Customer Reviews for

Mary, Mary (Alex Cross Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good reading!

This was another good book by Mr. Patterson. Fast reading with surprises along the way kept me wanting more. I recommend this to anyone who likes fast paced mysteries. --K--

posted by 705137 on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mary, Mary Will You Tell Me A Story?

Patterson's Mary, Mary will not captivate audiences, but it will entertain readers at the least. Patterson is good in setting the plot, and giving a great portrait of the serial killer's point of view. The book is a page turner for half of it. Patterson's portrayal of t...
Patterson's Mary, Mary will not captivate audiences, but it will entertain readers at the least. Patterson is good in setting the plot, and giving a great portrait of the serial killer's point of view. The book is a page turner for half of it. Patterson's portrayal of the murders of Mary Smith is good, and keeps you guessing what will come next. Unfortunately, he fails when it comes time to wrap the story. Sadly the unfolding of the story doesn't do justice to what it could have been a great thriller.

The story begins in Hollywood, California where celebrities are being murdered, the LAPD thinks is the work of a serial killer and Alex Cross is called upon to help.
As the author starts to record all the murders of Mary Smith, and the story looks promising, he switches into the subplots, of Alex's personal affairs, however; these subplots are not necessary and add nothing to the main story. What's more Patterson doesn't have a strong closure of the events, and wraps things too fast. I would not call it a shocking ending. Unlike the storyteller, Patterson's Mary, Mary seems to end on Act One, Scene One.

posted by BolivarJ on April 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    Good reading!

    This was another good book by Mr. Patterson. Fast reading with surprises along the way kept me wanting more. I recommend this to anyone who likes fast paced mysteries. --K--

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is another great story of the ALex Cross saga. James Patterson has the ability to draw you in from the first sentence into this dark world that the Dragon Slayer lives in. I am eager to continue reading the series to see what finally happens to Alex and his wonderful family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Better than the last few

    Finally one that moves around, but isnt cookie cutter like the last few in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    great series!

    this was a great addition to the series! loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Mary, Mary Will You Tell Me A Story?

    Patterson's Mary, Mary will not captivate audiences, but it will entertain readers at the least. Patterson is good in setting the plot, and giving a great portrait of the serial killer's point of view. The book is a page turner for half of it. Patterson's portrayal of the murders of Mary Smith is good, and keeps you guessing what will come next. Unfortunately, he fails when it comes time to wrap the story. Sadly the unfolding of the story doesn't do justice to what it could have been a great thriller.

    The story begins in Hollywood, California where celebrities are being murdered, the LAPD thinks is the work of a serial killer and Alex Cross is called upon to help.
    As the author starts to record all the murders of Mary Smith, and the story looks promising, he switches into the subplots, of Alex's personal affairs, however; these subplots are not necessary and add nothing to the main story. What's more Patterson doesn't have a strong closure of the events, and wraps things too fast. I would not call it a shocking ending. Unlike the storyteller, Patterson's Mary, Mary seems to end on Act One, Scene One.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Great Read

    I haven't read a lot of Patterson books yet (although I've seen the movies), so this was interesting for me. It was well written, the characters developed, and easy to follow. Yet it also kept you guessing, and truly not knowing the mystery until the end. Some mysteries tell you, but not the character. I liked not knowing, and having that suspense factor. I also like that the Alex Cross books can be read out of order, and are a complete story on their own, and you don't feel left out because you didn't read the others. I would definitely recommend this book, and I'm anxious to start reading more Patterson books and series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps you guessing

    James Patterson always provides us with a read that is thrilling and keeps you guessing. I could not put the book down in my need to find out who the killer really was! I must admit, I sometimes felt the book focused on Alex Cross' personal life too much (or maybe that was because I just wanted to get along with the serial killer aspect of the story!)

    Definately an enjoyable read for lovers of mysteries and thrillers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    Another Hit For James The King.

    What can I say. Classic Patterson. Fun, interesting and easy to read. Patterson fans will not be dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Exciting, gruesome, and entertaining!

    A great plot to following, with surprises all the way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I LISTEN WHILE TRAVELING

    THROUGHLY ENJOYED THIS AUDIOBOOK.....I THINK I LIKE PATTERSON'S EARLIER STORIES WITH ALEX CROSS. GOOD STORY, GOOD CHARACTORS AND GOOD PLOT THAT MADE SENSE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Sheer genius

    He did me in with this 1 i did not see this coming. I felt like I was right there as the story unfolded

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    Another Great Read

    Just like all the others in the Alex Cross series, this one was great. I bought all of them and read them in order from Along Came a Spider. Just fantastic. James Patterson holds you in the plot and takes you back to previous books for another villian who has reared his ugly head in the current book.

