BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mary, Called Magdalene

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    A truly life changing book

    This book made me look at things with new eyes, it has helped me discover God, and it did so in an understandable, fun way! I highly recomend for people of all backgrounds to try this book. Although some consider this book to be 'daring', you can tell the author did her research, but keep in mind the book is an opinion, it is not the Bible.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Wonderful, engaging, insightful

    I read this book to help me find the feminine perspective of the Christian faith. I recently lost my brother at age 34 to cancer and a sister was murdered ten years ago. My faith has been shaken and it's been hard to reconcile what I have always been taught about God, Jesus and life itself. This book took me thro Mary's life and how she dealt with her own personal questions about faith. In that journey I was also able to rediscover my own faith. An excellent book for those interested in the day-to-day life details in the early first century or for those wanting to learn more about what life may have been like for the founders of the Christian religion. And to think I almost put it back on the shelf!! MamaJ

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    I was given this book by a friend and tried several times to read it. Third time was a charm and it is one of the best books I have read in a long time. Read this whether you are religious or not. It is a fabulous story about the significance of a woman (and women) in the life of Christ and in Christianity. A great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating Creation of a Biblical Character into a believable human

    I purchased this book because it was listed as a NYTimes bestseller. I tried picking it up several times but failed for lack of interest. Finally I decided to give it a go and get past the first ten pages or so. I am a non-practising Catholic. Well, I am very glad I persevered and read this amazing, engrossing story about a woman who apparently existed and was very much vilified in her time. She was demonized, LITERALLY, for several reasons. To her family she became a shameful outcast, and later akin to a prostitute because she followed John the Baptist and later Jesus Christ with a group of men--a woman leaving her family, and CHILD, was severely ostracized in those times. Mary of Magdalene was a Jew who became fascinated by an Idol at a time when religious Jews were very much at odds with the pagans and idol worshippers. As a result she became possessed by several very powerful demons. She went through some severe and traumatic exorcism rites at the hands of local rabbis but did not improve--but rather became worse. She was "cured" by Jesus and this lead to her following him. This novel fleshes out details of Mary's role as one of the Apostles (actually called "the Apostle to the Apostles" because of her significant role in spreading Jesus' word after his resurrection. This is a BEAUTIFULLY written book and may possibly make a believer out of a non-practising religious person. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    A great book

    I've not yet read a book by Margaret George that I've been able to put down. I hate to see them end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Food for thought

    A welcome perspective for an interesting and elusive character. The story is touching and frustrating, while it allows the reader to believe you are finally learning something concrete about Mary Magdalene. Although it is the author's interpreatation, it is an interesting storyline that makes you want to believe it may have happened the way it is written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    Outstanding

    This is a great book. If you are intrested in biblical history or are just curious as to who mary magdalen is, pick this book up. You will not regret it. It takes you through Mary's whole life: her struggles, her discipleship with Jesus, Jesus's crucifixion, the news that Jesus is still alive, and the growth of the religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Mary, Called Magdalene is inspiring

    Margaret George has again outdone herself. This compelling and inspiring novel calls one to ponder on history and the distortions placed upon it. I have finished this novel but cannot stop thinking about its contents. One would be fortunate to read and enjoy the story that Margaret George has woven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Excellent historical novel

    Margaret George has done an excellent job in her discription of the characters. The dialogue would sometimes act to pull you from the time and place but she sure was able to show Mary of Magdalene as a very passionate and complex as well as strong person. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2002

    A compelling biography

    This was a story of one woman's journey through darkness into light, a journey into faith, of finding her true calling. The reader experiences his or her own journey as well, and will find meaning personal to them at the time they read this book. It was an emotional and beautiful illustration of the times and the life the desciples and apostles lead. It made what seems to so many (and myself prior to reading this) a fantastical place in time, tangible and real. It will set the soul aflame, inspire the mind, and bring tears to your eyes. Truly, this is an experience not to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1