Customer Reviews for

The Martian Tales Trilogy: A Princess of Mars, The Gods of Mars, and The Warlord of Mars (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading)

Average Rating 4
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An Epic Science Fiction that is exciting from start to finish:

I read Burroughs (Tarzan, Martian tales) when I was growing up and thoroughly enjoyed them then. A recent read proved just as entertaining: from start to finish the redoubtable John Carter faces and dispatches obstacles in various martian regions.

Notwithstandi...
I read Burroughs (Tarzan, Martian tales) when I was growing up and thoroughly enjoyed them then. A recent read proved just as entertaining: from start to finish the redoubtable John Carter faces and dispatches obstacles in various martian regions.

Notwithstanding the sometimes predictable plot, I found it hard to put the book down till I finished.

An Epic Science Fiction!

posted by webapplications on October 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great book, horrible edition

This is a great, fun series to read. However, the edition published by Barnes & Noble is absolutely awful. I have never seen so many typos in a book in my life. There are probably 4 or 5 very obvious typos and mistakes in every single chapter. It's quite distracting. It...
This is a great, fun series to read. However, the edition published by Barnes & Noble is absolutely awful. I have never seen so many typos in a book in my life. There are probably 4 or 5 very obvious typos and mistakes in every single chapter. It's quite distracting. It's a shame that Barnes & Noble does not care about the quality of the books they publish. I would recommend seeking out an edition of the book published by someone else.

posted by Darsa on December 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    Without Development

    Consider this: A story that is action packed, filled with adventure, and yet, somehow it lacks the punch by the end that it should have. Now to run this out in the clear, Edgar Rice Burroughs is a great writer as far as lush descriptions and interesting dialogue are concerned. It's in his characterizations that he falters. This story in three parts is a romantic adventure, the two most important characters being Dejah Thoris and the heroic narrator John Carter, who both find each other as prisoners of the green Barsoomians. But why the three stars, you might wonder? The story leaves an empty feeling by the end, as if after all is said and done, you realize that John Carter, after killing his foes, or after regrettably extinguishing the life of another, never really feels a bit of guilt. If he were to take a bit more time for reflection we might realize that what drives him is something much more complex than the love he owns for Dejah Thoris, Princess of Mars. And yet, we never understand this because it is never explained. He has friends, yes, but they seem inconsequential, as if they're there solely to guide him through whatever conflict had then arisen. It's not a mess, though, not at all. The narrative is lush and provocative, and it draws you in from the start, and while the story goes on you feel nothing in there is extraneous--albeit sometimes calculated--but it would help if the narrator himself was a bit more introspective, and more considerate, rather than having his identity be reduced merely down to his fighting talents and his love for Dejah Thoris. During these three tales I wondered how the events could seem so necessary yet, the character development manages to run out after the first in the series. 'A Princess of Mars' might be called the best of the three, if only because the good author introduces us to everybody and we get acquainted and realize that it wouldn't be so bad after all to come back. But then by the second we might realize that everything has been said about these people, and so they're not as interesting as they should be.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    This series is an interesting mix of rich imagination and plot p

    This series is an interesting mix of rich imagination and plot predictability. The books were written a century ago, almost at the dawn of SF. The modern reader may feel it is a bit dated. Burroughs reveals a rich imagination in his conception of Mars, its societies and ecologies. Character development was not a priority, and the plot often bumps along at the comic book level. By the time I reached the third book in this volume, I was often able to predict exactly what was going to happen several pages in advance of the author's actual delivery.

    I enjoyed the books. Burrough's world of Barsoom (Mars) and its hero John Carter are deservedly considered classics. But I think I would have preferred to read these books piecemeal, rather than as a single volume, one after the other. Another serious problem with this B&N edition is the incredibly high number of typos in the book. I half-joked to a friend that the text must have been generated by playing an audio recording of the book to some error-prone voice-recognition software. Because of this, I’m sorry to say I will think twice before I knowing buy another paperback published by B&N.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    It was free so i read it.

    The writing follow a victorian era heroic type novel. The storyline was ok, and i enjoyed it enough to finish the whole series. I probably woul have liked it more when i was ten though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    enjoyed the story. but too many spelling errors. very often th was spelled m. words were shortened by syllables, ex sodity instead of solidarity. ...

    no detailed review. enjoyed the imagination of writer though of course nowadays we know that none of that is true.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2