Customer Reviews for

Martin the Warrior (Redwall Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read First in the Serries!

    Jacques 6th novel in the Redwall serries is a must read first for any one starting the Redwall serries. Martin the warrior is a key character who is essential in all of the books in the serries & his begginings as chronicled in this book helps set the stage for the others. this one by far is my favorite of all the books and i find it an excellent read overall. For a sort of Triligical beginning of the serries i recomend this book followed by Mossflower & the Ledgend of Luke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite Childhood Book

    Only a man like Brian Jacques to bring tears to my eyes because of a story about mice. Martin the Warrior was a book that I read back in fifth grade, then re-read last week in the tenth grade. The story never ceases to amaze me. In the world of Redwall, animals both good and bad come together and adventure. One of the best qualities of the Redwall series as a whole is that you can start anywhere you want. Martin the Warrior is the sixth in the series and I read it first. It'd be more beneficial to read it in order, but it really doesn't matter.
    Martin the Warrior follows the brave and bold warrior Martin, son of Luke, Redwall's previous glorified hero. Martin spends the entire book fighting off an evil tyrant named Badrang. The story proves that no matter how daunting or unnerving you're opposition may appear, you must endure. I loved how amazingly easy it was to enjoy this book and how you could relate to it still knowing that the whole time, you're reading about animals. The only thing I disliked was how it dragged on. It felt there was many parts he could've just scrapped without changing the ending in any way. It can also be a bit hard to understand the dialogue of the moles due to the way their accent is written, however, one shouldn't set this book aside merely for those couple of flaws. Many should read this book, especially if you're young like me for the simple fact that it will make you a better reader. I have the Redwall series to thank for much of my literary knowledge.
    For recommendations, I highly, highly recommend the entire Redwall series. My personal favorites are The Legend of Luke, Lord Brocktree, and Outcast of Redwall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Martin the Warrior

    In Martin the Warrior Lord Badrang has many slaves in his fortress of Marshank. Martin, son of Luke the Warrior, promised his father he would keep his sword safe but Badrang took it from him and enslaved him. Over the seasons Martin grew stronger. He finally escaped with the help of some new friends. He was thrown in the dugeon by lord badrang along with two others. Brome and Feldoh were in the dungeon with him. Brome's sister Rose and her friend Grumm helped them escape. When they were running away from Marshank they ran into badrang's enemy Tramun Clogg. They tried to swim away but they were separated when a big fish tried to attack them. Brome and Feldoh wandered around for a while and met the Rambling Rosehip Players. Rose, Martin, and Grumm were taken captive by a tribe of Pygmy shrews. They met Pallum who was also a slave of the pygmy shrews. They earned their freedom when Dinjer the son of Queen Amballa was taken by a seabird. Martin raced up the cliff and saved Dinjer. The Rambling Rosehip players helped to free some slaves. Martin, Rose, Grumm, and Pallum made an army with the help of some friends. They got to Marshank just as Brome and Felldoh's army was about to be defeated. There were many positives in this book like it was funny, there was always something going on, and all of the characters were animals. These are positives for me because I like funny books. I also like it when there is always something or more than one thing going on in the story. I also like animals as characters because it makes the book more interesting. There was one negative I found in the book and it was that there was too much war, but all the Redwall books I've read have had alot of war in them. The writing style of Brian Jacques is that he is very descriptive. He has many adventures going on at once. He switches back and forth between them. Brian Jacques tells the story by making a character tell it from third person omniscient point of view. This character did not witness these events but tells the story to another character. In Redwall Abbey there is a tapestry with a picture of Martin on it and a traveler named Aubritia asks Father Saxtus if he knows alot about Martin, he does not and she tells him the story. The characters speak in different dialect, the moles "oi" instead of "i" and they and "n"s before "d"s and "t"s. The hares say "jolly", "chap", and " wot wot". I would recommend this book to kids around the age of 12 because there is alot of fighting and some of the characters names are hard to pronounce. I wouldn't recommend this book to extreme animal lovers because weasels, rats, and stoats get killed often in the book. Some similar books are Redwall, Mossflower, Mattimeo, Mariel of Redwall, and Salamandastron. I think that Martin the Warrior is a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Wonderful, Pure Genious

    It's emotionaly and physicaly involving, it's sure to bring laughs upon laughs, and mabye the occasional tear. 5/5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    ...

    This was the first book I read out of the Redwall series, and I was impressed by the descriptions. It is rare that I read a book where surroundings are described as vividly as in this book. Not only was I drawn into the story, but I was able to envision it, live it. Only master storytellers are able to create words that are worth a thousand pictures, and Brian Jaques is among the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    I LOVED IT!!!!!

    This is one of my favorite books!!!!! I love books about animals!! A MUST read!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Best book ever!

