Customer Reviews for

Mary Coin: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best book I have read all year. Beautiful writing and great insi

Best book I have read all year. Beautiful writing and great insight into her characters and the hardship of life in the Depression.

posted by limberlostDB1 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

3 1/2 stars

Interesting inspiration for the story.

posted by 5937365 on December 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Best book I have read all year. Beautiful writing and great insi

    Best book I have read all year. Beautiful writing and great insight into her characters and the hardship of life in the Depression.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    A Great Story

    The story is part fiction but the setting and events were true. It tells the true story of the depression and how one woman captures this truth in pictures. Very well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    3 1/2 stars

    Interesting inspiration for the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    This book is beautifully written. It describes with such intensity the lives of the two women involved and the period in which it was written. I highly recommend this fabulous book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    My all time favorite

    I have always loved the cover picture. Silver created vivid characters and pulled me into the world of the people migrating west during the time of the dust bowl. My great-grandmother was part of this migration. She spoke little of the hard times but the shame of poverty never left. I could not put the book down and the images have stayed strong.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Even though I enjoyed the book tremendously as a work of fiction

    Even though I enjoyed the book tremendously as a work of fiction. I am a historian of the 1930's and everything Steinbeck, Dorothea Lange, and the Migrant Mother. I know the Dixon family personally as well as Florence Owens Thompson's family since 1990 because of my research. But I do recommend it as a great read. But, it is fiction and most of the information on Migrant Mother herself and her grandson who does exist is not completely accurate. There are good history books around if you want the facts. I really recommend that you read this book and then if interested look for books under migrant mother or Dorothea Lange. Great Read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Left wanting more.

    While I was engrosssed with the story and its development, I was disappointed that it seemed to end suddenly and without a satisfactory resolution for the modern characters. Then again, maybe that is the grand theme: life is often messy annd without clean edges.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Very well done

    Great story ,well written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Exposing the fiction of "truth"

    Beautifully crafted, a story built on an iconic image, but with some deep reflections about history in general. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Different - in a good way.

    Three main characters - all have interesting lives. Loved reading about the depression era. Overall an A+++ job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    An emotional read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Marvelous Writing

    I loved everything about this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Can't get a readable book

    Unfortunately I wanted to give this book as a present, but could not find one without malformed pages.

    And so, I cannot comment on the story itself.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Good!

    The person who makes it sells it the person who buys it doesnt use it and the person who uses it doesnt know what it is. What is it?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1