Customer Reviews for

The Martian Chronicles

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bradbury at his FINEST

this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another an...
this book was truly an amazing read. i've read sci-fi before but never like this. I read it 3 years ago and to this day it is one of the best books i have ever read. The way Bradbury can compile short stories in this book and somehow relate every story to one another and give them common features is simply incredible. He even borrows from E.A Poe in one of my favorite stories. this is a must read.

posted by MaskedBandito on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

i just didn't enjoy it

We had to read this book for school, and it just wasn't MY cup of tea. Maybe its meant for someone else, but truthfully i just wanted to shut the book and throw it out the window.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Bradbury's BEAUTIFUL MIND

    I was forced to read this book in English during a time of other mass projects. We never, ever get to read science-fiction and I was sort of excited, I don't enjoy reading 'school books' (for the exception of this one and The Catcher in the Rye). It's a wonderul book of stories about Mars and how humans civilize things. Bradbury has a sort of 'Steven Spielberg' mind, if I do say so myself. A wonderful book and I'd recommend it to anybody!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    The Martian Chronicles is the best book!

    Many authors have written about outer space adventures and finding Martians, but none as interesting and original as The Martian Chronicles. It is a science fiction book written by Ray Bradbury. Bradbury based his book in the future, relating to trips Earthmen had taken to Mars. It has an interesting story line with a few very remarkable chronicles including Usher II. It is also filled with other imaginative chronicles jam-packed with suspense. Throughout the book, The Martian Chronicles, separate stories interlock to form one full one. Each story takes place in the future, in the years 1999 through 2036. At least it was in the future when the book was written in 1950. There isn¿t a protagonist, main character, but there is one within each chronicle. They each play an important role throughout the book so that it forms one story line. The story plot of the Martian Chronicles revolves around a win lose situation. The Chronicles tell the story of a dying race of Earthmen on Earth and how they leave their home planet and arrive on Mars. They soon conquer the beings that live there in an instant and now there is a dying race of Martians on Mars. The Earthmen¿s new world might also be coming to an end as they learn that life on Mars isn¿t easy. The enchantment of the red gold deserts and bright blue waters curse the men and the planet slowly conquers them. Within Bradbury¿s novel he included a few very fascinating chronicles including Usher II, a short story about a man who was a huge fan of Edgar Allan Poe and other horror and fantasy books. This man was attempting something that had never been attempted before. It was the building of a house known as the House of Usher, and was the most scariest ¿haunted house¿ ever to be built in either of the two worlds. Inside was home to hundreds of robots with the flesh and skin of vampires, witches, mice, and so much more. Everything inside the house mimicked a part of a book, including some of Edgar Allan Poe¿s work. No one would be able to get out alive¿unless of course they were familiar with these writings. Not only this, but the man could also be sent to jail just for the construction of the house because everything to do with fantasy or horror was banned and would be destroyed. The man had a plan though to keep the house from being ruined, for he had learned from much failure, and new that the law was enforced. Did his eerie plan work? The Martian Chronicles offer many surprises, twists and turns both good and bad throughout the novel. Each character encounters unique problems they have to overcome for survival. Ray Bradbury writes a magnificent book with each Chronicle building on the one before. I fully enjoyed reading this book and I will rank it FIVE STARS with all my heart. It was defiantly time well spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Fascinating mixture of psychology and science fiction!

    Bradbury uses surreal situations to describe the pecularities of human psyche. Very enjoyable reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Those who don't like this story

    either have limited mental capacity, or maybe they just weren't paying attention when they read it. Whichever holds true, it is their loss. This book represents Bradbury's best work. His romanticist portrayl of the planet MARS as inhabited by a cultured civilization on a collision course with the human race is a metaphor of the expansion of early American settlers who encountered the Indian tribes. Like the Indians centuries before them, it is ultimately to the Martian's loss. However, there is also the additional story of discovery and of the Earthlings eventual triumph over a mysterious and different world. And finally, there is the story of a ' new beginning,' for those whom humanity has rejected and who have found a place of hope upon the red planet. A place to call their own. Truly an interesting, inspiring, timeless and fun book. Bradbury never stops teaching us about what could be, and about ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    this book deserves 6 out of 5 stars

    It is incredible, phenomenal, ageless. Its genius is unparallel. I've read 100s of books in my relatively short (21 years old) life, and Martian Chronicles is the only book that I've ever thought of as being absolutely perfect. I've read it SIX times, and it only gets better with every read. God (if you believe in one) could not write a better novel. Read it!! Your imagination will never taste such pleasure, and your mind will be forever thankful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    this book means something

    i love to read. i love it when the art that is literature can become something greater than the artist. i love it when people like ray bradbury use their intellect and ability to produce something as meaningful and as beautiful a piece of art as the martian chronicles. it doesn't matter how many stars are incorporated into this rating system, i would have given this book all of them. it deserves more than that... most of what i see in the world around me is meaningless, none of what i hear is worth being said. most of whats played on the radio and on tv is there for the sake of money, not the sake of art. it's target audience, trendy, commercialized dross. and then i read something like this, and it justifys life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Great Sci-Fi

    great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    WOW!