    This book is the best! I am a #1 Redwall fan! I have the movie for this book. buy it at barnes and noble under foriegn film. In the book Rose dies by hitting her head against the wall. in the movie she gets stabbed by martin's sword. also the movie is way sadder than the book. in the book martin and rose never confess their love for one another, but they do in the movie! ( rose kisses martin!) everyone wishes that rose had lived, but if she had she and martin would of married and lived in noonvale, and redwall would never be built and mossflower would not be in peace.i'm writting a fanfic where martin and rose and several other redwallers live in modern times and go to middle school. rose is martin's girlfriend and they beat up badrang. happy reading fellow redwallers!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    A Mouse Warrior With A Brave Heart!

    Two thumbs up for Brian Jacques! This awesome book is very descriptive and very exciting. My favorite quote of this book was when Martin says 'I will live to take back my fathers sword and slay you Badrang!' I like it because it tells the reader that Martin is not scared for what is yet to come. The high point in this story is when Martin, Rose, Grumm, and Brome run away from Fort Marshtank and while they are escaping they get separated. The next time they see each other there is a raging battle and they are fighting side by side. Do you think they can win it? I like this book because I have always liked Brain Jacques's writing and I like fantasy and wars a lot like when Captain Cloggs tries to take over Fort Marshtank. If you do too this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    A true Redwaller

    A wonderful book!Brovo Mr. Jacques!!If you are a redwall fan and dont have this book, then go to Barns and Noble now and get it!And if your a reader who is looking 4 a book, look no ferther.This book is about a warrior mouse named martin who is a slave under the rule of an eivl stoat named badrang.And with the help of his friends martin can free all the slaves of Marshank and reclaim the sword of luke [his father] witch badrang stole from him when he was yonger.Most people think its wierd to think that animals can talk, but if you like redwall then who cares what those people think.It's completly createve and a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Two giant thumbs up!

    I couldn't put this book down! It had so much emotion! It was sad and funny and very, very exciting! I cried at the end, but that only made me love the more! I know it's just a made up story, but I sort of feel like it's real! Martin's story goes straight to your heart! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    this has to one of the best books in the series

    This is deffinitly is one of my favorite installments in the Redwall series the plot is terrific

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    THE BOOK YOU WANT TO READ BEFORE YOU DIE!

    I cannot put into words how good this book is! This is the best book I have read. Brian Jacques does a great job on describing the characters. In fact he gets you to know the characters so well that when a character you've grown attached to suddendly dies you're torn apart and think ,'How could this happen?!?!?'Anyway... this book has everything a good book should have. Vividly described characters, Stunningly explaned scenery,tons of action and good food! A book that's not to be overlooked-A work of art. P.S. You don't even have to read the books that came before this one. I didn't!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    WOW

    This book is an awesome edition for the Redwall series! I never put it down and even have it on CD's so i can listen to it while I fall asleep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    THIS BOOK ROCKS

    This book kepted me going until the end. I highly advise you to read this book. One more thing, I hope there are more great books like this from Brain Jacques.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    very good book!!!!!!

    it was a very good book!!!!sad,funny,exiting!!!!if you want to read the e first in the seris then read lord brocktree!!!!! ill love this!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    You Should Realy Read This Book!

    By far the best in the Redwall series, Martin the Warrior displays consepts usually unknown to the series. It is powerful and in depth. The truly devistating ending adds to the quality of the book (though we all wish it could be different). The action is nail-biting and the detail phenominal. It will make you say, 'Who says rodents can't be cool!?!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Brian Jacques + Martin the Warrior = Cool!!!

    The sixth book in the Redwall series is one of the best... whereas it has elaborate details, humor, delicious meals and creative names. It's a bit better than Redwall though... but Martin's first adventure packs a wallop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    WOW!!!

    This is a fantastic book that is VERY hard to put down. Martin the Warrior is fantastic from start to finish and never stops thrilling you. It is about a young mouse named Martin with a warrior's heart who is captured by Badrang the Tyrant and taken to his evil fortress of Marshank. Martin desperately desires freedom and plans to gather an army to defeat the Tyrant and rid the land of this horrible evil...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    Outstandingly written your nose is glued in!!!

    My favorite author has done it again in a great tale of the legend that started it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    This great book will have you hungry for the rest of the series after you get through with the first of a imaculate series, Redwall.

    If you are looking for a good book that will be egging you to read the rest of the series, I have the book for you!Martin the Warrior the second book of the Redwall series, is an emotional story that represents love,care,bravery,courage,and best of all revange! This story is a great action book! Definitely when Martin decides to take revange on Badrang! But it all starts when Luke (Martin's father) leaves and gives him his sword, promising in it that he will see Martin agian.Then Martin shows up,takes Martins sword,and throws Martin and his helpless grandmother into slavery! Another reason I love this book so much is because it is really just Martin the Warriors life story.The story moves on to that Martin meets Felldoh, a young courageous squirrel.Then when Rose-a beautiful young mouse coming to save Brome, her brother-comes everything is changed for Martin!They escape to Noonvale, but turn back to Marshank to take revenge! Will Marshank finally fall and which creature will return dead? Well to find out, you have to read Martin the Warrior!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6