BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mary, Mary (Alex Cross Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good reading!

This was another good book by Mr. Patterson. Fast reading with surprises along the way kept me wanting more. I recommend this to anyone who likes fast paced mysteries. --K--

posted by 705137 on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The themes and sub-themes in this book are all classic Alex Cross themes (good v. evil. family v. work, etc.) and predictably they are well handled by James Patterson. The action occurs both physically and psychologically, making for a good read. The major issue I had ...
The themes and sub-themes in this book are all classic Alex Cross themes (good v. evil. family v. work, etc.) and predictably they are well handled by James Patterson. The action occurs both physically and psychologically, making for a good read. The major issue I had with the book occured approximately 3/4 of the way through. The highly intelligent, super-experienced law-man Alex Cross goes in to an Interrogation Room, with a highly dangerous serial killer, ,,,with a gun holstered to his side!!!!! It was such an unbelievable scene, I thought perhaps Patterson had allowed a student or contest winner to write one of his chapters.Or maybe he was prepping the story for the big screen. What a letdown. It made the rest of the story that much less credible.

posted by Anonymous on March 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    Good reading!

    This was another good book by Mr. Patterson. Fast reading with surprises along the way kept me wanting more. I recommend this to anyone who likes fast paced mysteries. --K--

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Better than the last few

    Finally one that moves around, but isnt cookie cutter like the last few in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    great series!

    this was a great addition to the series! loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps you guessing

    James Patterson always provides us with a read that is thrilling and keeps you guessing. I could not put the book down in my need to find out who the killer really was! I must admit, I sometimes felt the book focused on Alex Cross' personal life too much (or maybe that was because I just wanted to get along with the serial killer aspect of the story!)

    Definately an enjoyable read for lovers of mysteries and thrillers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    Another Hit For James The King.

    What can I say. Classic Patterson. Fun, interesting and easy to read. Patterson fans will not be dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    Patterson is quite adapt at keeping the reader interested in the storyline while setting to stage to a shocking ending. Fascinating read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    page turner

    I've read all Alex Cross novels up thru Mary, Mary (will read them all), and found yet another thriller. Maybe not as original as some of the earlier Cross series, but still pretty intense. I always enjoy the way Patterson connects everything together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    I love this series!

    This series is a good break from the everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting read!

    This is my first James Patterson book. He has written so many that I just went to the library and picked one from the shelf and it just so happened to be Mary Mary. The story line was great and it kept me guessing. I was wrong on both counts but thats part of what made this book so great. The ending defiantly threw me for a loop. I never even saw that coming. The only thing that made it 4 stars instead of 5 was the personal stories of Alex. It took away from the story rather than added to it. I would recommend this. I will now pick up more of Mr. Pattersons books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson does it again!

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Jack and Jill was my favorite. I've also read most of the Woman's Murder Club Series. 1st To Die was my favorite in that series. I've also read Swimsuit and The Quickie, as a "stand alone" and both were excellent novels. Mary, Mary was an excellent read. As usual, there was good depth of character (Page, Mary Smith) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot was original, off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Great Read

    I loved the book, read it within a week and it was non-stop action. Lots of twists and turns. It was a real page turner! I couldn't wait to get to the next page to see what happened. LOVE reading the book and highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good fast suspense thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    wow

    Just jumped back in to reading been off for quite awhile, and what a great choice to start back in again, I have read an average of 2 books a week, all James Patterson series. Now Im starting the Alex Cross series and I am so elated at the entertainment value he puts in his writting-and not to mention the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Great read but ending was disappointing

    My favorite books by James Patterson are the ones with Alex Cross. This was a great read until the ending. I did not care for the ending at all. The ending left me wondering why of all the characters did he decide on the person who was the real killer. Don't want to spoil it for those who have not yet read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    Pretty Good, But Flawed

    It's been years since I've read one of the author's Alex Cross books, and I think I know why. With a high-powered plot and a likeable hero, Mr. Patterson finds it necessary to break up the story with a tedious subplot about Alex's personal life. While I enjoy learning a bit about the lead character's background, I can do without the endless details of custody, family, and women problems. I began skipping the 'personal crisis' chapters in order to continue the flow of the main story. And a crackerjack of a tale it is, about a series of high-profile killings in the glamorous world of show business. I doubt I will pick up another Cross book, though - the distracting subplots are a turnoff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Good entertainment, very enjoyable

    This is Patterson's latest and is maybe the best Alex Cross story yet. I was absorbed to the last page and the intriguing way the mystery is solved. Cross¿s love interest does a lot to further develop his character, which I found refreshing. Mary Mary is well written with short (which could be disruptive to some readers), but focused chapters, and a must read. Also recommended: Bruce Huntly, Fusion (a new and highly recommended find showcasing sound science relevant to current technological and energy concerns).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Another great Cross book.

    I have read all of James Patterson's Alex Cross series and can reccomend each one. With some authors (Patricia Cornwell for example) the books become murky and lose their initial appeal. This is certainly not the case with Mary Mary. Alex and his lovely family are just as great. I love the fact that the intricate plot lines always include the real family man Alex. I can always tell how much I truly love an author by how fast I read his books, I read none quicker than James Patterson. Thank you James for bringing me so many pleasant hours of enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    An Edge of Your Seat Thriller

    James Patterson does it again with his most beloved character, Alex Cross. The story took me in from page one and didn't let go until the end of the book. The story is thrilling, and keeps you guessing throughout. The characters are at their best, complex, thought-provoking and life-like. Another home run for Patterson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    How I read it!

    Well, I read it in about two days and it was a rollercoaster. I thought it would be a boring ending when they caught the killer, then it had a great twist. My only complaint was the fight at the end. they always ruin books like that. The corny macho fight that is so unrealistic it makes me sick. Fighting after being shot? That was the only bad part. The rest was great. Oh and the fact that the killer had no back up plan. If he would have been busted instead of fumbling upon him. I really like the way it all took place though. The e-mails the clues, that was great. Really good plot, nice small chapters. Over all it was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    INTERESTING!

    This was my first James Patterson book, and I really enjoyed it. Couldn't stop reading it until I finished. Recommend it to any one who enjoys a good mystery book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Not what I expected

    The beginning was great and it piqued my interest but after a while it turned into a (pardon me) boring book. If I had known how it was going to end I would have waited for someone to lend me the book. I am a big fan of James Patterson however, in Mary Mary did we need to be informed that little Alex did not like being called Alex but Ali? In my opinion, there was too much information about his family and that¿s fine, except that I started to skip those parts because I felt them to be boring and also I have read about his family in his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5