    This is not as bad as i once thought so go out and read it. what R U waiting for... go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    I said G__ Damn

    Wow what a frightening look into the reality of Human Nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    IT RULED!!!

    This was a really great book that I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Martian Chronicles

    THIS IS WASTED MY TIME DONT READ IT MAIN IT IS KINDA WACK YET SOME THINGS ARE COOl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2002

    A tale that is frighteningly logical

    I enjoyed this book to the point of euphoria. The people that reviewed the book with one star obviously have no brain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    irresistibly dark

    A must-read. Realistic, sarcastic, sad, ironic, all the components of a artfully done dark story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2001

    I'm only a Sixth Grader

    I'm a Sixth Grader and I read this book. And even though you may think I couldn't understand the book, I did. And it was a very good book, Iam looking forward to buying more of Ray Bradbury's books. The way that the characters were expressed was wonderful. And it is truly a great thing when a kid can sit down and read a book all the way through and be able to understand what and where the characters were, and what the characters were feeling at each moment of the book. This book was worth every one of the 5 stars that I gave it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    Great Ironic Social Criticism in Science Fantasy Form

    This book clearly deserves more than five stars. It is one of the most moving and important set of observations about our human issues ever written in either science fiction or science fantasy form. Ray Bradbury wrote these short stories in the late 1940s at a time when we knew almost nothing about Mars. Some scientists even thought there were probably canals and the remnants of a dead or dying Martian civilization on Mars. Written as science fiction originally by Mr. Bradbury, our growing knowledge of Mars makes these assumptions science fantasy today. But don't let that shift rob these stories of their power over you. But Mars was just the setting for a more serious set of questions. Mr. Bradbury was concerned that the world was too full of hate, war, short-sightedness, and greed to amount to much. He despaired as to whether humans would survive the discovery of the atomic bomb. From this raw material of human excess, he stitched together a powerful vision of our choices -- to operate at our best . . . or our worst. He appeals to our better selves in a vivid way that will be unforgettable to you, if you are like me. The development of the book has an interesting history. Mr. Bradbury was in his late twenties, and had written quite a few short stories. While visiting New York, he showed his short stories to publishers who liked them. The publishers advised him that there was a market for novels, but not much of one for books of short stories. Then one night it hit him, he had the raw material for a novel about Mars if he simply wrote a few transition stories to fit with ones he had already written. He sat up late that night writing the book proposal, and sold it the next day. That concept became The Martian Chronicles. Mr. Bradbury had recently read Winesburg, Ohio and was impressed by that book with the potential to use a series of stories as a way to tell a community's history. It seemed natural to use that structure for his Martian book. The book covers a time period from 1999 through 2026, starting with the first manned expedition to Mars from Earth. The American astronauts do find Martians. The complications of the first four expeditions come from the interactions between humans and Martians, and are unexpected and intriguing. The stories explore the implications of a race being telepathic in very revealing ways. Much of the human colonization of Mars in the book pits those who want to recreate Earth against those who appreciate what is special about Mars. So exploitation versus conservation is one theme in the book. As a backdrop for the stories, you will read about all of the themes of the Westward migration in the United States from the eradication of the native peoples and culture, to excess exploitation of natural resources, to the desire to be free of 'civilized' society. There are wonderful stories in here against racisim, censorship of books (which became the basis of Mr. Bradbury's later book, 'Farenheit 451'), and war. Towards the end of the book is a lovely sequence of three stories about the various meanings of loneliness. I particularly recommend them. The first looks at men and women seeking each other out when there is no other company. The second considers the loss of a family and how to cope with that. The third looks ruefully at the aftermath of a nuclear holocaust. The last story in The Martian Chronicles, 'The Million-Year Picnic,' causes me to shiver and moves me almost to tears every time I think about it. From that story, you will be able to answer the famous question in the book, 'Who are the Martians?' By the way, the book is much better than the movie. If you think you know the story from the movie, I suggest you read the book. If you have a choice of one or the other, I definitely suggest the book. By the way, years later Mr. Bradbury reviewed this book and commented that the world had turned out much better than he had hoped. He said that would have wri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    this is a really awesome book

    I read this book in seventh grade, and i was really amazed. Definitely a must read for sci-fi lovers. I really enjoyed the character of Spender.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    It really makes you think

    I read this book in 6th grade and I've been a Bradbury fan ever since. After Martian Chronicles I read Fahrenheit 451, Dandelion Wine, The Halloween Tree, and right now I'm reading Something Wicked This Way Comes. All of them were great but this one was the best. It makes you think about all the things that could be. It tears down all the barriers of the human mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    The look at Mars in the future

    I thought the book had a good view of the future on Mars. I also thought Ray was very good in putting images in his words. I felt like I was one of the crew on Ma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    good book

    This book keeps you reading you never want to put it down. It all ties together in each chapter. It's a bunch of short chapters that relate to each other. I higly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    This Book Is a Must Read

    I went to my high school library for a book for a book report.I didnt want to read one but i had to when I saw this book on the s-f shelf I remembered a friend talkin about it.So I checked it out and when i read the 1st page I wanted to read more.It almost made me feel like I was on Bradburys Mars.I could imagine it.YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4