Customer Reviews for

Mary, Called Magdalene

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    A truly life changing book

    This book made me look at things with new eyes, it has helped me discover God, and it did so in an understandable, fun way! I highly recomend for people of all backgrounds to try this book. Although some consider this book to be 'daring', you can tell the author did her research, but keep in mind the book is an opinion, it is not the Bible.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Strong Lady

    Plowing down through six hundred plus pages is a lot of novel. It is obvious that Ms. George spent unlimited hours to research and write about the era that Mary lived and later knew Jesus. Many incidents in the novel are very intense, including, the crucifixtion of Jesus. Seeing Mary through George's eyes, she is a very strong person that endured much.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Wonderful, engaging, insightful

    I read this book to help me find the feminine perspective of the Christian faith. I recently lost my brother at age 34 to cancer and a sister was murdered ten years ago. My faith has been shaken and it's been hard to reconcile what I have always been taught about God, Jesus and life itself. This book took me thro Mary's life and how she dealt with her own personal questions about faith. In that journey I was also able to rediscover my own faith. An excellent book for those interested in the day-to-day life details in the early first century or for those wanting to learn more about what life may have been like for the founders of the Christian religion. And to think I almost put it back on the shelf!! MamaJ

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    The author's research shows...

    A child's curiousity opens the door to a lifetime's worth of regret when the young Mary of Magdala finds an Ashara idol on the way to Jerusalem with her family. Knowing she shoud throw it away, the girl still keeps it, thinking the goddess to beautiful to cause harm. Besides, only Yahweh is God, surely an idol could have no power. She does not realize that her disobedience opens the door for a demon to take hold of her heart. .............. The journey to Jerusalem is not completely filled with ill tidings. Mary also makes a friend who will defy custom and teach her to read and write, and meets the man who will change her life forever in years to come, Jesus of Nazareth. ................ As the years pass, Mary continues to hide her secret. From time to time, she hears a voice that she learns belongs to the idol, and finds herself compelled to obey it. Seeking to escape, she marries, but not even that brings her peace. Time marches on, bringing with it a child, and more demons. Tormented, Mary confesses her sin, and seeks every known means of deliverance, to no avail. Finally, she is driven to seek refuge in the desert and there will attempt to end her life. Before that can happen though, she meets Jesus once again. By now, He is also grown and beginning His mission. With a few words, He gives her peace and a new life. She joins Him and the disciples as their equal after she attempts to return home, only to be cast out as a whore. ............... The years ahead of Mary are ones filled with her greatest joys and sorrows. She learns at the feet of the Master, and is able to bring deliverance to those afflicted as she once was. Then, it all seems to be over when Christ is crucified. Or is it only beginning? ................. **** Ms. George's hours of research add historical accuracy and depth to a compelling story. New light is shed on one of the most mysterious figures in the Bible. Even from a purely secular standpoint, this is a magnetic tale. Passion and sorrow heighten the moments of joy. Whether you are Christian or not, this novel will engage your full mind and heart. ****

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    I was given this book by a friend and tried several times to read it. Third time was a charm and it is one of the best books I have read in a long time. Read this whether you are religious or not. It is a fabulous story about the significance of a woman (and women) in the life of Christ and in Christianity. A great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating Creation of a Biblical Character into a believable human

    I purchased this book because it was listed as a NYTimes bestseller. I tried picking it up several times but failed for lack of interest. Finally I decided to give it a go and get past the first ten pages or so. I am a non-practising Catholic. Well, I am very glad I persevered and read this amazing, engrossing story about a woman who apparently existed and was very much vilified in her time. She was demonized, LITERALLY, for several reasons. To her family she became a shameful outcast, and later akin to a prostitute because she followed John the Baptist and later Jesus Christ with a group of men--a woman leaving her family, and CHILD, was severely ostracized in those times. Mary of Magdalene was a Jew who became fascinated by an Idol at a time when religious Jews were very much at odds with the pagans and idol worshippers. As a result she became possessed by several very powerful demons. She went through some severe and traumatic exorcism rites at the hands of local rabbis but did not improve--but rather became worse. She was "cured" by Jesus and this lead to her following him. This novel fleshes out details of Mary's role as one of the Apostles (actually called "the Apostle to the Apostles" because of her significant role in spreading Jesus' word after his resurrection. This is a BEAUTIFULLY written book and may possibly make a believer out of a non-practising religious person. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Not her best

