Customer Reviews for

Mary Ann in Autumn (Tales of the City Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Armistead Maupin provides his trademark wit that affirms why this sagacious saga has had a TV miniseries based on it

    Two decades have passed since Mary Ann left her husband and daughter in San Francisco for a TV career in New York. Meanwhile her ex-spouse Michael "Mouse" and Ben are married. Mary Ann's estranged daughter sex blogger Shawna is seeing professional clown Otto. Mary Ann\'s former landlady in San Francisco, octogenarian Anna Madrigal is still running wild.

    As Mary Ann nears her sexagenarian birthday, she returns to the West Coast to inform Michael about some news she cannot share with anyone else. Staying at the cottage shared by Mouse and Ben, she finds solace in the garden as she relooks the errors of her life.

    The latest Tales of the City (see Michael Tolliver Lives) is a terrific intelligent return to the Bay area twenty years after Mary Ann left and everyone moved on with their lives. The ensemble cast is full dimensional as Mary Ann in Autumn of her life is still seeking her muse, but with experience tries to rectify the errors of her youth whether any of those she hurt want her to or not. Like all of the Tales of the City, Armistead Maupin provides his trademark wit that affirms why this sagacious saga has had a TV miniseries based on it.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Another winner from Maupin

    I recently put down a book that felt like walking through thick mud. After too many pages, struggling to hang on, I finally gave up. At that point I returned to an old reliable - Armistead Maupin and felt relieved there were two books I haven't read.
    A wonderful thing happened. I sailed through the first chapter and felt like I was back home in Tales of the City. Maupin's prose swing from the present, to the past and back to the present again on a joyful ride.
    He has done something all writers should do, bring their characters to life on the page by being distinct, real and likeable. Flaws included. Wanting us to hunger for where they are and what they are doing today on a journey we enjoyed when we first met them.
    More please -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Brilliant story. Loved every chapter of it!

    As a big fan of Tales of the city, I enjoyed this one a great deal. But it seems this is the end of the series, hopefully not. I could not put this book down, it was always making me want to read one more chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Great read

    This book harkins back to the Tales of the City stories; it is like seeing a long, lost friend. This is Maupin's best novel in several years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    A good read for those missing the series

    This was a good read / not a great one. It was fun to catch up with the characters from Maupin's previous Tales of the City books. The characters are richly written and it's like going back home again.
    That said, I don't think it had the qurkiness of the other books in the series.

    I would defintely suggest reading this book if you've read the series. A new reader might be a little lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Not Nearly As Dreary as the Title Character

    Confession: I have never liked Mary Ann Singleton. She always seemed snooty, self-absorbed, and generally unlikable. That said, the newest installment in the Tales of the City has blown me away. Maupin has moved back from his single point of view chapter style in Michael Tolliver Lives. Although we are treated to the thoughts of several characters, the chapters are longer than in the previous Tales releases, which allows Maupin to go in much greater depth into the characters thoughts and motivations.

    The plot of the story holds the reader's attention, with the expected Maupinian plot twist for the conclusion of the story. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Just relax

    Great read, true to the series, hope there will be more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    The Boys Are Back in Town!

    If you've read and enjoyed the Tales of the City series, this is a must read. Michael, Mary Ann, Mrs. Madrigal, and Shawna are back in a story that has all the trademark Maupin plot twists along with a couple of genuine "Yikes!" moments. My only quibble (and it's a small one) is that I think Michael deserves to find someone who is for him and him only. But maybe that will happen in a future book, who knows? Also, it made me very happy that Mr. Maupin did not forget little Blossom at the end of the story. Bravo, and more please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great return to the Barbary Lane family

    In typical Maupin fashion it's tough to put down. Out most disappointing friend returns and reminds us that true connections are never severed. It's a must read for anyone who liked the series. What I like most is that it makes me think that this series will never end. Like the 80s I can't wait for what's next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't Put It Down

    This is only the second book that I've read in this series, and I couldn't stop reading it! I actually haven't been reading the series in order either, but I'm not getting lost reading that way. I can't wait for the rest of the series to be offered for the Nook!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    THESE TALES SIMPLY GET BETTER WITH AGE

    Although it was the 1970s when Armistead Maupin first introduced readers to the residents of 28 Barbary Lane, it grew from that newspaper serial to six bestselling novels and an award winning TV series. Thanks to the skills of Maupin the story of those people is as engaging today as it was then. What a pleasure it is to be reintroduced to Mary Ann Singleton in the insightful, compassionate MARY ANN IN AUTUMN, A Tales of the City novel.

    We read Mary Ann's thoughts, "The past doesn't catch up with us.....It escapes from us. At the landing she stopped to catch her breath." Yes, catch her breath for Mary Ann is now 57-years-old. It's been some 20 years since she left her husband and daughter for New York and what she hoped would be a stellar career on television. But now luck, mostly bad, has sent her back to the place of her youth - San Francisco. There she finds refuge in the arms and cottage of her longtime friend, Michael "Mouse" Tolliver.

    She ponders, assess her mistakes and eventually seems to be recouping some of her energy, appears to be almost her old self when she finds that she cannot escape her past.

    Other characters who emerge and engage in this witty/touching story are Mary Ann's estranged daughter, Shawna, who is now a sex blogger; Michael's transgendered gardening assistant, Jake Greenleaf; the highly social DeDe Halcyon-Wilson; and the incredible Anna Madrigal, Mary Ann's former landlady who is now in her eighties and as irascible as ever.

    Many thanks to Maupin for one more visit with the beloved characters only he could have created.

    Highly recommended.

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What's next?

    Reading this right after reading Michael Tolliver lives has me totally hoping for installment upon installment to follow having initially been skeptic about returning to these characters after so much time had gone by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4