – 10,000 years apart! Crazy.

    Bottom Line: Most of the stories flow well one to the other. Ray does reflect some of the 1940s’ style prejudices of the time which may put off modern readers, but if you read Ray’s poetic style in its historic context, you too will see that a lot of his criticism and satire is still quite relevant.

    Highly recommended!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Fantastic Book! i read this book back in high school in science

    Fantastic Book!

    i read this book back in high school in science fiction class. at the time i thought it was boring and dull. BUT i have reread it 4 years later. i must say this book is a classic! (having realized that i was just a Jr. in high school who hated to read) know that i am older i see the sheer genius of this book, the child like imagination with a philosophical massage, and the , dare i say, suspense Bradbury throws in. mans inhumanity to hes fellow man and others from another world. if you are a sifi buff this is the book for you!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    1

    After lord of rings this is best book ever written. It opened my imagination to read wow books can be likee that it made me avid reader. Amazing stories sad profound.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ray Bradbury is a MASTER!

    I read this as an adolescent and have recently read it again as an adult. Bradbury never disappoints! I enjoyed it even more in my "old age". The complexity of the story that lost me as a child (not that I knew it at the time) intrigued me to no end! Bradbury has always been one of my favs and it was nice to sit down with an old "friend"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Read and re-read

    One of the books that all should read, even those not attracted to science-fiction. Though written in the beginnings of the "sci-fi" era it is particularly appropriate in an age that still hasn't learned to protect the environment, the differences in cultural heritage, or appreciate the beauty of things uncommon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    This is good

    Im a 16 year old and i read these books after i saw the movie and im impresed with the style and quality

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Excellent!

    We are very happy with this transaction. It was shipped immediately and the book was exactly as it had been described. We would definitely purchase again. thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Fantastic Book!

    Introduction- The story is about Earth going through a nuclear war and everyone one that can tries to travel to mars to escape the madness.

    Description and summary of main points-In the story three Earth men travel to the red planet in search of life and to repopulate. Threw many events and problems, they work threw them.

    Evaluation-Ray Bradbury focuses on other characters instead of just the main ones. He changes off story line and shows the other events that occur and actually turn out fantastic!

    Conclusion-The Martian Chronicles is a very well written book. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys science fiction novels.

    Your final review-Great book, everyone should try to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Best Science Fiction Book Ever!

    "The Martian Chronicles" is the best science fiction book I've ever read. Bradbury did an excellent job depicting what could happen to planet Earth, and how we would handle it. This book opens up the imagination, and shapes it in a different way.
    When mankind decides to send rockets over to Mars, the first few times do not end well. The Martians end up killing all of humans in the rockets that were sent. Then, however, after the Martians are killed off from Chicken Pox, the humans decide colonize Mars and plant trees, because their own world is struggling in chaos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    It's still fantastic!

    Ray Bradbury is a poet at heart and is a great writer. Many of his writings are foundations in our literature and culture. 'Martian Chronicles' makes a person think a lot while entertaining greatly. Everyone should read it. 'Martian Chronicles' is still extremely relavent today and will be tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Collection of short stories

    First of all, I love Bradbury's concept of combining short stories to form a novel. Each story can stand alone, yet the cumulative result is an outstanding and creative work about the nature of man and Bradbury's unrepressed imagination. Many people travel to Mars to escape man's overconsumption and evil nature, especially in regards to atomic war. But Man brings the same destructive nature and fears to Mars that he tried to leave behind on Earth. Obviously, I enjoyed some of the stories more than others, and individuals can form their own opinions about each story; even so, I recommend this to all who enjoy sci-fi and admire original work from a very talented writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    The Martian Chronicles

    When I read the Martian Chronicles I thought it was an amazing book filled with many stories that I loved. The one that I loved the most was The Usher 2: I thought it was the best out of all of the other stories in the book because of the story itself and how it was played out as well as how I liked the characters in it (Pike being my favorite) I had also liked the way the references to edgar allen poe and the way that Mr.Stendahl had condemned the people who had lived on earth for destroying his favorite authors books and all of the others in the horror and science fiction genre. I would recommend it to anyone who likes fictional stories or anyone who likes stories like this that show what could happen to us. I think this book would be good for any high school or college student.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Better than I expected

    I don't normally like science fiction, so I really didn't want to read this book but I had to for school. However, after the first chapter, I completely changed my mind. This book has some parts that you have to look closely at to pick up on, if that makes sense. Characters from the beginning come back at then end, only the author doesn't point out that it's the same people. You should try to read this book in a relatively short time span because if you read it little by little, you will probably not make some of the connections. I highly recommend this book. It is surprisingly good (and easy to summarize for school as well!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    read this its quite fun

    read this book. do it. The story was so pointless I wanted to cry in the middle of it. The main storyline is how humans will move to Mars, kill off the martians who were already living there, and then dominate the planet. After this tragic climax of a story, the author then finishes it off by having all the stupid humans from Mars move back to Earth in time to be demolished by the nuclear war that we were having back on Earth. Killing everybody. Fun huh? let me answer for you....yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Read this book!

    This book is great. I read the first chapter through, and I was hooked. The Martian Chronicles was the one book that got me hooked on reading. You should read this book, its constantly changing stories and plotlines will make you laugh at one instant, and cry at the next. This is a book that should not be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    unbelievable

    This book defines all Ray Bradbury's genius and his talent .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Best sci-fi novel ever!

    A lot of sci-fi novels are plain horrible.This one is at times not able to captivate you enough to make you forget that you've been sitt'n down a little too long, but as books go- this one's good, oh yes.The stories about the 2nd, 3rd and 4th expeditions are extremely amazing, different, cool and some times plain scary.SOLID GOLD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    A Trip

    I read this book a while ago and still haven't forgotten how great it is. I would recommend this book to any reader who likes to get blown away by a book's imagination. Ray Bradbury is an excellent author, definitely two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    BEST BOOK

    the martian chronicles is the best book ever written!! when i first read it in 6th grade, i was astounded that anyone could come up with such an amazing book!! i recommend this to anyone who loves science fiction, and great literature!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4