Customer Reviews for

Marvel 1602

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    By far the best graphic novel I have read.

    The art, the story, the characters, it all flows so easily off the page. The only problem is I have not been able to find a graphic novel that can stand up to it. So if you like comics I would suggest you read others before you get this far, or you will be disappointed with everything else you read from then on. Once again, Great graphic novel.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    GREAT BOOK.

    Just as the first reviewer said, this book ties in really well. The ending was a great surprise, and I, too, couldnt put this book down. You see many familiar Marvel characters and many hints as to other characters that will come about one day. Just as my headline says, it is a GREAT BOOK.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Absolutely incredible...

    I wish Neil Gaiman would write more for the Marvel Universe. Expertly crafted with great twists and reveals to keep you hooked. Highly recommended.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Fun change of pace for X-men

    Beautifully illustrated with a great story encompassing a number of Marvel characters in surprising form. If you've ever been a fan of the X-men, there's no reason you wouldn't enjoy this revisioning of the universe.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Excellent read, beautifull artwork.

    Neil Gaiman is a brilliant story teller. The story is griping and well placed in Elizabethean history. This is such a turbulant and interesting time in history anyway and when you include these wonderful versions of marvel characters it makes a great story that comic fans and noncomic fans will enjoy. The atrwork has a look to it that emulates etching which looks amazing and sets it well into the period. A warning, if you're like me you will want more and you will be disappointed in the next installment. 1602 fantastik Four just isnt as good. It has a different writer and illustrator that dont quite hit the mark and dont integrate the story into the period as well as Gaiman. It is entertaining but not as good. 1602 is one one the best graphic novels I've ever read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    Incredible

    Everything tied together so well. The twist blew me away and kept me reading. Once I started I couldn't stop reading it. The illustrations were perfect.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great read, different...

    Grew up on Marvel. Enjoyed seeing characters in a different venue.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Very good.

    I dont read many comics but enjoyed this...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Amazing book

    I absolutley love this book. Six stars!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    THIS BOOK IS GOOD

    WHAT SO GOOD ABOUT THIIS BOOK IS THAT THE MARVEL HEROS ARE IN A 16TH CENTURY OF ENGALND.BUT THE BOOK IS HARD TO UNDERSTAND BUT THE BOOK IS GOOD

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Great graphic novel looked good on my nook but would look GREAT

    Great graphic novel looked good on my nook but would look GREAT on my iPad. Why won't it work on iPad?? I paid for it, why can't I read it on my device of choice???

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Great take on classic characters

    I have always loved what if stories. This one is awsome and is well worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Good read, fantastic art

    Enjoyed the plot and the graphics- (and I'm a Bill Willingham Fables fan, not all graphics make the cut)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I was drawn in by the beautiful illustration and wonderful story. The way Neil brought history together with some of my favorite characters was magic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Loved it!

    I have enjoyed reading Neil Gaiman's stories for years and he didn't let me down this time either! Great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Marvel lives on!

    1602- has been a great depiction of history meets comics. Classic adventures and most of all beautifully linked story lines. I hope these forms of comics continue. I was not able to put this down at all. Wonderfully illustrated and well organized! Thank you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Couldnt put it down!

    Awesome read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Neil Gaiman does it again!

    Great read. I recommended this to my husband and I just know he'll love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Gaiman is once again brilliant

    As an avid fan of Marvel since the early 80s, I have enjoyed the best it has to offer. 1602 tops it all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Just what you'd Expect from Neil Gaiman.

    My only gripe is that I wish it was longer. Gaiman's take on our current world events and 2012 collective unconscious along with strange weather, ties in neatly to the world of Marvel 1602 and provides a context for all to ponder science, history, philosophy, morality, loyalty and folk lore.

    It was a real treat especially getting to read the Marvel Universe through his eyes since I've been a loyal Marvel fan for most of my life.

    Don't miss this.

    'Much is expected from those with much to give'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3