    This is a bit of a silly book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    A great book

    I've not yet read a book by Margaret George that I've been able to put down. I hate to see them end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Food for thought

    A welcome perspective for an interesting and elusive character. The story is touching and frustrating, while it allows the reader to believe you are finally learning something concrete about Mary Magdalene. Although it is the author's interpreatation, it is an interesting storyline that makes you want to believe it may have happened the way it is written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    obsessive reader

    Mary of Magdelan should have been an interesting character, involved with interesting people, but she is developed as an insipid woman who just seemed to go with the flow. George has written much better heroines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    Read with caution!!!

    I couldn't put the book down (it was awesome) until I had to. Although wonderfully written and captured)Margaret George puts detailed descriptions of named demons intering Mary's body. I began having horrific demonic nightmares and had to stop reading the book after getting 3/4 of the way through. The nightmares stopped immediatly when I quit reading the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    great historical novel

    I came across this book and thought that in all the fever of the movie The Passion of the Christ, it would be interesting to know more about Maria. I was not dissappointed at all. Its interesting to learn about her life, her family and how christianism came to be. Her narrative is fast paced and yet she gives lots of details that actually transport you to that era. Im glad I read it and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    Outstanding

    This is a great book. If you are intrested in biblical history or are just curious as to who mary magdalen is, pick this book up. You will not regret it. It takes you through Mary's whole life: her struggles, her discipleship with Jesus, Jesus's crucifixion, the news that Jesus is still alive, and the growth of the religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Mary, Called Magdalene is inspiring

    Margaret George has again outdone herself. This compelling and inspiring novel calls one to ponder on history and the distortions placed upon it. I have finished this novel but cannot stop thinking about its contents. One would be fortunate to read and enjoy the story that Margaret George has woven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    Disappointingly dull and implausible

    Mary Magdalene does everything but walk on water in this unbelievably puffed up version of her life, while Jesus Himself is little more than the object of her devotion. Nothing here rings true--from the amazing achievements of Mary to the depiction of Biblical times, where everyone talks like a character from an old B-movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    Intriguing

    Honestly, I remember a different Mary from the Bible...maybe because there are so many. This exceptional book takes a different mythology for Mary of Magadalene, one which is highly plausible. At times the modern dialogue is disconcerting, but adds to the readability of this novel. Margaret George is one of the best historical fiction writers around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Excellent historical novel

    Margaret George has done an excellent job in her discription of the characters. The dialogue would sometimes act to pull you from the time and place but she sure was able to show Mary of Magdalene as a very passionate and complex as well as strong person. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Questionable Research

    I found the book enjoyable as a fiction. In the past all her books have been well researched I would love to know what research she used to base her concept of Jesus's mother, Mary, having had so many children and the family being angry at Jesus's wishing to preach versus running the family business. I was disappointed in her take on the Holy Family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2002

    A compelling biography

    This was a story of one woman's journey through darkness into light, a journey into faith, of finding her true calling. The reader experiences his or her own journey as well, and will find meaning personal to them at the time they read this book. It was an emotional and beautiful illustration of the times and the life the desciples and apostles lead. It made what seems to so many (and myself prior to reading this) a fantastical place in time, tangible and real. It will set the soul aflame, inspire the mind, and bring tears to your eyes. Truly, this is an experience not to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    Disappointing

    I enjoyed Margaret George's earlier books on Cleopatra and Henry VIII and couldn't wait for her new one. Unfortunately, the way she tells Mary Magdalen's story is awfully lame and preachy. The book reads like a Sunday school lesson -- slow and plodding and a lot less interesting than I expected from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3