Customer Reviews for

Mary, Mary (Alex Cross Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good reading!

This was another good book by Mr. Patterson. Fast reading with surprises along the way kept me wanting more. I recommend this to anyone who likes fast paced mysteries. --K--

posted by 705137 on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mary, Mary Will You Tell Me A Story?

Patterson's Mary, Mary will not captivate audiences, but it will entertain readers at the least. Patterson is good in setting the plot, and giving a great portrait of the serial killer's point of view. The book is a page turner for half of it. Patterson's portrayal of t...
Patterson's Mary, Mary will not captivate audiences, but it will entertain readers at the least. Patterson is good in setting the plot, and giving a great portrait of the serial killer's point of view. The book is a page turner for half of it. Patterson's portrayal of the murders of Mary Smith is good, and keeps you guessing what will come next. Unfortunately, he fails when it comes time to wrap the story. Sadly the unfolding of the story doesn't do justice to what it could have been a great thriller.

The story begins in Hollywood, California where celebrities are being murdered, the LAPD thinks is the work of a serial killer and Alex Cross is called upon to help.
As the author starts to record all the murders of Mary Smith, and the story looks promising, he switches into the subplots, of Alex's personal affairs, however; these subplots are not necessary and add nothing to the main story. What's more Patterson doesn't have a strong closure of the events, and wraps things too fast. I would not call it a shocking ending. Unlike the storyteller, Patterson's Mary, Mary seems to end on Act One, Scene One.

posted by BolivarJ on April 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Highly recommend

    love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    This is one of my best Patterson books. Lots of twists and turns

    This is one of my best Patterson books. Lots of twists and turns. Once I got reading, could barely put it down. So suspenseful that you could never guess who the culprit was. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Hmm

    Sand needs you... he said he wants to di.e in a hole. He waited for you at broken dreams result 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    marie

    I am talking to reese here, though...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Hey!

    Ima here! - reese :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Seth

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Ann

    Chase go to drlv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Sarahmarie

    She wakes up. "Oh. Hi. I'd love that." She tells Jay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Review

    This was an awesome book. It was hard to put down! I loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!

    Kept me suspense throughout the story. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    To lexi

    Wrong person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    AS usual James patterson kept leadingme down the wrong path so that i was never sure where the story would take me. That is what makes James such a great stor teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    This is the first book I have ever read by James Patterson. I d

    This is the first book I have ever read by James Patterson. I don't usually read mystery/murder books. I usually stick to the teen romances or fantasy...But I found I couldn't put this book down after I started reading it. It was exciting and unexpected. I think I am going to read more books by him since I liked this one so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Recommend

    Have not read it as yet, but am looking forward to reading another recommended book of James Patterson's

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    I love this series!

    This series is a good break from the everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting read!

    This is my first James Patterson book. He has written so many that I just went to the library and picked one from the shelf and it just so happened to be Mary Mary. The story line was great and it kept me guessing. I was wrong on both counts but thats part of what made this book so great. The ending defiantly threw me for a loop. I never even saw that coming. The only thing that made it 4 stars instead of 5 was the personal stories of Alex. It took away from the story rather than added to it. I would recommend this. I will now pick up more of Mr. Pattersons books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Outstanding

    Great book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson does it again!

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Jack and Jill was my favorite. I've also read most of the Woman's Murder Club Series. 1st To Die was my favorite in that series. I've also read Swimsuit and The Quickie, as a "stand alone" and both were excellent novels. Mary, Mary was an excellent read. As usual, there was good depth of character (Page, Mary Smith) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot was original, off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Great Read

    I loved the book, read it within a week and it was non-stop action. Lots of twists and turns. It was a real page turner! I couldn't wait to get to the next page to see what happened. LOVE reading the book and highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good fast suspense thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14