    Just need Alex to find true love.

    Love the whole series and the Womens Murder Club series also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    Patterson is quite adapt at keeping the reader interested in the storyline while setting to stage to a shocking ending. Fascinating read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best of the "Cross" series

    One of the best of the Alex Cross series. Many times, characters and plots are carried through several of Patterson's Cross series books. In Mary, Mary, the new characters are introduced without a lot of sidebar with the old standbys. The plot is ingenious with a sudden climax and much more unpredictable than some of Patterson's other Cross readers. Patterson has you empathizing with the "pathetic killer" toward the end of the book before he pulls the rug from beneath you. Very well developed, pleasureable read that's hard to put down. I read it in about 6 hours, then opened and finished the next in the series, Cross, by late that night. Couldn't get enough. Can't recommend this book and series enough. Patterson's style keeps you invigorated and his research is impeccable. Buy it, you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    page turner

    I've read all Alex Cross novels up thru Mary, Mary (will read them all), and found yet another thriller. Maybe not as original as some of the earlier Cross series, but still pretty intense. I always enjoy the way Patterson connects everything together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    Although I didn't find MARY, MARY as riveting as the first Alex Cross novels KISS THE GIRLS or ALONG CAME A SPIDER, I was still glad to see Mr. Cross back in action--in his private and professional life. <BR/><BR/>While on a long-awaited, and definitely well-earned, vacation at Disneyland in California with his family--Nana Mama, daughter Jannie, teenaged son Damon, and three-year-old Alex Jr.--Alex wants nothing more than spend some quality time with those he loves. Yes, the fact that James Truscott, an investigative journalist who has been hounding Alex for months, shows up on their vacation is an annoyance, but nothing that can't be handled. He even gets to meet his current love interest, Jamilla Hughes, an officer with the San Francisco PD, for a little one-on-one R & R. But then his vacation is brought short, yet again, by a phone call from his boss, summoning him to a crime scene at the home of a famous actress right there in L.A. <BR/><BR/>Detective Cross is inevitably drawn deeper and deeper into a case that he was only supposed to have to give his initial impressions on. Someone is killing famous and wealthy mothers in the entertainment business--someone who claims to call herself Mary Smith, and who sends an email after each death detailing the crime to L.A. Times entertainment writer Arnold Griner. <BR/><BR/>As Alex gives chase to "Mary Smith", interviewing the victim's families and trying to find any clue as to the killer's identity, his personal life takes a downward spiral--his ex, Christine, little Alex's mother, is suing for full-custody, and Jamilla informs him that she's found someone new. As Alex tries to put his family first once again, he realizes that the job always seems to get in the way--and this case is no different. <BR/><BR/>In typical fast-paced James Patterson style, MARY, MARY is an engrossing thriller that will have you turning pages quickly to find out what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Great Build Up, but so so ending

    This was my first Patterson novel and I was really intrigued by the concept. I thought it started off great and kept building but then started to unravel towards the end. I can't elaborate too much without giving it away. I did however love the personal story behind the main charectar Alex Cross. I like how you really got to see his personal and really get a feeling for the charectar for him and his interactiosn with others. I would recommend this book for a lazy day read as i finished it in two nights after work, had I day to spend the book would have sailed by and delivers entertainment for the few hours of reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    The themes and sub-themes in this book are all classic Alex Cross themes (good v. evil. family v. work, etc.) and predictably they are well handled by James Patterson. The action occurs both physically and psychologically, making for a good read. The major issue I had with the book occured approximately 3/4 of the way through. The highly intelligent, super-experienced law-man Alex Cross goes in to an Interrogation Room, with a highly dangerous serial killer, ,,,with a gun holstered to his side!!!!! It was such an unbelievable scene, I thought perhaps Patterson had allowed a student or contest winner to write one of his chapters.Or maybe he was prepping the story for the big screen. What a letdown. It made the rest of the story that much less credible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Bad character recall

    Mr. Patterson needs to keep track of his characters more efficiently -- although I imagine it's a bit more difficult when you dont't write the books yourself. In a previous novel, "Roses Are Red," Jeanne Galetta is the name of a bank teller/victim of the Mastermind. In "Mary Mary," Jeanne Galetta is the name of the LAPD detective assigned to the case. Disappointing, and actually quite disgusted to spend my money on an author who can't keep his characters straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14