Customer Reviews for

Martin the Warrior (Redwall Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Amazing Read!

    This book is one of the most interesting and action packed books in the Readwall series. In this book especially the characters are fun, brave, and lovable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Best of all the Redwall series

    Wonderful story line of heroic characters (who are fleeing slavery of the tyrant Badrang). Could not put it down, it is a novel that will hold the attention of both young and older readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    This is one of his best

    This was the first Brian Jacques that I read and as far as I am concerned the best. In the beginning Martin has been captured by Badrang, a wicked stoat, who is bent on ruling the shore in which he lives. Martin is forced to work on building his fortress, Marshank, after meeting a squirrel, a female mouse, her brother, and a mole and escaping Marshank. Martin is on a quest to get back his father's sword, which Badrang stole from him, and become a warrior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    This is a wonderful book for all ages!

    Martin of Redwall is a wonderful book for persons of any age. I read it in my late twenties, and just fell in Love with it. I went on to read the whole series. I am looking forward to when my son gets old enough that I can read it to him at bedtime. The Redwall series is engaging, exciting, and a true page turner. The main characters feature mice, otters, hares, and moles as the good guys. Rats, snakes, etc. are the bady guys. This series teaches the value of honesty, courage, and loyalty. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Change my tune

    My cousin was a fanatic over Redwall. She would constantly try to get me to read them, and my answer was always a flat no. There were constant fights over which was better, Harry Potter or Redwall. I saw absolutley no intrest in talking animals. My dad thought the series was interesting, so bought me Martin the Warrior, in an attempt for me to start reading the series. For two years it sat on my shelf, until I became in drastic need of a book. One chapter in, I was hooked! I can't believe how much I've missed out, reading other books between the spaces of still releasing Harry Potter. I'm going to do the same as my cousin, and urge you to read them! Martin the Warrior is a tale I often revist, which is rare for me as I often never reread books. It is a tapestry of emotion, adventure, comedy, and characters that are bound to be remembered!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    OH I LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    This book is so amazing. Brain Jacques is an incredible writer. I love how each of the stories inside the book unfold in the end. I have read 6 Redwall books, I'm reading another one right now, but Martin the Warrior is the best so far. I encourage everyone to read this book and all the Redwall books. Trust me you won't be disapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    Very good book

    This was a very good book. At first my friend recommended it to me and I looked at the writing and thought it was very small and vocab I thought was going to be impossible to read. I wasn't too sure about reading a mouse book but I dont regret it at all after reading this book. This was an awesome book, and sad at the end. Now I know what my summer reading is going to be this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    I am SHOCKED!

    i first read this book at school......i thought: "oh...a mouse book, yipee...." i was shocked on how good it was, i fell in love with redwall.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Well it was so sad in the end, sad yes but great.

    this book is a great book. i loved it even if it was 400 pages long. i have 15 books on my shelf now all of them redwall books yet this was my favorite. but why did he have to kill Rose? it was just plain mean. and sad , and WRONG! but i like this book anyways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    the best fantasy book I ever read !

    This amazing fantasy book is very exciting and suspenceful. the book was hard to read because there is some British-American in it. It took me about a week to read it, but I only read for about half an hour a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    above the rest

    the best redwall book ever. So many twists. A must read for all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    Lots of adventure

    This book is very exciting at every chapter. there is always something going on like wars and battles. It is about revenge on a place called Marshank. It about freeing marshank from slavery a make that area a place for all creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    The saga continues...

    Who exactly is this mysteriously vague Martin that all the Abbeybeasts tell of in their great legends? The faithful Redwall fans know that all- well, almost all, is revealed about the troubling past of the great Martin the warrior. Everyone loves the adventurous tale of the three main characters- Martin, Rose, and Grumm. The readers later discover that Martin and Rose's friendship is more deep down that any of them could guess... join Martin, Rose, and Grumm in their quest to vanquish Badrang, master of Marshank, and reunite with their friends in Martin the Warrior. You'll love it even more than the original Mossflower, but never as much as The Legend of Luke, where all is truly revealed...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2002

    A fantastic book

    This book was very well written. It was cunningly put and had wit. Humorous, adventuroustic, great ending, I can't say bad things about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    THE BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ IT WILL ALWAYS BE REMEMBERED!

    This is by far the best book brian has ever written. Words can not discribe it! It was absolutely mine blowing to me. I thought the ending was beyond sad (partly be cause it was over!) I cried through the whole end of the book. I thought that Brian really got the idea across that Rose was Martin's only true love and Martin was Rose's true love with out getting to mushy (not like I don't like that stuff). Anyway I highly recomend it! It really leaves a legacy and it always hangs on your hart FOREVER! it makes you want to be a better person. It's indescribable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2002

    'Top Hole wot, wot'

    This book was....... great!!!!I loved Martin! Laterose was magnifcint. And Ballaw was my favorite character! This book definetly deserves 5 star rating! And as Ballaw would say'Top Hole wot,wot!!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2002

    The Best BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book was great!!!!!!! It had alot of cool stuff. It is a great book to those who like mystery, fantasy, & maybe fighting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    It was Great

    It was the first redwall i read and it was the best book that I read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    Best Redwall

    This is the best Redwall book yet. I have read everyone but Lord Brocktree and this dominates the series. It might just be the best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    This is a GREAT book!

    I highly recommend you read this book. It's an awesome book; one of my favorites in fact! I also think you should read Outcast of Redwall and Mattimeo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5